New to Board

Status
Not open for further replies.
New to Board, SarahM

Can you give us some information about your cat?

How was your cat diagnosed, did you start insulin, what type of food do you feed?
 
Re: New to Board, SarahM

tuckers mom said:
Can you give us some information about your cat?

How was your cat diagnosed, did you start insulin, what type of food do you feed?

Thank you for answering, he went to the vet yesterday, will start insulin on monday and he is eating low carb wet food. He is 16-17 years of age, we had him tested Nov and he did not have diabeties due to switching his food, than he started to lose weight and now he has it full blown. His sugar 430 but his kidneys liver is all good and his ketones were good also. I am not sure the other counts where just that Bear sugar was off the chart.

Thank you Tuckers MOM
 
Great that you've already switched food, that's going to help once insulin is started to keep the numbers down.

Some cats do go into remission on diet alone, one of mine is currently in remission and hoping he stays that way, another is always going to be on insulin.

Can you call the vet and ask what insulin you'll be getting? It may be helpful for you to learn a little about that particular insulin in advance. I'd recommend that you stay away from Vetsulin if the vet says that's what it is. It's on a recall for being inconsistent.

How do you feel about discussing hometesting your cat's blood sugar to help keep your kitty safe and to help with costs :)
 
Dear Sarah,

As Tucker's mom suggested, hometesting will be instrumental in dealing with Bear's diabetes. If he is only tested when at the vet's and likely stressed there (noisy, lots of people who are not the mommy...)the numbers may be artifically high. Testing at home gives you a real picture of how the insulin is working and makes it so much easier not to give too much or too little insulin. Check out this website to get some beginning info: http://www.sugarcats.net/sites/harry/bgtest.htm

If you want to do some of your own research on insulins before you see the vet on Monday, you can check out the Insulin Support groups on this site. The stickies at the top of each group's page give you good info on how each insulin works. viewforum.php?f=5 I agree that you want to avoid Vetsulin.

We are not saying you should ignore your vet. You will need to work with him/her. But vets are like GPs. They know a little about a lot of things. They often see very few diabetic cats. The research you do can help Bear and your vet. We love our vet, but she started Oliver on too high a dose, and she didn't know about hometesting until we learned how to do it. Now she suggests it to her other patients.

This is a great site with lots of info. And there is always someone around to help, day or night. There are no silly questions. We are all paying it forward for help we received. Oliver has been gone for 3 years, but I still try to help newcomers the way others helped me.
 
Hi Sara, and Welcome to FDMB. Your in the right place for your kitty.
We have a whole list of low carb canned foods in case your using the vet's canned fod which can be expensive and not really the best (beleive it or not)
Also you will definetly want to learn how to test your cat's blood sugar. we have all kinds of ways to walk you thru that. if you live close to another member it's not unusual to have a house call to teach you. but we can teach you here too.
we also have newbie kits if finances are an issue. you need to have a human glucometer like a one touch or a accu-check. something you can get at any walmart.
also please post everyday once you get an insulin so we can help you with dosing.
of course it may totally coinside with what you vet tells you to dose...but sometimes it may be different.
keep in mind we have like a 1000 diabetic cats come thru here, many stay to teach others, we know a great deal about feline diabetes.
keep feeding us what you already know...in detail.
 
Thank you to everyone who has replied, with all kinds of information. Bear went to the vet yesterday and he will be on lantus, 2mg and its twice a day. They kept bear all day yesterday and he did really really great. He acted alittle better in the car ride home. Did my first shot this am, I prick my finger, just little nervous I guess, but I did do it ok. I am very nervous of home testing, due to the vet I really don't need to do it. She wants to see him next week after Bear has been on the insulin for a week.

Again thank you very much for all of you that responded. Is there any one that lives in Florida? I live north of clearwater and west of tampa. I live in port richey and work in Holiday.

Thank you and everyone have a great day.
 
sarahm said:
Thank you to everyone who has replied, with all kinds of information. Bear went to the vet yesterday and he will be on lantus, 2mg and its twice a day. They kept bear all day yesterday and he did really really great. He acted alittle better in the car ride home. Did my first shot this am, I prick my finger, just little nervous I guess, but I did do it ok. I am very nervous of home testing, due to the vet I really don't need to do it. She wants to see him next week after Bear has been on the insulin for a week.

Again thank you very much for all of you that responded. Is there any one that lives in Florida? I live north of clearwater and west of tampa. I live in port richey and work in Holiday.

Thank you and everyone have a great day.

Well, here I am up at 4am Pacific time !!!

Just a quick point of detail...insulin is measured in 'units' not 'mg'....so Bear will be getting
2u (2 units) of lantus insulin 2x per day. Lantus is a good insulin.

I never used Lantus for Smokey, but there is a Lantus Insulin Support Group here...one of the forums.
You might want to pop over there and read the 'sticky' notes at the top for lots of info on how lantus works.
I understand that Lantus may take several days to build up in the cat's body to where you begin to see
results (lower BG). So don't rush changing the dose. Especially don't increase the dose too fast.

You don't need your vet's permission to home-test, and we highly recommend that you do home-test.

BG tests at the vet are often influenced by the high stress levels of a cat who is at the vet !!
BG readings may be considerably higher at the vet, than at home where the cat is relaxed.
The vet then prescribes too much insulin based on artificially high BG readings in the office.
Result: Too much insulin at home = low blood sugar = DANGER !!

We recommend testing before every shot (to see if BG is high enough to safely give insulin).

Also, run your own BG curve at home (test every 2 hours). You do this to find the nadir
point (point where BG is lowest)....Lantus doses are figured on the nadir, not the high-point.
This is best found at home, not at the vet where BG is likely to be artificially high.

I was scared to home test at first, also. But I learned to do it and it became a nice bonding
experience with Smokey. He loved his warm-rice-sock massage. I would rub it all over
his head, neck and shoulders while warming his ear for the test. A little smear of vaseline on
the pokey-area, quick poke with the lancet....over in less than a minute.

You can get a nice meter at WalMart. Get one of their Reli-On meters. The cost of testing
is mostly in the test strips that go with the meter, and Reli-On has one of the least expensive test
strips. No need to purchase a pricey 'veterinary meter'.

Also pick up at WalMart a lancet device and some lancets. Get the 'fine' not 'ultra-fine' Reli-On
Lancets.

It's good to pick up some KetoStix also...for testing urine for keytones. Ask the pharmacist behind
the counter. These are good to have on hand. When/if you need them, you need them NOW.

Hee..hee...poked yourself with the insulin needle....we've all done that. Won't make you sick.
But be assured, your fingers are WAY more sensitive than the cat's skin where you re giving the
injection.

I'm on the West Coast (Washington state...about as far away from Florida as you can get).
We must have some members in Florida....would you be interested in a home-testing demo, if it
can be arranged ?
 
I know all this poking can be scary, but I really urge you to at the very least test before each shot. Please take a look at our spreadsheet. You will see several occasions where we had to postpone a shot by several hours because Oscar was too low, and 2 occasions where we had to skip a shot because his number was around 50 at our regular morning shot time. I don't mean to scare you at all, but we would have been in a seriously bad situation had we not tested that morning! nailbite_smile

Most vets out there think that home testing will stress the cat and make the numbers off, but that is exactly what happens when you take Bear into the vet for a curve! Many times the bg reading can be as much as 200-300 points higher because of stress, and I wouldn't want to adjust an insulin dose based off of readings with that range of error.

There are many videos on here that act as tutorials for home testing. Like others have said, it ended up being a bonding time for me and Oscar as well. cat_pet_icon

I am sure other Lantus people will make their way over here, but 2u may be a little high to start the dose at as well, especially if ketones are not a factor right now. I think protocol is starting at 1u for 1 week. Someone else chime in here please :-D

I am so glad that you found us here. Everyone on this board tries to look out for others - we are all here for the kitties! dancing_cat
 
Hi Sarah
Welcome to the board. I'm fairly new myself, but I just want to chime in about hometesting. if you go back on some of my first convos you will see I had a hellava time with the hometesting, vet was against it, hubby wasn't really on board, cat was an absolute nightmare to test. I was literally shaking after every test. I thought there was no way I could do this every day and didn't really understand the real value of consistant hometesting.....until we dropped fast one night. If I hadn't been testing I would not have known his numbers, and we would most probably have a serious hypo on our hands. The best part is with gentle reinforcement,reward and persistance Max has settled down totally, he is no longer a problem to test. He still lets me know he doesn't like it with a growl and whine when the lancet goes in, but that it's...and trust me I never thought i would be sayin this but he actually comes to me to be tested. He has figured out that it's part of the routine and he gets food and/or treats each time, and he'll put up with it. You will also figure out a position and way that is most comfortable for the two of you. I realised that the more I tried to restrain him the more he fought.

I know this is really scary at the beginning, but you can do this, and soon it's not going to be as bad as you think it is. Best of Luck
 
Bear does not mind his shots, he has a total of 3, but still acts like he is tired all the time, but
alittle bit more alert. Does it take awhile for the insulin to work?


Thank you
 
Hi Sarah and welcome to the board.
Yes it does take time for the insulin to build up in bear's system.
Have you been ale to get a BG meter yet and start testing him. BG readings should always be taken before any shot in order to make sure that the BG # is not too low to safely give insulin.

Also, most people start at 1u twice a day, to be safe and make sure that the dose is increased according to the guidelines. Too much insulin can create higher numbers and especially if you do not know what his numbers are we do not want to face a hypo situation.

Here are the links you should read that are in the lantus insulin group:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=157
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=151
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=150

Ihttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/vie ... ?f=6&t=16n addition, you wold also want to start a spreadsheet for Bear with his BG readings.

What are you feeding Bear and did you make a sudden change to his food and start insulin?
Please ask as many questions.
 
Randi and Max,

Bear is on low carb wet food, he has been on wet food for 2+ years, due to he had diabeties and we tried the food change first and that work, but now it changed to have him on the insulin. I have not check him yet before his shots. He seems to be eating alittle more than last week.

Thank you again for your reply.


Sarah/Bear
 
That i good to hear Sarah. Do you plan on starting to hometest?
It really is the safest for bear in addition in determinig when his dose should be increased or decreased.
 
Hi Sarah
I just wanted to throw my vote in there on getting set up to do home testing. Your vet started you on a higher dose than normal which could put you in a hypo situation of you cannot monitor the day to day readings on Bear. Lantus is a type of insulin that builds on itself from one shot to the next. That means that you could have a sudden drop once all that insulin in the system gets used. The vets are OK for once in a while tests, but those won't help you if Bear drops to too low of numbers due to too much insulin on board. Human's don't blindly dose insulin and pets shouldn't either. The best and safest way to regulation and possible remission is to see how Bear is reacting to the insulin and if his numbers are affected by food. Preshot numbers, nadir, and a few other spot checks during the day can give you the information you need to possibly get Bear healed and off of insulin!

Check out the Lantus support forum and read the sticky threads with all the information about Lantus, the "shed", and monitoring. If Bear responded to food once, you may be able to help him heal and get back there with a little closer monitoring.
 
Hi Sarah,

I'm also going to urge you to hometest as soon as possible. Your starting dose of 2u is higher than what's generally recommended, which is 1u. Also, it "can" take lantus 7-10 days to "settle". You could suddenly be faced with a very low drop and not know it, unless you are testing. I had trouble testing Calliope, at first. She was only on 1u of lantus, but had a blood glucose of 500 at diagnosis. When I finally got my first hometest, she was 43! Scared the devil out of me! I had to reduce the dose, obviously.

Hometesting is the only way to keep your kitty safe. It really is. My vet told me I HAD to learn to hometest to keep Calliope safe. It's scary, at first, but most cats get used to it and they love getting a treat along with testing, so they comply.

I hope you will consider hometesting and that you will start quickly. If something were to happen, you could save your cat by knowing those numbers right away. Once you start doing it and you realize the great information it gives you, you will wonder why you waited to start!
 
I want to home test Bear, but what happens if you only can test twice a day. We both work and leave at 5 am and get home at 4-5 pm depending. I see that you should test more often during
the day. What do you suggest? I also was wondering is there anyone from Florida I could get some help like come to my home etc?

Thank you to everyone and have a great Thursday....
 
that's what i do pretty much during the week, test morning and night and maybe a few late night checks here and there if i don't fall asleep too quickly :)

then on the weekends i get more testing in.

we can only do what we can do.

i sent a message to a gal i believe lives in clearwater to see if she can help you learn to test. hopefully she's still there and available or knows who else is nearby.
 
Hi Sarah,
My name is Elisa and I also live in Clearwater and would be happy to help you learn how to Hometest.
I'll send you a private message with my contact information. Please feel free to call me.
 
Oh Sara, I am so sorry you lost Bear. We just never have them for long enough. You were working really hard to find out what would help Bear. He knew that. You are a good mom and obviously cared deeply for him. That was a wonderful gift you gave him - loving and caring.
 
((Sarah))
I am so sorry that you lost Bear tonight. He knew how much you loved him and did what you could for him.

Fly free sweet Bear. Safe landing across the bridge. wings_cat
 
:cry: :cry: Thank you to everyone boy it is hard this morning......but I have three other babies that need me, Sassey, Bella and Sissey...

Again thank you for your thoughts
 
Oh Sarah, I'm so sorry. You were doing everything you could.

May you have many wonderful memories of Bear that will comfort you...

...'til you meet again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top