New to Feline Diabetes - Sores near injection site

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jessica & Sammy

Member Since 2022
Hello, my kitty Sammy was diagnosed with diabetes September 29th. It wasn’t entirely unexpected since he was drinking so much more water and urinating more as a result. I had anticipated kidney disease, so was surprised at diabetes. He had always been a lanky street cat until 5 1/2 years ago when he finally let me bring him in. He has become a vital part of our family. He is the sweetest, most loving guy I have ever met. Since his diagnosis, today (Sunday October 9th) is the first day he’s back to almost normal. He climbed onto my bed to hang out with me and is currently snoring away in full comfort. I hadn’t realized I haven’t heard his snores in a long while until I heard them today. On Friday, his insulin (Novolin-N) was adjusted to 2 units twice a day; his initial dosage was 1 unit, but wasn’t working well enough for the vet. We’ve been going twice a week to the vet for BG testing and the vet shaved a few patches of hair from Sammy. He has two bald spots near his lower back for the insulin injections and has been accommodating them pretty well. I make sure to change where I inject so it’s not in the same spot every day. One of his bald spots has what looks to be a sore. It is not open or leaking, kinda like a soft scab. Sometimes when I inject him, he does this full body squirm so I’m sure that’s when it happened. Does anyone know what can be done to treat it? The area seems to bother him even though I avoid it for the shot. Not sure if regular neosporin can be used or if I should just consult with the vet. It does not appear to be infected and he just finished a round of antibiotics. Any help is greatly appreciated:)
 
Welcome sorry you didn't get a response yet
Most of us shoot in the scruff area. I would ask the vet about the sore
About Novolin N
I did a search here on our site and copied it for you that members posted about Novolin N

Copied this from another member here about Novolin
Yes, you always test immediately before feeding/shooting and you don't want him eating for the 2 hours before those "pre-shot" tests so you get a number that's not influenced by food. WITH NOVOLIN THEN YOU FEED WAIT 60 MINUTES AND THEN YOU SHOOT You want to make sure he eats a good amount and it stays down since when Novolin "hits" it hits hard and fast so there needs to be food on board.

As others noted, Novolin is a usable insulin for cats -- it's just not the most effective insulin for cats. It's far better with dogs given that cats have a much faster metabolism. As a result, the insulin wears off before the end of a 12-hour cycle. The American Animal Hospital Assn periodically reviews insulin and publishes guidelines on diabetes management for both cats and dogs. Their most recent guideline recommends the use of either Lantus (i.e., glargine) or Prozinc.

If you can switch to lantus which is expensive in the US you can get generic lantus which is much more affordable, many members use it.
I can give you information about it if you switch
 
Last edited:
I would highly suggest you start to home test at home, it's the only way to keep Sammy safe . You will never know if Sammy is dropping too low and can cause a hypo
If you live in the US you can go to Walmart and buy The Relion Premier Classic
The Relion Premier Classic human meter is 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

Test strips for it 100 count 17.88 better off getting 100 you will go through them fast
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197

About testing
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand
I find it better to see where I'm aiming

A video one of our members posted, she is using a pet meter ,strips too expensive plus you have to code it
A human meter is just fine, most of us use human meters ,that's what our numbers are based on and you don't need to put a code on it


VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar
 
If you can set up your signstur thst would be helpful
To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Take a look at mine


We also use a spreadsheet to track our cats BG so we know how the insulin is working and how low they are dropping so we know when to either increase or decrease the dose
We adjust the dose by 0.25 units at a time . We don't adjust the dose by going by the Pre Shots

About the spreadsheet
AMPS - means AM Pre Shot the first test you take in the AM ,you need to withhold food 2 hours before testing so it's not food influenced

Units is where you would put how much insulin you gave
+1 is one hour after giving insulin if you were to test then that's where you enter his _BG number
+2 two hours after giving insulin. ditto
+3 and so on until you get to PMPS - PM pre shot withhold food 2 hours before testing

+1 same as you do for AM cycle

We don't give times because we are all in different time zones that's why we use the + numbers
I'll give you the link to set it up , if you have trouble just ask and we have a member who will gladly do it for you

I highly suggest you start to home test Sammy you need to withhold feeding him 2 hours prior to taking Sammy's AMPS ( first test in the AM) and same goes for the PMPS test
You can look at any members spreadsheet to see what it looks like, it's at the end of everyone's signature just tap on it

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-humulin-n-novolin-n-nph.231593/



How to set up a spreadsheet
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
 
Last edited:
Hello, my kitty Sammy was diagnosed with diabetes September 29th. It wasn’t entirely unexpected since he was drinking so much more water and urinating more as a result. I had anticipated kidney disease, so was surprised at diabetes. He had always been a lanky street cat until 5 1/2 years ago when he finally let me bring him in. He has become a vital part of our family. He is the sweetest, most loving guy I have ever met. Since his diagnosis, today (Sunday October 9th) is the first day he’s back to almost normal. He climbed onto my bed to hang out with me and is currently snoring away in full comfort. I hadn’t realized I haven’t heard his snores in a long while until I heard them today. On Friday, his insulin (Novolin-N) was adjusted to 2 units twice a day; his initial dosage was 1 unit, but wasn’t working well enough for the vet. We’ve been going twice a week to the vet for BG testing and the vet shaved a few patches of hair from Sammy. He has two bald spots near his lower back for the insulin injections and has been accommodating them pretty well. I make sure to change where I inject so it’s not in the same spot every day. One of his bald spots has what looks to be a sore. It is not open or leaking, kinda like a soft scab. Sometimes when I inject him, he does this full body squirm so I’m sure that’s when it happened. Does anyone know what can be done to treat it? The area seems to bother him even though I avoid it for the shot. Not sure if regular neosporin can be used or if I should just consult with the vet. It does not appear to be infected and he just finished a round of antibiotics. Any help is greatly appreciated:)
Hi does any one have any advice about her kitty being on Novolin N and the sores on his lower back where she shoots
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

@Wendy&Neko

@Suzanne & Darcy

Thanks ladies
 
Hello, my kitty Sammy was diagnosed with diabetes September 29th. It wasn’t entirely unexpected since he was drinking so much more water and urinating more as a result. I had anticipated kidney disease, so was surprised at diabetes. He had always been a lanky street cat until 5 1/2 years ago when he finally let me bring him in. He has become a vital part of our family. He is the sweetest, most loving guy I have ever met. Since his diagnosis, today (Sunday October 9th) is the first day he’s back to almost normal. He climbed onto my bed to hang out with me and is currently snoring away in full comfort. I hadn’t realized I haven’t heard his snores in a long while until I heard them today. On Friday, his insulin (Novolin-N) was adjusted to 2 units twice a day; his initial dosage was 1 unit, but wasn’t working well enough for the vet. We’ve been going twice a week to the vet for BG testing and the vet shaved a few patches of hair from Sammy. He has two bald spots near his lower back for the insulin injections and has been accommodating them pretty well. I make sure to change where I inject so it’s not in the same spot every day. One of his bald spots has what looks to be a sore. It is not open or leaking, kinda like a soft scab. Sometimes when I inject him, he does this full body squirm so I’m sure that’s when it happened. Does anyone know what can be done to treat it? The area seems to bother him even though I avoid it for the shot. Not sure if regular neosporin can be used or if I should just consult with the vet. It does not appear to be infected and he just finished a round of antibiotics. Any help is greatly appreciated:)
Hi there and welcome. Neosporin isn't really recommended for use in cats anymore. I would simply avoid injecting that area for now and if it doesn't heal, I would let the vet take a look at it. Most people inject insulin into the scruff of the neck, where there is lose skin that can be pulled up just a little bit to form a "tent" of skin where the injection can be done. Was the shaving necessary? Is your kitty long furred? Sometimes people who are new will have a small area on the scruff shaved until the get the hang of things. There shouldn't be an actual "sore" there. It is possible that when he squirmed that the needle just nicked the surface of the skin. And thank you for taking in a street cat. I have several and they are just the most loving around! Oliver, my big orange boy, is one and he's sitting in my lap right now at the computer.
 
P.S. if you really can't stand the idea of not putting something on that spot -- I would use something like a chlorhexidine wipe. But it should heal up just fine on its own. If you see any excessive redness that does not resolve or swelling, of course, I know you would take him to the vet.
 
Thank you all for the input. @Suzanne & Darcy, the shaving was done as an indicator of where to inject since I have no experience with feline diabetes.
We’ve been on treatment for almost two weeks and there does not seem to be any improvement. His initial BG was 625 on 09/29/22 and the lowest it has been was 482 on 10/03/22. We went today for BG test at the vet and he’s up to 593. I’ve altered his diet so he is eating predominantly wet food with a few mouthfuls of kibble.
I keep a little kibble out all day since I have 3 other cats, one of which is about 15 years old with limited movement. I can’t confine either of them since they are all bonded and I can’t keep food from her either. This is all so difficult and I feel like I’m not doing any of this correctly.
Starting tonight, I’m going to leave food out 1.5 hours after Sammy’s injection, and then put it up for the night. Repeat in the morning/every 12 hours. The others will have to get on the schedule because I can’t lose him to this so soon :(. He’s so happy and full of life. I know diabetes isn’t necessarily a killer, but uncontrolled will do damage.
If anyone has suggestions, I’d really appreciate them.
 
Last edited:
I second that. Home testing is the best thing you will ever do for your baby & yourself. Then your in control & you know what there # is at any given time. That's when your kitty gets reductions of insulin & possible remission :cat:
 
Hi - I am intending to purchase a blood glucose meter today. I will get the ReliOn Premier Classic as recommended on this website. In regards to lancets, will the 33 gauge be okay? I see the standard is 26 or 28 gauge and ideally, I would like to inflict as minimal pain on Sammy as possible. Will enough blood be drawn with the 33 gauge? Thanks in advance =)
 
Hi - I am intending to purchase a blood glucose meter today. I will get the ReliOn Premier Classic as recommended on this website. In regards to lancets, will the 33 gauge be okay? I see the standard is 26 or 28 gauge and ideally, I would like to inflict as minimal pain on Sammy as possible. Will enough blood be drawn with the 33 gauge? Thanks in advance =)
I would get either 26 or 28 gauge lancets ,the lower the gauge number the better Sammy will bleed, if you need help setting up our spreadsheet just ask , I gave you some information above :cat:
 
Hi - I am intending to purchase a blood glucose meter today. I will get the ReliOn Premier Classic as recommended on this website. In regards to lancets, will the 33 gauge be okay? I see the standard is 26 or 28 gauge and ideally, I would like to inflict as minimal pain on Sammy as possible. Will enough blood be drawn with the 33 gauge? Thanks in advance =)
I did use the 33 gauge lancets, but not at first when I was new to testing... but you never know... your kitty may bleed easily.
 
One of the best things you could do for your cat, in addition to home testing, of course, would be to switch to a depot insulin like Lantus, which is a gentle insulin. Don't be hard on yourself. You sound very discouraged and you've not been at this for very long! We can help you -- and we actually love to help people since we all remember what it was like at the beginning. And, hooray, I see you have a spreadsheet set up! Fantastic. Now to start filling in the numbers.
 
Thank you everyone for the information.
I am picking up 30 gauge today and have 28 gauge at home, just in case I need the bigger needle. We have another appointment on Saturday and I will discuss changing the insulin with the vet. It seems everyone here recommends Lantus, so I will speak with the vet about it, especially since the Novolin-N does not seem to be working well.
It's hard through the week to monitor Sammy. I inject him in the morning before I leave for work and get home about 12 hours later. There are people home during the day, none of which can be depended on to do more than emergency care. I have tried to instruct one, but sometimes he is too busy to notice if anything is off. I am scared Sammy will have a reaction and no one will be there to help him.
That's most of the reason why I cannot justify removing access to food during the day. I leave out about a can and a half of wet food throughout the day and feed him once I get home. I have 3 other cats in addition to him, and 2 of them are younger. Due to Sammy's arthritis, he cannot get up where I keep the youngsters' food, so they have access to kibble and wet food throughout the day. My older cat seems to be adjusting better than Sammy to the food restriction. I will attempt to do his blood test tonight and hope he lets me. He is protective of his delicate ears in general. Hoping I can hide the lancet and poke him real quick to get the blood drop. The way my schedule is, I think I can get 3-4 test a day, 1 AM preshot, 1 PM preshot, and 1 +2 PM shot, and +4 PM shot.
 
Thank you everyone for the information.
I am picking up 30 gauge today and have 28 gauge at home, just in case I need the bigger needle. We have another appointment on Saturday and I will discuss changing the insulin with the vet. It seems everyone here recommends Lantus, so I will speak with the vet about it, especially since the Novolin-N does not seem to be working well.
It's hard through the week to monitor Sammy. I inject him in the morning before I leave for work and get home about 12 hours later. There are people home during the day, none of which can be depended on to do more than emergency care. I have tried to instruct one, but sometimes he is too busy to notice if anything is off. I am scared Sammy will have a reaction and no one will be there to help him.
That's most of the reason why I cannot justify removing access to food during the day. I leave out about a can and a half of wet food throughout the day and feed him once I get home. I have 3 other cats in addition to him, and 2 of them are younger. Due to Sammy's arthritis, he cannot get up where I keep the youngsters' food, so they have access to kibble and wet food throughout the day. My older cat seems to be adjusting better than Sammy to the food restriction. I will attempt to do his blood test tonight and hope he lets me. He is protective of his delicate ears in general. Hoping I can hide the lancet and poke him real quick to get the blood drop. The way my schedule is, I think I can get 3-4 test a day, 1 AM preshot, 1 PM preshot, and 1 +2 PM shot, and +4 PM shot.
That is really rough if you have to work/be gone for 12 hours! Have you ever considered getting a Libre Sensor put on Sammy since you are gone for such a long time? You should be able to gather a little more data on the weekends and perhaps a little in the evenings?
 
Oh, and be sure to set up a kind of "testing" spot where you do the tests each time and be sure to reward Sammy after every test/attempted test (even a failed test). You can even give a little low carb treat before and after. A lot of people use the Pure Bites Freeze Dried Chicken (or other pure meat) flavors of treats. Just try to be calm and keep everything positive. In the beginning, I failed a lot (and cried a lot). After a week or so, I did better. I have had a lot of luck in all my cats with Bonita Flakes, which are low carb. They're a little messier and require a dish to put them in though. Cats tend to love them. I recently gifted a bag of Bonita flakes to a friend whose cat is hyperthyroid and it made a huge difference in getting her to take her pill inside of a pill pocket when it had some Bonita Flakes adhered to the outside. Anyway, you're not giving pills, but it's just an idea for a little low-carb treat, since they're so popular.
 
Doing a quick Google search, it looks like the Libre sensors are only available with a prescription. I'll consider bringing that up with the vet too. I will definitely be able to get more information on the weekends. As of now, he gets his PM shot at 6:30pm and I can attempt hourly tests until bedtime, approximately 11pm. Until he is more used to it and accepting, I will do as many as he allows. He has been pretty easy to pill in the past. I discovered those lickable treats at the beginning of the year and he really likes them. I entered the nutritional information into a carb calculator and it does not contain any. Thankfully. I was worried they might have been contributing. He gets half a tube in the morning and the other half in the evening. Each tube is 0.5 oz so he isn't getting much. Just enough to distract for the shot. I will definitely try the Bonita Flakes and the freeze dried chicken treats. He loves poultry in general.
 
it looks like the Libre sensors are only available with a prescription. I'll consider bringing that up with the vet too.
Correct a script is required. If you the sensors use a coupon like from GoodRx. I get them for about $34 each with the coupon.
Thre is a FB group of c usinfg the Libre for cats and dogs. This much good/necessary information in the group. You have to request to join the group.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/2894089194158745
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top