? New thread for Baco

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ruby&Baco

Member Since 2016
Hi,

Made a new thread for Baco, because the other one was getting a bit long! haha:)
So here are the # again for this PM cycle:

PMPS: 218
+1: 232
+2: 202

She's nearly touching the blue #, so let's see what will happen tonight :cool:
I just ordered a baby scale for her, it should be her next week so I'm excited to weigh her and see if she has already lost some weight. I do see it, just looking at her, but maybe it's just in my mind. Although I can't imagin she hasn't lost some wait, this because she's eating only raw food...
 
Well you know Bobbie, every night I think by myself I have to sleep a little early tonight because I'm going to turn into a zombie if I don't go to sleep early. :banghead:
But every night I check her mostly until +5. So I think I will do that tonight.. (Maybe not because my +5 is at 1AM) So i'm not sure yet.. I'm not that tired right now and +5 is only 1.25hours away.. Sooo we will see..
 
Well you know Bobbie, every night I think by myself I have to sleep a little early tonight because I'm going to turn into a zombie if I don't go to sleep early. :banghead:
But every night I check her mostly until +5. So I think I will do that tonight.. (Maybe not because my +5 is at 1AM) So i'm not sure yet.. I'm not that tired right now and +5 is only 1.25hours away.. Sooo we will see..
Do what's best for you. You can always give a small snack of LC if you feel you need to before you head to bed.
 
Well she only gets LC food, and she still has food in her bowl so she doesn't need an extra snack, although she would LOVEEEE some MC food from Minnie :rolleyes:
 
G'night Ruby :) I just got my scale I ordered today. Its the one Robin linked in the other thread. I'm not one that enjoys scales but this one is soooo cool lol. Now if I could figure out how to black out the first reading (me) and skip straight to the second (cats) number! ;)
 
Amps 232! She's getting the hang of this 'nice numbers but not too low to shot' thing!
But what do you guys think? Is it an idea to give her 0.45 or 0.50 to hopefully get her numbers in the PS time lower? Also she's not giving me some green numbers yet during her cycles, look at her PM cycles. She's at the edge of going in to the green ones... But maybe I need to push it a little?
 
Hahahahahahahaha @Sarah Smith !!! you are TO funny....
That's why I didn't get one like that! wouldnt want to see my weight either hahahahaha:p
I got a baby scale, so I can let her sit on it and it weights just her ;)
 
Good Morning /Afternoon Ruby. Sorry no one could assist you this morning. I see you shot .40 which is probably safer to do since you can't test. I do understand your reasoning with wanting to push her into better numbers but always better to err on the side of caution when you can't monitor. If this is a bounce this morning, we'll take it! Overall, she and you are doing super!
 
Hi Bobbie. If she's in these numbers at PMPS I give her 0.50 because I can monitor, but during the day when I have to work I'm scared to give 0.50 so I go with 0.40 just to be safe.
Her morning dose is something I'm not going to touch for this next 2 weeks when I have to go to work. If she gives me yellows I give her 0.40.
If she gives me pink ones, I will give her 0.50 (AM cycles) but the PM cycles is something I give her a little bit more and I find that she give me good results when I use this methode...
But you don't think I (when I can monitor her, like always at PM cycles) should increase her dose a little with 0.55? or 0.60?
I don't find her bouncing right now...
 
Last edited:
should reduce her dose a little with 0.55? or 0.60?
I don't find her bouncing right now...
Did you mean increase her dose? If you can monitor her through her nadir during the PM cycles, you could certainly try the increase and see where she goes. However, if you get her into the greens at night, and she comes up into the blues for your AMPS you will have to come up with a dose to keep her safe while you are working.
 
I'm sorry Bobbie, yes I mean increase! I will edit it so others will not be confused!
Well, what should I do? try tonight if she gives me the same kind of # like the days before at PMPS try 0.55 instead of 0.50? I think maybe 0.10 increase will be a TOO big step and she would bounce again and we won't want that to happend do we?;)

However, if you get her into the greens at night, and she comes up into the blues for your AMPS you will have to come up with a dose to keep her safe while you are working.
Well that's also really true what you are saying but if I don't do something to get her in her greens, she will stick in these kind of cycles.... yellow pre shots and blue midcycle #...

And may that happen tomorrow morning, than I don't give her anything untill i'm home.. and then the weekend will start for me so THEN I can monitor her again... Maybe if I get blue PS # I can get advice from you all on her dose.
I can monitor from friday PMPS time untill sunday PMPS, so maybe it's a good idea to see what blue PS # will do while on a dose?
push the limit a little during the weekends?
 
PMPS try 0.55 instead of 0.50? I
I think I would try the .55 instead of the .50 because like you said, you don't want to make her bounce.
And may that happen tomorrow morning, than I don't give her anything untill i'm home.. and then the weekend will start for me so THEN I can monitor her again..
That would work too. Good thing we are coming up onto the weekend so you have more time with her to experiment some with the dose. ;)
 
Thanks Bobbie, will give her 0.55 today at PMPS (if her # are okay to give her insulin) I'm curious to see what her # will do tonight.
Yes, really good thing that the weekend is coming up! Also for me, i'm tired! I want some time for myself... (look at me, complaining although I'm going to be free for 3 weeks long in about 2 weeks time...):);)
 
Thanks Bobbie, will give her 0.55 today at PMPS (if her # are okay to give her insulin) I'm curious to see what her # will do tonight.
Yes, really good thing that the weekend is coming up! Also for me, i'm tired! I want some time for myself... (look at me, complaining although I'm going to be free for 3 weeks long in about 2 weeks time...):);)
And it is perfect timing for you to have that time off soon as this dance gets tiring.
 
What do you mean with 'this dance gets tiring' ? For me you mean? Or do you mean that she is showing that she is getting steady?
 
Also, remember that yellow preshots and blue nadirs aren't BAD. We think the pancreas tends to heal best when she is under...I want to say 250. I can't remember the number offhand. But if she is hanging in blues a lot during the day, she is getting some nice healing time in.
 
Just throwing this out there into the "idea pool" ... but once you're able to be home with her full-time (in between your old job and the new one), it just might be worth trying this: Pick a dose and hold it for about 3+ cycles to see what happens. The reason I mention this is that some cats' bodies seem to overreact to dose changes (that bouncy thing); others don't. Every cat's different!:rolleyes:;) So maybe once you're home with her for both cycles, you could try holding that 0.55 dose for several cycles (which may end up require some steering, but you know how we do that). This just might help get her numbers down into blue pre-shots & some good surfing more consistently.

Again, I only mention this idea because you've been adjusting the dose every cycle for the last 8 cycles. So it is conceivable that Baco is one of those kitties who may stop that bouncing around if the dose is held for several cycles in a row.
 
She probably will stay in her pink # untill pmps, maybe even go up to red like a few cycles before. Should I go with the 0.55 dose to bring her down? Or do you recommend another dose?
 
Ofcourse Robin. That was indeed my plan! But I'm not comfortable with giving her 0.50-0.55 when she's giving me amps 232 and i'm gone all day, so that's why I went with 0.40 every 'work' day.
 
Just throwing this out there into the "idea pool" ... but once you're able to be home with her full-time (in between your old job and the new one), it just might be worth trying this: Pick a dose and hold it for about 3+ cycles to see what happens. The reason I mention this is that some cats' bodies seem to overreact to dose changes (that bouncy thing); others don't. Every cat's different!:rolleyes:;) So maybe once you're home with her for both cycles, you could try holding that 0.55 dose for several cycles (which may end up require some steering, but you know how we do that). This just might help get her numbers down into blue pre-shots & some good surfing more consistently.

Again, I only mention this idea because you've been adjusting the dose every cycle for the last 8 cycles. So it is conceivable that Baco is one of those kitties who may stop that bouncing around if the dose is held for several cycles in a row.

Holding the dose when Ruby is home between jobs is a very good idea.
 
But I'm not comfortable with giving her 0.50-0.55 when she's giving me amps 232 and i'm gone all day, so that's why I went with 0.40 every 'work' day.
Oh, I totally agree; is always better to make sure she's safe when you're not there to monitor her, to be sure!:) (You're doing great, Ruby.:bighug:)
 
+10.5 -412..
should I give her her shot earlier today so I can bring her down?
I'm talking about 1,5 hours earlier than I was planning..
 
well but now it doesn't matter, because now it's almost 1 hour in between so I'm going to test her now and feed en shot her.

But for in the future, if she's this high in # and climing really fast, than it wouldn't be a problem to give her a shot earlier right?
 
btw 0.55 is a really sh*tty dose to give! on the U40 it's almost impossible and the U100 is really too tiny those lines..
I used the U100 to be clear, but I hope I can go back to 0.50 or 0.60...

Baco was really asking for her dose! She was looking at me the whole time and talking to me. And when I got up to the fridge and got the syringe, she jumped on the sofa (what is her place to get her shot) and went straight to it and sit in place for her dose...
And they say cats are dumb??? hahaha SHE KNOWSSSSSS HER DRUGSSS BABY ahahahha;)
 
I think kitties know we are making them feel better. Heck, my semi feral Elektra starting coming to me the last few days to get her AB. I think she knew it made her feel better.

Remember that since you gave the dose early, you need to check her 12 hours from the dose. You can slowly work your way back to the regular time if you need to, but I wouldn't want to wait until normal time since that would be at +13 (if I'm doing the math right).
 
What does AB stand for? I gues insulin right, she wanted to get her shot is what you mean?
hahaha soo funny! I think they know for sure. Because when she has better lower # at PS time, she doesn't come to me, but when she's high like tonight she will come running to me!

I know! But the time I gave her her dose, is normally the time when I come out of bed when I have to go to work. so it's not a problem!
 
Baco just had her +3 and made a big drop between +2 (335) and +3 (214) is this the insulin you think or is this her pancreas? She doesn't make these kind of drops often, so that's why i'm asking!
 
Baco just had her +3 and made a big drop between +2 (335) and +3 (214) is this the insulin you think or is this her pancreas? She doesn't make these kind of drops often, so that's why i'm asking!
My guess would be the insulin, as you've increased the dose somewhat. (But that is not to say that her pancreas is not doing some of the work, too.)
 
Thanks! Curious to see her +4.
About tomorrow.... What should I do considering the fact that I increased her dose tonight... Should I still stick to the 0.40 when i'm at work?
 
I know. I already thought about that.... Well then at least I can go with a 0.50 at AMPS!
So the am and pm shot are not going to be so different from eachother.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top