kryskat
Member Since 2010
Hi - I'm reposting this, hopefully in the right place this time: My 18 yr old kitty, Kasha, was diagnosed approx 4 weeks ago. I was initially giving 2 units Lantus twice daily. I've gradually lowered dosage as she's had some pretty low numbers in between shots (using my one touch mini glucometer). Monday night she hit an all-time low of 41 at 2 hours after a dose of 1 unit Lantus (her pre-shot was 208). She stayed low for a few hours even after I gave her some low-carb snacks (and then I went to sleep). Her AMPS was in the 400s - so I was guessing rebound maybe? I only gave her 1/2 unit yesterday morning because of her low numbers the previous night. I cannot always be home to check her nadir, since I work. Even when I can stop home at lunch, I find I may have missed the nadir, because some days it's at 4-5 hours and the earliest I can check on her is 6 or 7 hours after her last shot. Her PMPS last night was 266 and I gave about .75 units Lantus.
I feel like I'm doing a constant science experiment and I'd like some advice on what I should be doing to even out her numbers and hopefully stabilize her and maybe get her into remission - the ultimate goal, of course. I added her numbers to the template (need to update for the last day or so still), but it's a little wonky since on some days she's been so low I wasn't comfortable giving insulin so I waited several hours (up to 5 or 6) and gave insulin when her numbers were higher. Then I had to adjust by giving late doses for the next few shots to get back to my work schedule.
Yesterday (4/13) her morning nadir seemed to be 78 at 11:30 am (she got approx 1/2 unit Lantus at 7:05 am) and her evening nadir around 89 at +4 hours (after between 1/2 - 3/4 units Lantus).
Also, my syringes only have whole unit markings, so I'm approximating. I know there are some syringes available with 1/2 unit markings, but how do you measure the smaller quantities?
I feel like I'm doing a constant science experiment and I'd like some advice on what I should be doing to even out her numbers and hopefully stabilize her and maybe get her into remission - the ultimate goal, of course. I added her numbers to the template (need to update for the last day or so still), but it's a little wonky since on some days she's been so low I wasn't comfortable giving insulin so I waited several hours (up to 5 or 6) and gave insulin when her numbers were higher. Then I had to adjust by giving late doses for the next few shots to get back to my work schedule.
Yesterday (4/13) her morning nadir seemed to be 78 at 11:30 am (she got approx 1/2 unit Lantus at 7:05 am) and her evening nadir around 89 at +4 hours (after between 1/2 - 3/4 units Lantus).
Also, my syringes only have whole unit markings, so I'm approximating. I know there are some syringes available with 1/2 unit markings, but how do you measure the smaller quantities?