Jason & Belle (GA)
Active Member
Hi folks,
My 12.5 year old cat has what we believe is steroid induced diabetes. Her initial numbers pre insulin were in the high 300's. She was started on Lantus about 3 weeks ago at 2 units twice a day. At a week and a half, she had her first Glucose curve
and she was fairly steady but never got below 265. The vet recommended increasing to 3 units twice daily. We did so and in the next few days, she was tested sporadically and was anywhere from 300 at +8 to 390 +8. It certainly did not seem like the increase had and effect. I was traveling and she didn't get tested all week, and when I came home yesterday I tested her through the PM shot. She gets her shot at 9am/9pm and here are the numbers I've seen:
4/16
+8 = 88
+9 = 102
PMPS = 97
The vet was not available but the vet tech said ignore the levels and give the shot. These numbers were very low compared to what I'd seen previously, so I ignored her and didn't give the shot. So after not giving her the shot, I awoke this morning to:
4/17
AMPS = 152
Since I planned on being around all day, I did give her the shot and have been checking it every two hours. This Is what I've seen so far:
+2 = 157
+4 = 166
I have no idea how to interpret this and I did speak to the vet today and she said to reduce the dose to 1 unit twice a day. Since I don't know when her number improved and where her pre shot numbers were in the days before I came home, is it possible that she was regulated on the 3 units twice a day to the point where her numbers were that consistently low? Her numbers did not increase that much with the missed dose, and they haven't decreased at all after this mornings dose. I'm just confused as to whether 3 was the right place to be, or if I should reduce the dose as the doctor recommended.
I'm thrilled that a forum like this exists, especially since the vet is never available right when you need them. Thanks in advance for any assistance you can offer.
Jason
My 12.5 year old cat has what we believe is steroid induced diabetes. Her initial numbers pre insulin were in the high 300's. She was started on Lantus about 3 weeks ago at 2 units twice a day. At a week and a half, she had her first Glucose curve
and she was fairly steady but never got below 265. The vet recommended increasing to 3 units twice daily. We did so and in the next few days, she was tested sporadically and was anywhere from 300 at +8 to 390 +8. It certainly did not seem like the increase had and effect. I was traveling and she didn't get tested all week, and when I came home yesterday I tested her through the PM shot. She gets her shot at 9am/9pm and here are the numbers I've seen:
4/16
+8 = 88
+9 = 102
PMPS = 97
The vet was not available but the vet tech said ignore the levels and give the shot. These numbers were very low compared to what I'd seen previously, so I ignored her and didn't give the shot. So after not giving her the shot, I awoke this morning to:
4/17
AMPS = 152
Since I planned on being around all day, I did give her the shot and have been checking it every two hours. This Is what I've seen so far:
+2 = 157
+4 = 166
I have no idea how to interpret this and I did speak to the vet today and she said to reduce the dose to 1 unit twice a day. Since I don't know when her number improved and where her pre shot numbers were in the days before I came home, is it possible that she was regulated on the 3 units twice a day to the point where her numbers were that consistently low? Her numbers did not increase that much with the missed dose, and they haven't decreased at all after this mornings dose. I'm just confused as to whether 3 was the right place to be, or if I should reduce the dose as the doctor recommended.
I'm thrilled that a forum like this exists, especially since the vet is never available right when you need them. Thanks in advance for any assistance you can offer.
Jason