Squeakycats
Member Since 2017
Hi, all--I'm reposting this from the Introductions forum and would love your advice! My kitty, Misha (who is male...I know, bad name choice), was recently diagnosed. It was a surprise--he had been struggling with a bad coccidia infection, and his high blood glucose measurement came up in a routine panel. I've been following my vet's instructions since then--he started on 2 units of insulin, went down to 1 for a while, and I haven't given many shots over the last few days because his BG was less than 150 (the vet said not to give it below that).
I've always fed him a grain-free diet and tried to get him to mostly eat canned food. He kept having horrible itching and scabbing on his face and neck; when we finally realized that might be an allergy to chicken, we switched him to eating just rabbit, venison, and an occasional bit of fish. He seems to be doing well on that front, but I think the diabetes may have been caused by all the times he was on steroids (he's not overweight). The vet was also giving him an herbal medication for anxiety in a base that, as it turns out, is basically corn syrup--Lixotinic. So that probably messed with his blood sugar a ton. Obviously I feel horrible about probably being responsible for his illness. He's now eating Primal nuggets (raw freeze-dried food), more because he's willing to cheerfully eat it than for any other reason--he had lost a lot of weight prior to his diagnose. But I think it's a very low carb food!
I just recently discovered this board and all of the wonderful information and thought I would introduce myself now that I've had time to set up a spreadsheet (I have been keeping my own much-less-fancy one). Sorry it is so sparse and random--I didn't know what I was doing for a while there. I now plan to test before every shot (or at the time he'd usually get one).
I wasn't aware of the possible protocols when this all started and thus haven't been following any. I work full-time, and my husband attends grad school about an hour from here, so we are out a lot. I think it would be tricky to try to do tight regulation, but I really want to give Misha the best chance of going into remission. I think he may be headed that way, based on his recent numbers. And that's the source of my biggest questions:
1) How often should I be testing now? How often do I need to do a curve?
2) Is my vet probably right about not shooting if BG is <150? Misha's lowest measured BG has been 68, and he didn't seem hypoglycemic--but he often sleeps a lot, so it's hard to say.
3) How can I best try to help him go into remission? I am worried about missing all these shots and wonder if we should be going down to .5 units or something instead.
Thank you very much for any tips, guidance, resources, etc. you can share, and best wishes to everyone and their beautiful kitties!
I've always fed him a grain-free diet and tried to get him to mostly eat canned food. He kept having horrible itching and scabbing on his face and neck; when we finally realized that might be an allergy to chicken, we switched him to eating just rabbit, venison, and an occasional bit of fish. He seems to be doing well on that front, but I think the diabetes may have been caused by all the times he was on steroids (he's not overweight). The vet was also giving him an herbal medication for anxiety in a base that, as it turns out, is basically corn syrup--Lixotinic. So that probably messed with his blood sugar a ton. Obviously I feel horrible about probably being responsible for his illness. He's now eating Primal nuggets (raw freeze-dried food), more because he's willing to cheerfully eat it than for any other reason--he had lost a lot of weight prior to his diagnose. But I think it's a very low carb food!
I just recently discovered this board and all of the wonderful information and thought I would introduce myself now that I've had time to set up a spreadsheet (I have been keeping my own much-less-fancy one). Sorry it is so sparse and random--I didn't know what I was doing for a while there. I now plan to test before every shot (or at the time he'd usually get one).
I wasn't aware of the possible protocols when this all started and thus haven't been following any. I work full-time, and my husband attends grad school about an hour from here, so we are out a lot. I think it would be tricky to try to do tight regulation, but I really want to give Misha the best chance of going into remission. I think he may be headed that way, based on his recent numbers. And that's the source of my biggest questions:
1) How often should I be testing now? How often do I need to do a curve?
2) Is my vet probably right about not shooting if BG is <150? Misha's lowest measured BG has been 68, and he didn't seem hypoglycemic--but he often sleeps a lot, so it's hard to say.
3) How can I best try to help him go into remission? I am worried about missing all these shots and wonder if we should be going down to .5 units or something instead.
Thank you very much for any tips, guidance, resources, etc. you can share, and best wishes to everyone and their beautiful kitties!
