Welcome to FDMB
Now I can welcome you appropriately. You did great last night and you had members there to guide you along, having multiple cats at home and you mentioning you have gone thru other situations, Feline diabetes is a walk in the park for you, you're a good kitty parent, FD is very manageable,
Novolin is a short-acting insulin; the best insulin for cats are ProZinc and Lantus they are a 12-hour insulin easy on the cat, home testing is very important, which showed you are doing a good job at it, we are very numbers oriented so we don't have to ask you the same question all the time we would like you to create your signature and Edward's spreadsheet, this way we can all be on the same page, links below, is important as well to see the days progress in case you find yourself , in a situation as this morning. A non-diabetic cats' glucose level is between 50-120, so if you find yourself you need us to be there for you as last night please make another thread and click on the arrow next to title click on the red 911 you can title it HELP LOW BG, and post your concerns, this title gets everyone's attention and I am sure one of the members will plug in with you to walk thru the hypo episode. A hypo episode is best handled with food rather than Karo or Honey, since this is a quick fix, of course counting on the BG not being lower than 50, this was not your case, you did great last night and the members assisting as well. We would like you to create a
HYPO KIT this contains some medium carb foods between 11-15% carbs some high carb foods between 15-24% carbs some Karo syrup or honey, these last two are giving either by rubbing the gums with a bit or giving a small amount by mouth, these are just a quick fix to avoid further dive in BG, but is best to hike up the BG with food rather than the other.
0-10% low carbs / 11-15% medium carbs / 16/24% high carbs
Avoiding shot / I do not give dosing advice and do not know the protocols for Novolin, however there can be the time where the shot should not be giving, especially if as an example Edward's BG is as it was last night, but we are always told that skipping a shot on the next shot if BG is safe can interrupt the insulin balance, I for one use ProZinc I do not miss a dose, then again I shoot on 2 digit BG's, it took a lot of practice, guts, and knowing your cat very well (see Corky's spreadsheet below) each insulin has its own shooting protocol, I use ProZinc, with this insulin the protocol is test, feed, shoot, you can stall the shot with food till BG is safe to shoot stalling up to two hours, you can reduce the dose by drops if need to , Lantus has other protocols, Take your time processing, the more you learn how Edward processes insulin, the easier it will be for the both of you. We are always here for you
Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/