ASHFUR
Member Since 2021
Hi everyone...
My name is Kristi, my cat Ashfur was diagnosed with diabetes on Feb 1st 2021. I need to know if its normal to hold a diabetic cat at a starting dose of lantus insulin (2 units AM / 1.5 units PM) if his BG still is not reaching below 300's for the lowest part of the day? My vet tells me we are looking for "trends" not perfection but high numbers are still harmful to the cat right?
I wish I could post all of the pictures of his freestyle Libre graphs and show you what his curves look like on a daily basis but I could not figure out how to do it. Instead my profile picture is a picture a combined monthly graph showing the curves over the past few weeks. His insulin dose has only been changed once 10 days ago. from 1.5 in the AM to 2.0 in the AM and same 1.5 in the PM.
So my question is should I worry that his nadir isn't falling lower than what it is on his present dosage amount? I personally figured the point of having all this data (from the freestyle Libre) would be to adjust his dose until we get him closer to a healthy cat range. My vet seems to think the numbers look great and he's perfect where he is at? Does the graph look good? It looks super high to me still...
Does this make sense to hold the same dose? Is this a slower process than what I am thinking? I just need a second opinion.
Thanks for Your time and I apologize in advance for the lack of details.
My name is Kristi, my cat Ashfur was diagnosed with diabetes on Feb 1st 2021. I need to know if its normal to hold a diabetic cat at a starting dose of lantus insulin (2 units AM / 1.5 units PM) if his BG still is not reaching below 300's for the lowest part of the day? My vet tells me we are looking for "trends" not perfection but high numbers are still harmful to the cat right?
I wish I could post all of the pictures of his freestyle Libre graphs and show you what his curves look like on a daily basis but I could not figure out how to do it. Instead my profile picture is a picture a combined monthly graph showing the curves over the past few weeks. His insulin dose has only been changed once 10 days ago. from 1.5 in the AM to 2.0 in the AM and same 1.5 in the PM.
So my question is should I worry that his nadir isn't falling lower than what it is on his present dosage amount? I personally figured the point of having all this data (from the freestyle Libre) would be to adjust his dose until we get him closer to a healthy cat range. My vet seems to think the numbers look great and he's perfect where he is at? Does the graph look good? It looks super high to me still...
Does this make sense to hold the same dose? Is this a slower process than what I am thinking? I just need a second opinion.
Thanks for Your time and I apologize in advance for the lack of details.
, the best place you never wanted to be. 