New; Scared, Not sure what to do!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moosmommy

Member Since 2012
I am new here, and obviously new to feline diabetes. My cat Moo is about 8 years old. Sept 2011 he was my happy fat cat at 20 lbs! This summer I started to notice he had been/was losing a lot of weight and I was changing the litter box A LOT! So this Oct when I took him in to get his rabies test I realized he was a mere 10 lbs. Normal for any cat... Not for him. His spine was sticking out and very bumpy to pet. He just looked sickly. I told the vet he was drinking A LOT and peeing A LOT and demanding food A LOT. After blood tests yesterday, the results came today. Diabetic. I saw it coming after my research online, but now that it's here. I dont know WHAT to do. I am very very financially strapped. I cant even pay my every day bills, so saying I live paycheck to paycheck is generous. I am hoping he regulates quickly. I have to talk more to the vet tomorrow as today's call came from a relief weekend vet. I don't quite know where we stand or where we go or what to do. I know she said normal #s are 100's and he was in the 600's.
Can anyone fill me in on what I should / need to do? Where can I get cheap supplies.
Which is the cheapest way to do things. Any suggestions.
I can't imagine losing my baby but the thought of all this $ is scaring the crap out of me.

Thanks for reading.
Annie & Moo
 
I'm so sorry you're going through this! I'm a newbie, too, and pretty freaked out myself. But I'm just telling myself to take it a day at a time, that mistakes are OK, and that our critters are resiliant.

Things you can do right now:
(1) Check out one of the sticky threads about free glucose test kits (here's the link: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=60261 ). This will be able to at least get you started with home testing, which is important so that you have a sense of how your cat is doing on a regular basis.

(2) When you talk to your vet tomorrow, ask about the possibility of donated supplies. My cat got started on a great insulin (lantus) and my vet actually gave me a free month's supply, which was great, given how large my vet bills already were. If there's not the possibility of donated supplies there, read the thread about the great group "Diabetic Cats in Need" (here's the link: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=29083 ) which may be able to help.

(3) Since your cat isn't yet on insulin, you can start him on low carb, canned wet food. (It gets trickier to start once they're already on insulin, since food can have an impact on blood glucose readings.) My cat is on Fancy Feast classic style which is quite diabetic friendly and cost about $13 for 24 cans at Walmart. Since I don't really have any good treats right now, I also boiled a chicken breast and she's getting bits of that as her treat. Low carb food can go a ways in helping treat your cat. (Here's one resource for food: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=12846)

(4) Mostly, though, you can read up and prepare for your vet visit tomorrow. Read parts of the site (though don't overdo it; there is a TON of information on here!), ask questions, get a list of questions to ask the vet. Perhaps start here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/newdiag.htm and then here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/dummies.htm

I've only been here for a day but I've been amazed at how friendly and knowledgeable people here are. Your being here is a great first step and while there are many more steps to go to get Moo to a healthier state, I know you can do it. :smile:
 
This is my second go around on this board and it is very helpful and the people are very knowledgable. Low carb wet food is a great start and as for treats there are some freeze dried treats out there. The first time I was here I was in the same place as you scared and over whelmed the vet was giving me advice that didn't sound right to me telling me it was OK to shoot with out testing. This board helped me live with a diabetic cat without going broke or going insane :) don't be afraid to ask questions and learn from the "older" members
 
Thanks for the replies. Looks like I am with good company.
I am overwhelmed with all of the information I am getting and finding. Ack!
I am interested in the free tester or whatever. I tried to go to that 'link?' and I couldn't get it to work. But I am new to this and could be doing this wrong?
Thanks again!
 
Scroll to the top of the forum page and there is a small picture that says home testing kits Need One? Donation? click oon that and follow the instructions there. Hope this helps and good luck with your journey
 
Yeah, sorry about that! I edited my response after posting those links and I think they somehow went away. j_o has the instructions for how to get the testing supplies (but here's the link, just in case: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=60261 ), and then the link to information about the Diabetic Cats in Need group is here: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=29083

Good luck, and be sure to ask whatever questions you've got - the folks on this board are really great and have years and years of experience with diabetic cats.
 
Thanks so much! I have sent Rebecca an email to make sure this is still an option.
I hate doing all this, but I guess it could be worse and from what I hear from friends and others... there are MANY more happy years with Moo with diabetes!
 
Just in case you haven't read this ..
www.catinfo.org
All the issues about diet are here.

I made a shortcut shopping list that is really helpful for newbies.

updated shopping list

The diet change is very likely to drop your kitties bg number by as much as 100 right away.
Its good to change the diet before starting lantus if you are able. Some vets will start cats on too high a dose.
Come post over in Tight Regulation Lantus forum. Ask questions. It doesn't matter if you aren't doing the tight regulation. Everyone is welcome there.
When you need help, this forum is the most active one here and there are many eyes there to help when you need it. We are all friendly there.
I'll have to look up which walmart meter has the cheapest strips. ( I don't have that one)

My cat was on Lantus for 100 days before going Off the Juice and we are currently enjoying remission status.
 
Thanks so much. I am hoping I can get him into remission quick as well. However, I am not sure how long he has been diabetic. He has been losing weight since sometime between now and last Sept. And for the last few months been peeing and drinking alot.
Does the length of time he had it before I got it diagnosed determine the possibility or length of time on insulin before healthy again?
I know some cats never end up in remission right?
 
Our most used phrase around here is Each Cat is Different. (ECID)
There are many factors that cause the diabetes but the food issue is key.
My cat is still a diabetic even though she is in remission. She is now a diet controlled diabetic. An illness, infection, certain medications
like steroids, all could bring the diabetes back and we'd be back on insulin but the earlier I catch it, the better our chances of going back
to remission.

If your first symptoms of peeing more, drinking more, just started in September ( 2012) then , I believe you have an excellent chance
at remission too. The earlier it is caught, the earlier you start treatment, the change in diet, all play a role. But there are no guarantees.
And there are some cats that go on insulin and take longer than others but still make it to remission. It really is an individual situation.
And the best part of all is here you will be surrounded by others in the same situation who very much want to share and help.
This is the best place you can be given the circumstances.

I do know for meter and strips, the most popular and cheapest and most reliable is at Walmart.
ReliOn Prime and the strips are $9 for 50

Learning everything to do is a steep learning curve but with everyone's help , it's not so hard.
Ask questions , even if you still need clarification of something, keep asking.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top