Dragonfly229
Member Since 2012
I'm the Newbie Teresa was talking about
Here is our information from the Feline Health board . . .
I'm new to posting, but I've been reading your forum since Linus was diagnosed last month. I have just built a Google spreadsheet with all his numbers and will try to attach it to my signature. He is on ProZinc, currently 3 units, and his numbers are pretty much all over the place. The one thing I do notice is that he will sometimes be much lower pre-shot, as if the insulin takes 10-12 hours to kick in. He then goes right back up within an hour or two. It's hard to give that shot at the low numbers, I keep telling myself that I know he will go back up, and when he does he will need it. From what I've read, ProZinc has no residual, once it's gone, it's gone, and if I didn't give the shot earlier, it's that much longer until the next dose starts working. Is that essentially correct?
I have been testing Linus for a little under a month. How long will it take before his glucose levels will be somewhat more predictable? I plan to try to be around home to get a new curve tomorrow, the last one I did he stayed over 400 all day long before dropping to 265 at +10. I would like to see a real curve instead of all these spikes.
As far as food, we've switched from Nutro dry to all canned, primarily Merrick and Sophisticat, with Evo low carb dry for treats during shots and ear sticks. I know I'm on the right track, is there something else I should/could be doing? Thanks for any input, I've already learned so much from this site and this board.
The vet started him at 1 unit, increased to 2 after a week when numbers were still high, and then to 3 on January 25th after many emails back and forth with my testing info. I've been beginning to realize that I may be causing the spikes I'm seeing because of the dose he's getting. I was thinking of trying Dr. Hodgkins' tight regulation protocol, but I'm not sure my schedule will allow testing and shots every 8 hours. I thought maybe 2 units every 8 hours with some overlap would be better than what he is getting
Currently feeding only 3 types of Sophisticat, low carb and no by-products in the smoked trout, shrimp and fish and whitefish and salmon types, as well as the low carb Merrick flavors. He still loves dry food, I didn't think I could switch him to wet until I found exactly what flavors he really loved, and then focus on those. He gets about a can of Merrick and a can of Sophisticat a day, plus another 1/2 a big can or 1 small can if he's eaten everything and asking for more. The primary symptom was a loss of weight and body condition, that has all come back, so even with the high numbers I do see progress.
Thanks to everyone who headed out to the Feline Health board to find me and give advice. As of tonight, I'm dropping Linus to 2 units, and will give that a few days to see if things even out. I may then be able to do a curve on Wednesday.
I'm still learning and open to any information, so keep it coming!
I'm new to posting, but I've been reading your forum since Linus was diagnosed last month. I have just built a Google spreadsheet with all his numbers and will try to attach it to my signature. He is on ProZinc, currently 3 units, and his numbers are pretty much all over the place. The one thing I do notice is that he will sometimes be much lower pre-shot, as if the insulin takes 10-12 hours to kick in. He then goes right back up within an hour or two. It's hard to give that shot at the low numbers, I keep telling myself that I know he will go back up, and when he does he will need it. From what I've read, ProZinc has no residual, once it's gone, it's gone, and if I didn't give the shot earlier, it's that much longer until the next dose starts working. Is that essentially correct?
I have been testing Linus for a little under a month. How long will it take before his glucose levels will be somewhat more predictable? I plan to try to be around home to get a new curve tomorrow, the last one I did he stayed over 400 all day long before dropping to 265 at +10. I would like to see a real curve instead of all these spikes.
As far as food, we've switched from Nutro dry to all canned, primarily Merrick and Sophisticat, with Evo low carb dry for treats during shots and ear sticks. I know I'm on the right track, is there something else I should/could be doing? Thanks for any input, I've already learned so much from this site and this board.
The vet started him at 1 unit, increased to 2 after a week when numbers were still high, and then to 3 on January 25th after many emails back and forth with my testing info. I've been beginning to realize that I may be causing the spikes I'm seeing because of the dose he's getting. I was thinking of trying Dr. Hodgkins' tight regulation protocol, but I'm not sure my schedule will allow testing and shots every 8 hours. I thought maybe 2 units every 8 hours with some overlap would be better than what he is getting
Currently feeding only 3 types of Sophisticat, low carb and no by-products in the smoked trout, shrimp and fish and whitefish and salmon types, as well as the low carb Merrick flavors. He still loves dry food, I didn't think I could switch him to wet until I found exactly what flavors he really loved, and then focus on those. He gets about a can of Merrick and a can of Sophisticat a day, plus another 1/2 a big can or 1 small can if he's eaten everything and asking for more. The primary symptom was a loss of weight and body condition, that has all come back, so even with the high numbers I do see progress.
Thanks to everyone who headed out to the Feline Health board to find me and give advice. As of tonight, I'm dropping Linus to 2 units, and will give that a few days to see if things even out. I may then be able to do a curve on Wednesday.
I'm still learning and open to any information, so keep it coming!