New, probable diabetic cat

Status
Not open for further replies.

tallmomof2

Member Since 2014
Hi,

My name is Rita and my cat's name is Jeri. Jeri is a 13yo gray & white DSH. A year ago during an annual physical Jeri's BG came back at 350. I was currently feeding her Before Grains DRY food under the mistaken impression that is was low carb. Jeri had lost 1/3 of her body weight after changing to it. Since she was very obese before, I welcomed the weight loss. When the BG came back so high, I did some research and switch to the Fancy Feast Classics. Within a few weeks she was no longer drinking lots of water and was visibly feeling better.

In the last few weeks Jeri started drinking a bit more water and was getting cranky. I found out about a different vet that only treats cats so I made an appointment with her for this past Wednesday. I never cared too much for the old vet practice but it was 1/4 mi from the house and I felt it was adequate. I really like this new vet. They didn't have to sedate Jeri to examine her. Sure they had to do the burrito wrap with the thick padded gloves and it took 2 people to hold her down while the vet took blood. I had to leave Jeri there for a few hours because the vet wanted a urine specimen. But on the way home, Jeri was chill. Only chirped once when I started up the car and was pretty relaxed on the way home.

The BG came back over 400 and Jeri was spilling glucose but not ketones in her urine. The vet I decided to do the cat version of the 1AC. I'm sure I'll get those results tomorrow.

I expect that I will be starting Jeri on insulin very soon.

Also Jeri is asthmatic but I don't give the pred especially now with the high BG. During tree pollen season she gets Flovent twice a day. I use a special spacer with a cat sized mask to give her her 2 puffs. I've done it for 5 or 6 years and she still hates it. If she's wheezing badly then I use the Xopenex (or Albutero) inhaler. Since I already have an asthmatic human in the house I have plenty of Xopenex but he doesn't use the Flovent which is a bit pricey but I only need one inhaler a year.

I hope that she learns to tolerate the BG monitoring and the shots as she doesn't do great with the inhalers. Plus, she has never liked any cat treat. I might be able to treat her with a tiny piece of cheese as she kind of likes that.

I'll keep reading and educating myself so I can take care of my kitty.
 
Welcome Jeri and Rita. You were right to switch to all canned like FF.
The test the vet is talking about is likely the fructosamine test, it averages the the BG over the last two weeks. However the values are not directly comparable to blood glucose readings. A fructosamine of 350 indicates good blood sugar control for a diabetic. but a BG of 350 (USA value) is high.
Do you plan to home test Jeri's BG? Almost all of us here do.
 
When a diabetic cat has another condition to be treated, we do that and adjust the insulin dose around the effects of that treatment.

We recommend home testing to ensure your cat stays safe. We suggest using an inexpensive human glucometer with pet-specific reference numbers. One many of us use is the WalMart Relion Confirm, or Confirm Micro, which is also sold at American Diabetes Wholesale as as the Arkray USA Glucocard 01 or 01 Mini (same manufacturer - Arkray USA). It uses a tiny blood droplet and the cost is significantly lower for test strips (like $0.36 each).

Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top