New to Board, DM Male on Lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa and Jynx

Member Since 2011
Hello,

My cat, Jynx, was recently diagnosed with DM, He was started on Lantus 3.0 U BID on 6/23/11. Since that time, I've switched him over to 100% wet. He is currently getting 0.5 Units BID, but I'm concerned about his very low BS#s. I have to admit that I've decided the dosage myself based on his BS#s, as I've switched him to wet food (after a scare of 32 on the prescribed dose).

Yesterday, the vet advised that I should not take BS#s until Monday, and only give 0.5 Units Lantus SID until then. She would like me to call on Monday to discuss further. I skipped his P.M. dose as recommended yesterday.

Feeling uncomfortable about shooting blindly, I did get his # this morning. His AMPS was 297. He was then given 0.5U.

After researching Lantus, I have some concerns about the SID dosing, and roller-coaster of #s; especially if there is any chance of remission in the future. I'm also concerned that the vet will recommend changing the medication, since they are not as familiar with Lantus, as they are with some of the other meds.

I'll get together with the vet on Monday to discuss a plan to go forward, but any recommendations from the group would be wonderful.

I wanted to thank you for this wonderful site, and all of the helpful information that I was able to find here. I'm a vet tech student, but a newbie when it comes to diabetes treatment (outside of standard testing at the vet).

Thanks for your help.

Lisa
 
Yesterday, the vet advised that I should not take BS#s until Monday

I will never understand vets that are against hometesting or tell a client to skip testing, etc. It is a lifesaving tool and I am glad you didn't listen to the vet.

I do not use Lantus so you'll have to wait for those that do but...........majority of cats are b.i.d. and testing is going to tell you that s.i.d. isn't going to work.
 
Hi Lisa,
I have to applaud you! You did what many of us here learned we had to do to get our kitties healthy again - get them on a low carb diet, home test and determine insulin doses based on those tests, without the vet's advice on dosing!
So I see no reason why you cannot continue in that direction, especially since you've found the best support network online for feline diabetes!
You are right to question the vet's recommendation. It is only in the very final stages of going to remission that you may be able to dose once a day or on an as needed basis. Until then BID dosing is the best way to get to remission with any insulin, not just Lantus.
What was the vet's reason for not testing until Monday??? Did they claim it's stressful? Most of us have gotten a routine to test and it bothers our kitties very little. I doubt it bothers Jynx enough to make his BGs rise.

Lantus works differently than other insulins your vet may be more familiar with. So if you skipped his PM dose, what did the BGs tell you? I bet they went up. Lantus works by building what we call a "shed" of insulin, kind of like a storage area from which the body can draw on all day long, that's what allows Lantus and the insulin I use, Levemir, to maintain fairly steady blood glucose over a cycle and gives a great chance at remission. When you give a dose only once a day, the body has to draw more from that shed, depleting it so then it's not able to provide that constant level of insulin. The result is higher blood glucose.

Hope that makes sense. Keep asking questions. And if you aren't comfortable with your vet's advice, there is no foul in looking elsewhere for veterinary care. You're doing a fantastic job on your own!
 
Thank you for your responses. I'm questioning myself a bit now with dosing. Luckily, Jynx is extremely tolerant, and the testing doesn't seem to stress him much at all. I think that the vet was just a bit surprised when I came in with my spreadsheet to show the low numbers, and hadn't communicated any dosage changes that I had made. Also, I'm not sure that they agree on regular home testing.

The problem that I was running into was the low number at +12. When I gave a dose anyway, he became too low for comfort (asymptomatic, though). I have a few more gray hairs now! I've read the Lantus protocol, and have tried to adjust the dosage as recommended, but feel that I am all over the place right now.

Lisa
 
I'm sure your vet was surprised that you have a spreadsheet and that you knew to lower his dose! They probably very rarely see such proactive clients.

His spreadsheet looks to me like he might do better at only .25U of insulin. Getting a 42 generally means another dose reduction is needed.

Are you familiar with the Lantus ISG section of the FDMB? They can help you figure out what his blood glucose levels mean and how best to get him off insulin.

If you are able, try to get some BG tests in today to catch if he goes low on the .5U dose this AM. The key to going in to remission is gradually lowering the dose.
 
You can simply copy the link for this thread from your address bar to a post you create in Lantus ISG. I think only a moderator can move a post.

Good luck with everything. You're doing a great job for Jynx. I hope your vet congratulates you when he goes off insulin. Don't mean to get your hopes up, but it sure looks good in that direction.
 
Lisa and Jynx said:
Hello,

My cat, Jynx, was recently diagnosed with DM, He was started on Lantus 3.0 U BID on 6/23/11. Since that time, I've switched him over to 100% wet. He is currently getting 0.5 Units BID, but I'm concerned about his very low BS#s. I have to admit that I've decided the dosage myself based on his BS#s, as I've switched him to wet food (after a scare of 32 on the prescribed dose).

Yesterday, the vet advised that I should not take BS#s until Monday, and only give 0.5 Units Lantus SID until then. She would like me to call on Monday to discuss further. I skipped his P.M. dose as recommended yesterday.

Feeling uncomfortable about shooting blindly, I did get his # this morning. His AMPS was 297. He was then given 0.5U.

After researching Lantus, I have some concerns about the SID dosing, and roller-coaster of #s; especially if there is any chance of remission in the future. I'm also concerned that the vet will recommend changing the medication, since they are not as familiar with Lantus, as they are with some of the other meds.

I'll get together with the vet on Monday to discuss a plan to go forward, but any recommendations from the group would be wonderful.

I wanted to thank you for this wonderful site, and all of the helpful information that I was able to find here. I'm a vet tech student, but a newbie when it comes to diabetes treatment (outside of standard testing at the vet).

Thanks for your help.

Lisa

Lisa,
After reading your very first post on this board, (and I'm not an expert by any means), but someday some vet is going to be damned lucky to have you as a vet tech, and someday beyond that I think some diabetic kitty is going to be even luckier to have you as her vet.
Welcome to the FDMB!
Carl in SC
 
Hi Lisa,
I was thinking the exact same thing as Carl, you've done an awesome job!

When I was at our pet store today, explaining why I was no longer buying my big bag of Science diet, and asked if they had customers that said they have diabetic kitties, they didn't know, but I asked if I could put up a note on the message board, so people can be directed to this board.

My vet told me home testing was not necessary as well, and advised a high fiber prescription diet. Thankfully I found this board before buying that, and started to test within 2 days of dx.

You are going to make an excellent vet tech!!!! Maybe you should even consider becoming a vet.

Great job, I'm still a newbie, and reading your posts have really impressed me. cat_pet_icon
 
omg!
Was at petsmart today and Banfield helped me to try to find some vit. for Ms. Rita's kitty. While walking around, I discussed my Sugar Bean, how I test at home on curves, etc. How I changed food, and about the remission. She mentioned curves, I said I did that at home, along with home testing before shooting, etc.,...She mentioned prescription food, I said I did not need them, just used low carb food....SHE ACTUALLY WALKED AWAY FROM ME with a snarl on her face! I was with a friend and I just started laughing at her! Like, Really??????????? I did not even get a "that a girl, gooood job, glad you got kitty in remission!"
I just cant believe vets sometime!!!
No offense to any vets, techs or whatever, but I just find it amazing!

Gooood job Ms. Lisa and I know that Jynx will be in great hands with you!!!!
 
Thank you so much for your nice comments :) It's comforting, especially since I'm feeling a bit unsure of myself right now. I know that I'm doing the correct thing for Jynx, but I still question myself when the vet doesn't totally agree. Luckily, I have a wonderful vet's office, and have a relationship with them (did my co-op there), so hopefully they will be understanding, and work with me.

Ohbell,

I can't believe your experience at Banfield. Oh well. You know that you are more experienced on this subject :) Congratulations on your kitty's remission!

Thanks, again. Hope everyone had a nice weekend.

Lisa
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top