Hi and welcome,
your cat can indeed free feed. However, you don't want to try and make sure she hasn't eaten around 2 hours before you test, particularly your pre shot test. Food raises the bg number, so you would see an inflated number.
Not heard of the food your giving. Have you seen the food charts?
Tend to discourage fish more than once a week (mercury one reason) unless kitty just not eating then it's a case of get anything down them.
Do you know the carb content? Under 10% (under 5% even better) is recommended.
Lantus has shown excellent remission results if used within 6 months of diagnosis.
Peak/Nadir= the lowest bg number you will get in a 12 hour cycle. This is what you base your dosing on.
However, still important to check preshot, as on occasion, kitty throws way to low number and you have to hold off on shot or give a reduced one.
If 477 came from blodd test, high chance it was fructosamine. Ask to check (or if they already did) white cell count (raised usually a sign of infection somewhere) Ask them to check teeth/gums too.
Lucky was a graze eater, never a problem. You just need to make sure she eats at least a good tablespoon preferably before giving insulin.
A lot of cats will self regulate, but not all. Also, they can leave it too late and then their bg skyrockets as their life saving response kicks in and their body releases shed loads of glucose to get it up.Then takes some playing around to get kitty stable again. ECID (Every cat is different)
Good luck :mrgreen: