New : Purna on Prozinc

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Melissa-Purna, Oct 7, 2020.

1. Melissa-Purna

Melissa-Purna New Member

Last edited: Oct 10, 2020
    Reason for edit: Upload SS file
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  2. Deb & Wink

Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

Not everyone has Excel on their computer. It's why we ask people to use our standardized SS, setup on Google and link it to your User Id Signature.

Info on how to do that and so much more is here:
    Sticky New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

Melissa-Purna likes this.
  3. Hercule's mum

Hercule's mum Well-Known Member

Hi Melissa,

Welcome to the forum! I am no expert but was just curious and had a peek at your spreadsheet, and it looks a bit different from other folks in here. The bright green column caught my eye, because if that was a Bg meassure it would be a warning that Purn is geeting too low. However, I then saw the column labelled as "units". Are you giving insulin more than twice a day?

4. Shelley & Jess

Shelley & Jess Member

Hi.

How was Purna diagnosed? What were his numbers at the time of dx? Were you feeding dry food before dx? Any steroids given? Any infection treated?
    3 units is an awful high starting dose for a newly diagnosed kitty - unless there's a known high dose condition we recommend a starting dose of 0.5 to 1.0 units and increasing slowly so you don't bypass the best dose.

What indicated he was getting visibly sicker when you started out?
    Was this through observation only? Do you have any BG readings or vet curves from when you were dosing twice a day that you can share with us?

I'm a little bit scared too but by the combination of things. The amount of the dose, the sliding scale and dosing 3 times a day.
    This dosing plan is quite different than the FDMB protocols.

We can help. Are you willing to give us a chance?
    It'll take time. Regulation doesn't happen overnight.