Sure. He does nothing but sleep (on me! so I know - cuz the dog is also with me and Mark so it's a full bed!) at night! It seems like his metabolism is such that he goes through the insulin faster at night for some reason. He's almost always high in the morning (ha) - higher than at the PMPS, anyway. There is only a single case in which his PMPS number was lower than his AMPS.Korynn, do you think you could possibly grab a mid cycle test one night? His morning numbers are somewhat unpredictable. It makes me wonder what's going on at night.
You might try feeding a slightly higher carb level at night to see if you can balance the numbers a bit that way.
Or, you might consider doing a slightly lower dose at night vs the morning dose - ProZinc can work fine that way, as well as on a sliding scale.
Yes and yes. We are getting shootable pmps at +13 AND pink amps at +11.Hmmmm. . Are you getting shootable pmps at regular times or +13? Are your pink amps numbers at +11?
As BJ says, you can give different doses - 0.3 on yellow preshots and 0.4 on pink.
He seems good. Just sitting on some clean clothes from the dryer (his fave). I think he wants dinner but we need to test his blood at 8:30 (PST). His numbers were so low today...we just never know!Hi, Korynn- How is Desi doing tonight?
Can you post his pre-shot # here for me when you test him?I think he wants dinner but we need to test his blood at 8:30 (PST). His numbers were so low today...we just never know!
Sure.Can you post his pre-shot # here for me when you test him?
Should I wait on dosing him (if it's over 200) on your input?Great! I'll be watching for it.![]()
201Even if he's over 200, my gut is saying you may want to reduce that dose a bit. Here's why: He was too low to shoot last night, then high this morning.
That tells me two things: He's probably bouncing and the dose is probably still a bit too high. Which syringes are you using (sorry, I've forgotten) - are they U40s or U100s?
Definitely can do the 0.2 but the mid-cycle test is harder to guarantee. I am horrible in the middle of the night in terms of functioning and need my sleep for work, but I could definitely commit to this over the weekend. (He sleeps on me, you'd think it would be easy but there is also my husband and our dog in the bed...it would not be fun.) If I happen to wake up to pee, I'll see what I can do.IF he makes it to about 200, I would prefer to see you shoot only 0.2U tonight. (So just half of what he got this morning.)
And would hope you could set an alarm and try for a mid-cycle test tonight. (If at all possible?)
ETA: Just noticed that "201" in your post above. (Goin' blind here)
Robin, yes, I did see it. 0.2 was so tiny!Korynn, did you see my above post on redux of the dose? Ha, We cross-posted. Will post separately on bouncing ...
Ha, tell me about it!Robin, yes, I did see it. 0.2 was so tiny!
I don't know why this concept is difficult for me to grasp but I think I have it. So when he goes low sometimes, his body reacts by releasing more glucose...and this is why his numbers seem to be going up at times, but really he's not overall? I would have to run a curve (or whatever that term is) or test more frequently to catch this?Bouncing occurs when the cat’s body perceives a drop that is below what has been occurring and releases extra glucose, resulting in an “artificial” rise in numbers. (See how low he dropped on today's cycle? Down to 70 at +9 after an AMPS of 427. That deep a drop kind of sets him up for a bounce - and I think he's been bouncing around already).
It can take several cycles or so for a bounce to clear. Not at all uncommon. @Sue and Oliver (GA) - Sue wisely tells ProZincers: "Cats can bounce ... until they don't."![]()
Yep, that's right.So when he goes low sometimes, his body reacts by releasing more glucose...
Well, it's always nice to run a curve every now and then anyway; helps you see more clearly how his body is processing the insulin throughout a cycle. (Although keep in mind, nothing is ever really "static" - things can change from cycle to cycle. But what you're always looking for is the general patterns, and these can really help with dosing decisions.)and this is why his numbers seem to be going up at times, but really he's not overall? I would have to run a curve (or whatever that term is) or test more frequently to catch this?
Also, we changed from 12/12 to 11/13 and then to 10/14 - should we switch back to 11/13? Or...what do you think? We were trying to get the two shootable numbers by switching but it's not working.Yep, that's right. Well, it's always nice to run a curve every now and then anyway; helps you see more clearly how his body is processing the insulin throughout a cycle. (Although keep in mind, nothing is ever really "static" - things can change from cycle to cycle. But what you're always looking for is the general patterns, and these can really help with dosing decisions.)
As for Desi's bouncing, from what I'm seeing when I look at his SS, I'd guess that he's been on the bounce for (possibly) the past week. What we're going for here are two shootable pre-shot #s, both morning & night. He wasn't shootable on the night of the 21st, nor last night. That's why I'm thinking the dose may be a little too high.
So am glad you did the redux tonight. We might want to try holding that little dose for a couple more cycles after this to see how he does.![]()
Which dosing schedule seems to work best for you?We were trying to get the two shootable numbers by switching but it's not working.
Yes, I do. It's certainly worth a shot to see if this helps him settle down some.Also, do you mean keep the dose tiny in the morning as well?
Planning on testing Desi mid-cycle tonight. Should we stick to 0.2 if it's around 200 still? Or go up to 0.3? Continuing the 11/13 for now.Yes! I think that 0.2 is good tonight! (Numbers were looking good today, too.)
OK, I'll do one before we go to bed and then one a few hours later...I hope!Hmmm...I think the mid cycle test will actually help us decide. That will tell us what Desi is doing overnight so we can see if an increase is warranted or not.![]()
Oh, Robin, I hope the antibiotics work fast! I will be around tonight.Sorry, I missed you, Korynn - but Rachel's advice here is spot-on.@Rachel - I may not be around much tonight; had to see doc about my right hand. Turns out I have a (spreading) staph infection in 3 fingers
(no clue how I got it, as I wash my hands ALL the time
), but had 2 shots & taking oral antibiotics for it now, too. Am feeling a bit puny. Hope you can maybe be around tonight?
Oh, thank you, Sue - I'm so glad to know that our Ace will around!Oh, Robin, I hope the antibiotics work fast! I will be around tonight.