New start for Loki

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all at Loki's +6 he is at 299, awaiting you thoughts, he is hungry and I went to Petco and could not find the Benito snacks. Also he turned his nose up to the chicken treats I made yesterday.
 
He's probably coming down from a little bounce.

I know tonights shot is going to be late but if you could try to get 2 tests before the shot to make sure he is rising and not falling, maybe 30 minutes apart that would be great.

I used to have 1 night every week that I had to shoot late and never had a problem.
 
Of course you can give him food. We usually try not to feed them about 2 hours before the AMPS & PMPS so we get a true bg reading.
 
Yes, you can feed any time day or night, except for the two hours leading up to the preshot tests. Because food will cause a fairly quick rise in BG, you want to make sure those tests are "food free" fasting BGs. If you just keep track of when he eats during a cycle, it'll make the numbers make sense. That way when you see a small rise in the first half of a cycle, you can think "oh yeah, I gave him a snack just before that reading".

Carl
 
And to expand on what Carl said you can keep track of those feeding and snacks in the comments section of the spreadsheet. That way we can see it too.
 
Not bad. So we can't know yet whether today was a little high and sorta flat because of a bounce from yesterday's lows or whether his next cycle will be the same. Once we see which, you'll know whether the one unit is a good dose or whether you'll need to add a little more insulin.

It's all about gathering the data. You and Loki are doing great. Hope you can find a treat he loves.
 
Thanks Sue I just ordered some of the ones you mentioned from Amazon, they should be here Tues. I think this is going well so far I think. I cannot believe my level of confidence since I posted when I was at the end of my rope with this. And for some reason Loki is much happier too. Thanks will update in the AM. :-D
 
Good morning all
OK no panic at least not yet but Loki AMPS was at 452. I may have had to go up 1/2 unit but did not feel it was time yet, as previously discussed to wait a couple of days for his levels to clear out of his pancreas. Gave him 1 unit. Updated SS also. Am I right in doing his recheck at +6 ? Or should it be done sooner?
Thanks,
Michele
 
I'd get a +6 and if he is still running high, I'd go up .5 units tonight (assuming you get a 300-400 preshot number). Then if you possibly can, get a +3 after your pm shot - just to see how he is headed.

The higher numbers numbers are worrisome, just like the lower ones. Just try to think of this process as data gathering. Once you have the data, you change something and get more data on that change.

One thing to add to your information gathering is a ketone(urine) test. Have you done those?
 
No keytone test yet, just got the strips yesterday, will do today if I can with him or tomorrow. Will for sure do a +6 today.
I will re post right after and see what you guys think.
 
Loki's PMPS are at 387 tonight, should I go up to 1 1/2 unit tonight then? Hope you guys are on. And can you tell anything from yesterday and today #'s ? Thanks
 
I think you could, if you can get at least a test in before bed. He's stil a long way from the 3 units that really made him drop.

He is still on all wet low carb, right?
 
I agree, yesterdays high flat cycle was probably part bounce from the greens.

I might be a bit more conservative and try 1.25 unit, only because it's night time.
 
Oh yes Sue he still is on low carb food, what I did was copy the list here of foods we can find at supermarkets because the vet's food was way too expensive and he would not eat it at all, he is now doing well with out dry food also. Ok off to give him 1 1/2 units and retest before bed.
Thanks again.
 
It's 322 at +3 from his last shot.
He is hungry again but will feed in AM.
Thanks again for today, see you all tomorrow I hope. Just wondering how many days or how long before we have an idea of what is going to work for Loki. I hope we can get to some kind of answer at some point. :YMSIGH:
 
Eventually it will be more clear. :dizcat

If he is hungry now, you could leave him some food out for overnight. Until they are regulated, they do need more food because they don't process the food well.
 
Thanks Sue for getting back to me, sure I can leave him some food for now and if it makes him feel better than I am all for it.
Will update tomorrow morning again. I so appreciate you hanging with me and Loki.
 
Day 3 I think
Good morning,
Loki at 222 AMPS, going to feed him then recheck in 1 half hr because I am nervous giving him anything at all so close to 200. Is this right? Or do I just give him 1 unit anyway?
Thanks
 
~O) Morning, very nice AMPS.

If you have fed him retesting won't be accurate because of the food.

1 unit should be fine for a bg of 222.

Are you going to be around today? If so can you get a test at +3, +6 & +9 or somewhere around there so we can see how he reacts to 1 unit.
 
K here we go just rechecked Loki and he is at 205, seems he should be going up since he ate and no shot yet? and yet more confused_cat here again.
Will hold off till I hear from you guys 205 is way to close to 200 for my comfort level right now.
Thanks
 
I don't blame you. You can wait until he is on the rise again.

That's why I wanted you to do a mini curve on the 1 unit today, so we can see how the cycle playes out for future reference. The more data you can collect will give you the knowledge and confidence to know what to expect from any given dose on the PS you get.

I'm going out for a few hours in about 30 minutes but will stay tuned on my phone, I just can't type very well on it, old eyes.
 
I hate to see you skip completely because we'll be back in that cycle of highs. Next time, don't feed (I know it's hard to listen to the whining) and retest in 20 minutes. That way you'd know if he was sure headed up and over 200 and you could shoot - even if you wanted to reduce the dose. (food raises sugar levels so once the food is in the equation, the numbers are influenced by it)

It's hard to know where we are this morning. There is a 20% variance in every meter (even for human readings) so we figure readings within 20% are virtually the same. We are cautious when applying this idea on lower numbers and considering whether to shoot, but it is stilla consideration.

What is your day like and would shooting an hour or so late completely mess up your schedule? (if you'd do that, you'd need to wait 12 hours from that shot before shooting again.)
 
Ok to answer Sue 30 minutes first # was 222, fed him and then 30 minutes later got 205 which seemed strange should be going up no?
To answer Bob I should be able to do the +3 and so on today. Also trying to get a urine for check.
 
I would hate to see her skip too. I think shooting late is a better option and then get back on schedule later.

I would shoot once he's on the rise again. Maybe a more reduced dose depending on how long it takes to rise.
 
Ok help me here, should I shoot now and how much? 1 unit? Picture me pacing back and forth while I wait LOL pc_work


I just rechecked and he is at 285 so I gave him 1 unit, will recheck at +3 and +6 from this doze is that right? Oh boy I hope I did the right thing.
 
When you saw the 205, the food hadn't hit his system yet. The 285 was the food starting to show up. 1u should be fine if over 200, provided you are around to test in the mid-cycle between +3 and +5 or so. That way if you see a big drop, you can give him food to slow things down.
Carl
 
Your instincts were good, Michelle. See, you are getting the hang of this. I think his numbers have been very encouraging since you dropped the dose and the dry food. :RAHCAT
 
That sounds fine. Looks like a flat cycle but in nice numbers. The one unit was probably not quite enough to get that smile curve, but you want him to stay safe. The 1.5 almost gave you a nice shootable number this am - just a little tiny bit too low. Maybe Robin's 1.25 is a good choice tonight if he is in the 300 range.
 
You can eyeball it if you have good eyesight. (Halfway between one unit and 1.5) It isn't exact but should work. Not a dumb question - the only dumb questions are the ones you don't ask. I should have given you the info first. We get so we write in shorthand and forget who knows what.

If you decide you may need to dose in smaller increments, you will eventually need U100 needles and the conversion chart: Conversion chart You can dose U40 insulin - which ProZinc is - with U100 needles and the conversion chart when you want to dose in smaller doses. Lots of people here give .1. .2, .4 units when the kitty is close to remission. If you decide to go that route, ask for advice on buying needles.
 
I have some 100 needles left over brand new from my dear father in law before he passed away last Sept. also found a chart on here so with the 100 needles I would give 3.1 according to the Pets with diabetes chart. Did I read it right?
 
Actually since you shot at +15 the 224 is your +4 so you still have time for a nicer curve, I bet he see's a blue.

The + clock starts over when you shoot and continues until you shoot again.

If you are eyeballing doses with U40 syringes you would draw the insulin just over the 1 unit line but not as far as the half way mark. You could measure it out and mark where it would be on a sample syringe and use that to measure against. You could also get the U100 syringes with the half unit markings AND USE THE CONVERSION CHART. The U100 syringes makes it so much easier to measure small doses.
 
Hi Rob, just looked and I do not see a half on them, the numbers are different too, they go from 10 to 100 units but with marks in between. Goodness I hope you can see what I mean by the way I explained it. Also his +6 would be then 2 hrs later than the 224 one then? :dizcat
 
I know what syringes you have and you can't microdose with those. The doses would be too small to measure.

Do you like short or long needles? I'll give you all the info for the right syringes depending on the needle length.

Yep your +6 will be 2 hours after the 224.

You will probably want to plan to shoot early tonight to start getting back on schedule.
 
You can't shoot at your regular time. You will have to shoot later, closer to 12 hours after the time you shot this morning.

The Walmart Relion U100 syringes with the short needle and half unit markings are 3/10 ml capacity up to 30 units, gauge 31, upc code is 6 81131 31179 3. Before taking the syringes look at them to make sure they have the half unit marks. The unit marks will be on the right of the line and the half unit marks will be on the left. If you get the wrong ones you can't return them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top