Our cat was diagnosed on 8/9/17. After a few days of noticing excess thirst and finding puddles of urine around the house we took him in to the vet and his BG was 535. He was also diagnosed with a UTI and got a course of antibiotics at that time. No ketones noted at that time. Here is the timeline after that:
-Prozinc, 1 unit 2x daily which we started on 8/11/17.
-Symptoms initially improved but worsened by 8/19 with excess thirst, peeing. Discussed w/vet by email, Prozinc was increased to 2 units 2x daily on 8/21
-Symptoms improved again for about a week and then returned. Vet said to increase to 3 units 2x daily- 8/28
-Symptoms improved again for about 10 days and then returned. Vet said to increase to 4 units 2x daily- 9/14
- Of note, no glucose testing was done during this period
During this stressful process we became pretty worried about hypoglycemia and also wanted to look into other options for control, such as diet. We have asked our vet about diet control as well as home testing but she has not been as supportive as hoped. Our cat has always been free fed dry food but we realize now after doing our own research that he needs to be switched to wet food on a schedule. As we had already started insulin though we have started home testing so that we can safely make the switch to wet food. So, I have a few questions now that we have our first spreadsheet data.
1. It seems that our numbers fluctuate quite dramatically over the course of the day. Is he on too much Prozinc? The drop to the 30s was scary mid-day but he was completely asymptomatic. Do we need to try a different insulin? Or should we make the diet changes first and see how he does with Prozinc?
2. Re: making the switch to wet food. Our cat has always been free fed dry food so we don't know how he will take to wet food. Should we first try mixing wet and dry or should we try to make the change to wet cold turkey and see how he likes it? I know this will also depend on how he likes the wet food but I would love advice on how to actually start the change. Also, should we try to get him on more of a schedule of eating twice daily rather than being free fed before we even introduce the wet food?
This has all been really stressful, especially with two very young children at home. We are financially stretched quite thin with these added expenses. We are trying to give this a really good shot to get things under control but we are at our wits end! Any advice would be much appreciated!
-Prozinc, 1 unit 2x daily which we started on 8/11/17.
-Symptoms initially improved but worsened by 8/19 with excess thirst, peeing. Discussed w/vet by email, Prozinc was increased to 2 units 2x daily on 8/21
-Symptoms improved again for about a week and then returned. Vet said to increase to 3 units 2x daily- 8/28
-Symptoms improved again for about 10 days and then returned. Vet said to increase to 4 units 2x daily- 9/14
- Of note, no glucose testing was done during this period
During this stressful process we became pretty worried about hypoglycemia and also wanted to look into other options for control, such as diet. We have asked our vet about diet control as well as home testing but she has not been as supportive as hoped. Our cat has always been free fed dry food but we realize now after doing our own research that he needs to be switched to wet food on a schedule. As we had already started insulin though we have started home testing so that we can safely make the switch to wet food. So, I have a few questions now that we have our first spreadsheet data.
1. It seems that our numbers fluctuate quite dramatically over the course of the day. Is he on too much Prozinc? The drop to the 30s was scary mid-day but he was completely asymptomatic. Do we need to try a different insulin? Or should we make the diet changes first and see how he does with Prozinc?
2. Re: making the switch to wet food. Our cat has always been free fed dry food so we don't know how he will take to wet food. Should we first try mixing wet and dry or should we try to make the change to wet cold turkey and see how he likes it? I know this will also depend on how he likes the wet food but I would love advice on how to actually start the change. Also, should we try to get him on more of a schedule of eating twice daily rather than being free fed before we even introduce the wet food?
This has all been really stressful, especially with two very young children at home. We are financially stretched quite thin with these added expenses. We are trying to give this a really good shot to get things under control but we are at our wits end! Any advice would be much appreciated!
