New PZI User-Trying to Regulate Dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lyndsey & Mittens

Member Since 2013
Hi All-
Misty1477 had advised that I should post here where all the experienced PZI users hang out...so here I am :cool:

My sugarkitty Mittens was diagnosed with diabetes and put on PZI a week ago...3u was what was initially prescribed by the vet. That was way too high of a dose, so I dropped it down to 1u, but that only allowed me to get one shot in a day (PMPS was under 200).

So now, i'm starting off on .75 to see how he does with that-I started him on that dose last night. AMPS this AM was 395 (but that could have been due to me having a hungry & very upset kitty this morning). I just took a +4.5, and its dropped to 250 (yay). I'll be out of the house this afternoon, but I should be able to get a +5.5 in before I leave (and will post the number when I get it), and I should be able to do a +4, +6, +8 on him tomorrow.

Am I on the right track here?
 
Hi Lindsey,

Good to see you here! I replied to your thread on Health also. This is a good place to ask about dosing as everyone here is experienced with your insulin. It is a much smaller forum than Health so be patient getting replies. If you ever have an emergency, post on Health where there will be more eyes.

I think you are on the right track. Some cats seem to take a few cycles to settle into a new dose. Hopefully the new dose will let you shoot twice daily, which is best. As I suggested on Health, try to get some midcycle numbers to see where her nadir seems to be - you thought it was later, around +8?

What are you feeding? How many carbs? all wet? Low carb snacks?
 
Yes-ill be getting a +4, 6, 8 & maybe 10 tomorrow-getting ready to leave for my nephews birthday party so I won't be home this afternoon, but I'm taking one last reading before I leave. I'm feeding mittens LC FF, he eats approx 3-4 cans /day (he's a big guy at 16.6 pounds). No treats yet, I can't seem to find any LC ones that he will eat-I've tried the freeze dried chicken and he spits those right back out & gives me a look that says "do you expect me to eat that?!?" Lol...
He does like chicken though, so per the advise of other users I'm going to try boiling a piece & see if he likes those.

He's at 172 @ +6
 
Luckily, the boyfriend was home at +10 & was able to do a test for me-his BG was 126. Unfortunately, no shot tonight-PMPS was 150! Guess I'll drop the AM dose tomorrow to .5...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top