New PZI user: how long to expect results?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SamsonsMom

Member Since 2017
Hi, I've been dosing my newly diagnosed cat for just a few days, but his BG is still lingering in the 300s :( (see his chart in my sig) I think I'm doing the shots right and haven't noticed any liquid on his fur that would indicated a missed shot. Within what time frame can I expect to see lower numbers? Thanks!

ETA: 1 unit PZI twice daily
 
Short answer? Don't know. Every Cat Is Different - ECID and Samson is the Cat In Charge CIC. And if he is like my Jonesy - he isn't telling you when things will be happening but tells you what is happening when you home test. That is why it is the best tool you have to keep him safe and be able to help him.


What protocol are you using? SLGS or TR?

I see that you are home testing - high five! I am going to suggest to always get a pre shot test in before giving insulin. Test/Feed/Shoot and repeat. Samson maybe low already. Also, if you can get a +2 in the evening cycle - it will help tell you if it may be an active cycle or not - which means if the Samson is working the juice and is going to go lower. Without the tests, you will not know how low the insulin is taking him.

Be patient - I know it is hard and there is times that I don't follow my own advice.
 
Hi, I don't know what SLGS or TR is. :) I have been testing his BG once in the morning and once in the evening.
 
Hi, I've been dosing my newly diagnosed cat for just a few days, but his BG is still lingering in the 300s :( (see his chart in my sig) I think I'm doing the shots right and haven't noticed any liquid on his fur that would indicated a missed shot. Within what time frame can I expect to see lower numbers? Thanks!

ETA: 1 unit PZI twice daily
Very early days and at this point you're starting on a safe low dose to get a feel for the insulin. I recommend that you read the yellow ProZinc stickies at the top of this forum's thread list to learn more about how it works. It takes time to find the good dose range for this point in time. Notice I said "range" because the actual good dose can fluctuate a bit. Also note I said "this point in time" because the good dose range can shift up and down over time. Insulin is not a "set and forget" therapy because it's a hormone that influences a variety of complex physiologic processes.

Here's how to approach finding the good dose range:
  1. test every day AM and PM before feeding and injecting (no food at least 2 hours before) to see if the planned dose is safe
  2. test at least once near mid cycle or at bedtime daily to see how low the BG goes
  3. do extra tests on days off to fill in the response picture
  4. if indicated by consistently high numbers on your SS, increase the dose by no more than 0.25 u at a time so you don't accidentally go right past a good dose
  5. post here for advice whenever you're confused or unsure of what to do.
Congratulations on home testing! It's the best thing you can do to keep Samson safe. :)
 
Last edited:
Hi, I've been dosing my newly diagnosed cat for just a few days, but his BG is still lingering in the 300s :( (see his chart in my sig) I think I'm doing the shots right and haven't noticed any liquid on his fur that would indicated a missed shot. Within what time frame can I expect to see lower numbers? Thanks!

ETA: 1 unit PZI twice daily
Took my cat about three months to consistantly get out of pinks.
 
Hi, I don't know what SLGS or TR is. :) I have been testing his BG once in the morning and once in the evening.
Try to get more mid cycle numbers... That's where you should be looking to see how low it goes. Your insulin should hit it's low point 5-7 hours past the shot.
 
Yep, Kris has given you great advice. Testing will help you figure this out (which you area already doing...good for you!) and really besides that, you just need time. :) Let us know what other questions you have!
 
I just saw all these responses. Thanks SO much! :) The first day of shots, Samson dipped into the 200s, so I was very heartened. But since then he's been around 300/350. I'll give it some more time (it's only day 4). Thanks for the encouragement! His ear is already "giving up" blood more easily and I've been rewarding him with freeze-dried liver :)
 
That's great that tests are getting easier! You'll be able to get him onto a helpful dose much more easily once you're getting those AM and PM pre-shots tests, and some mid-cycles tests whenever possible. Fingers crossed the testing just keeps getting better!
 
Thanks Djamila. This is something I'm confused about - am I supposed to adjust (increase?) the dose if his numbers don't get better? If so, how long am I supposed to wait before adjusting his dose?
 
That is a very complicated question! First, I would strongly recommend that you read the yellow "Sticky" posts at the top of the prozinc forum. They will give you the background information you need to manage FD well. The better educated you are about this, the safer you can keep Samson.

Now to your question: yes, the dose does get adjusted over time, but you shouldn't do it yet, and you shouldn't do it alone. Dose changes should only be done either with your vet, or with advice from people here who have been doing this for awhile. Dose changes are a little complicated, especially at first.

Before considering any change, you need to be getting AM and PM pre-shot tests every day, and you'll need some mid-cycle tests. Prozinc usually hits nadir (the lowest point) around +5 or +7 (five to seven hours after the dose). However, every cat is different, so until you are able to get some tests mid-cycle, we can't be sure when Samson hits nadir.

Prozinc is dosed based on the pre-shot test numbers and the nadir, and factoring in the drop between those two numbers. Then when you have enough data and it's determined that a change needs to be made, we recommend changing by no more than 0.25u at a time.

Please don't be overwhelmed by all of that. That's why we're all here to help each other.

So for right now, just keep working on getting those AM/PM tests, and a mid-cycle whenever you can. Then in a couple of days we can look at your data and see what's next. And between now and then you can keep reading the stickies, look at our spreadsheets, read the different threads, and ask all of your questions!
 
I will! I wasn't able to get a test this morning...I lanced poor Samson like 6 times and couldn't get any blood. I couldn't keep torturing him so I gave up. Then just now I got a big drop of blood with almost no effort...?
 
I will! I wasn't able to get a test this morning...I lanced poor Samson like 6 times and couldn't get any blood. I couldn't keep torturing him so I gave up. Then just now I got a big drop of blood with almost no effort...?
Patience and practice will get you there. Are you warming his ear well first?
 
Yes, I try rubbing it with my hand or with the heated-up sock of rice but often he just gets annoyed and squirms away.
 
I will! I wasn't able to get a test this morning...I lanced poor Samson like 6 times and couldn't get any blood. I couldn't keep torturing him so I gave up. Then just now I got a big drop of blood with almost no effort...?
There is a vein in the ear that will flow freely if you hit it, and other spots that are super stingy. I either hit the vein or get nothing at all for 3 or 4 tries. Lol. Frank has white ears, so at the beginning of testing they were so bruised, but now I'm getting little to no bruising....just occasional spots of dred blood that wipe right off with a bit of water, leaving his ears pretty and white again.
 
While some use the marginal vein when starting home testing, try not to make a habit of it. Poking the actual vein can be more painful for kitties. As you get better blood from the sweet spot (area between outer ear and marginal vein) the ears will grow more capillaries. We call this "learning to bleed" :). Always firmly hold the poke spot for as long as you can, like 10 seconds, and longer when you hit the vein. Stops bleeding, aids in healing, and reducing bruising :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top