? New to board. Continue insulin?

bump....I already gave you my opinion in the Facebook group but want you to hear from others.

The Lantus forum is the busiest one so if your post starts to drop down the wall, comment on it That will bring it back to the top of the forum.

You might also want to edit your original subject line and add the ? prefix.
 
bump....I already gave you my opinion in the Facebook group but want you to hear from others.

The Lantus forum is the busiest one so if your post starts to drop down the wall, comment on it That will bring it back to the top of the forum.

You might also want to edit your original subject line and add the ? prefix.
Thank you, Chris!! Hope I get the hang of this. And thank you for your guidance, I do appreciate it.
 
Of course, I'm not an expert, it's only my opinion, but I would definetely keep on insulin; if you're following the protocol, his numbers should be in the normal range (50 to 80 mg/dl) most of the time before stopping insulin!
 
Of course, I'm not an expert, it's only my opinion, but I would definetely keep on insulin; if you're following the protocol, his numbers should be in the normal range (50 to 80 mg/dl) most of the time before stopping insulin!
I see you're using a human meter, do you know what 50-80 is in pet meter numbers? Thanks!
 
Hi Susan
If you want a strong remission for your kitty, and everyone wants that!...you need to continue with the insulin until you are getting BG numbers in green numbers 68-100 on the alphatrak and maybe low blue numbers.
By giving the insulin you are letting the pancreas heal itself more while getting the support of the insulin. If you stop too soon, you will find the remission will not last.

I would try giving a small snack at +9 both cycles if you can (do you have an auto feeder?) to see if that helps bring down the Preshots.
 
Hi Susan
If you want a strong remission for your kitty, and everyone wants that!...you need to continue with the insulin until you are getting BG numbers in green numbers 68-100 on the alphatrak and maybe low blue numbers.
By giving the insulin you are letting the pancreas heal itself more while getting the support of the insulin. If you stop too soon, you will find the remission will not last.

I would try giving a small snack at +9 both cycles if you can (do you have an auto feeder?) to see if that helps bring down the Preshots.
No autofeeder. It's kind of difficult getting our baby fed because we have another cat (non-diabetic) at home so i have to watch them eat whenever I give insulin to make sure sugarcat gets what he needs.
So giving a snack at +9 will lower his numbers you think? Interesting approach, hadn't considered it.
 
I don’t think it’s time to go OTJ. You are close though. You want to see mostly green on your ss. Take a look at Sarah and Blaze’s ss. Blaze just went OTJ.
 
I don’t think it’s time to go OTJ. You are close though. You want to see mostly green on your ss. Take a look at Sarah and Blaze’s ss. Blaze just went OTJ.
Thanks! I managed to find it and wow she's a pro at this. I don't know how to use calipers... gotta look into that..

Thank you for the tip!!
 
If the pancreas is spluttering back into life, it should be able to produce some insulin if the cat is fed. So by feeding at + 9, if the pancreas is starting to work again, the BG should drop lower and the Preshot number will hopefully drop a bit. This will only happen if the pancreas is able to produce some insulin. The longer you can support it with insulin while it heals, the better the chance you have of a long lasting remission.
 
I see you're using a human meter, do you know what 50-80 is in pet meter numbers? Thanks!
68 to about 100
There is no way to convert numbers from one type of meter to the other. 68 to 100 is just a guess, but depends on both your pet meter and the type of human meter used. Many people have done comparisons, and we haven't come up with a way to convert. If we are using human meters, we use 50 as the point below which we don't want our cats on insulin to go and when they earn a reduction. If using a pet meter, specifically the AT, then Dr. Jacquie Rand (one of the co-authors of the TR protocol) said we should use 68 as the reduction point. That doesn't mean 50 human meter = 68 AT.

I do agree with the others that Jorel doesn't seem quite ready to go solo without insulin just yet.
 
If the pancreas is spluttering back into life, it should be able to produce some insulin if the cat is fed. So by feeding at + 9, if the pancreas is starting to work again, the BG should drop lower and the Preshot number will hopefully drop a bit. This will only happen if the pancreas is able to produce some insulin. The longer you can support it with insulin while it heals, the better the chance you have of a long lasting remission.
How interesting, Bron !!:) Something new to try with Ti-Mousse who's going from reducie to reducie since 2 months and still mostly green (8u to 3.95u)!!
 
If the pancreas is spluttering back into life, it should be able to produce some insulin if the cat is fed. So by feeding at + 9, if the pancreas is starting to work again, the BG should drop lower and the Preshot number will hopefully drop a bit. This will only happen if the pancreas is able to produce some insulin. The longer you can support it with insulin while it heals, the better the chance you have of a long lasting remission.
How much do you feed at +9? Just a snack or a full meal? And then do you skip the other feeding? I assume not but checking. Thanks!
 
Just feed a small snack and then a little less than normal at dinner to keep the calorie amount the same.
Ok, I didn't know how much to feed so I gave Jorel about 2tbsp of wet food. So now should I check his +10 and +11? Or just at preshot? TIA!!!
 
I’ll check in then. But you want to see mostly green in order to start a trial.
So he's dropped since the treat from 155 to 128. Gonna give him the drop, right? I realize he might still drop more, but then also go back up with more food, and then back down with insulin. haha. it feels like a lot of up and down
 
Yes. That’s within meter variance.
Ok, all done. Thanks so much. Though I admit I'm not familiar with the lingo yet ("trial" and "meter variance") so I'll check that terminology list I found and see if I can learn something new :) I'm also gonna check him again in 2 and 4 hrs because I'm a little nervous and would like to see that those new (lower) nadir numbers. Thanks again for the help!
 
By trial I mean when we think he’s ready to go off insulin it’s trued for two weeks. You aren’t there just yet. Meters are allowed to read off by 20% so the two readings you got are about that much apart. I would definitely get a +2 and maybe even a +3 if the test is going down by a lot.
 
By trial I mean when we think he’s ready to go off insulin it’s trued for two weeks. You aren’t there just yet. Meters are allowed to read off by 20% so the two readings you got are about that much apart. I would definitely get a +2 and maybe even a +3 if the test is going down by a lot.
Will do!! Thank you so much for your patience with me
 
My pleasure. It’s scary shooting low but most who follow TR shoot anything over 50. That would be over 68 on a pet meter. I can’t remember the lowest I ever shot.

I just checked your ss. Get a +3. Remember you can steer with food.
 
My pleasure. It’s scary shooting low but most who follow TR shoot anything over 50. That would be over 68 on a pet meter. I can’t remember the lowest I ever shot.

I just checked your ss. Get a +3. Remember you can steer with food.
Thanks. Yeah, I will definitely check at +3 and +4. If +3 is getting too low I might give him a few high-carb treats and be nervously watching til +4. eek

Sidenote: I feel like I should edit the SS so that the colors are based on a pet meter because these human meter numbers make his green numbers look blue :(
 
Post the number. You can give a little mc food but unless real low don’t reach for hc too early. Remember 68-100 is normal on a pet meter.
 
Ok. What’s carb % of dm. I’ll bd back in 20 min.
6% for wet (per catinfo.org). And about 15% (as-fed) for dry. (All my weruva recipes are around 1% or less, I believe.)

EDIT: He's still at 106. No change. I checked twice and the second reading said 111. I'm not too worried now. Don't think he needs anything extra, right?
 
Last edited:
You are right. You could give a little regular food if you want or wait and test in an hour.
Will try to hold off on food unless you think you would. His nadir is usually at +4, so in an hour, but he's held steady for the past hour and maybe that means it won't drop too much more? Or maybe I'm wrong. Thanks so much for the hand holding, Jorel and I are both grateful.
 

Attachments

  • 20200620_220257.jpg
    20200620_220257.jpg
    53.2 KB · Views: 104
Back
Top