New person

Status
Not open for further replies.

RoysMum

Member Since 2011
Hello, my name is Cheryl. Yesterday I took my 16 year-old cat to the Vet for his check-up. My Vet called me this morning and told me that Roy has diabetes and his level is 20. The Vet stated that Roy will have to have special food and daily injections. I do not know if I can inject a cat. Needles make me dizzy. I am very sad and very worried.
 
Hi Cheryl,
Welcome to FDMB. I knowhow overwhelming this can be, when I first started
I was horribly scared of needles and didnt think I could do this either.
BUt you will be amazed at what you can do. FIrst thing to do is sit back and take a deep breathe
you will feel overwhelmed at times, as everyone here does, but it will get better.

Now...
what type of food are you feeding ROy? It is important to put him on a low carb diet, no dry food
Friskies and Fancy feast are 2 wet foods that you can buy in the supermarket. I would start off doing that first
the second most important thing is home testing. I know this can be very scarey but you do not want to
inject insulin in a cat without knowing what his sugar levels are. You will find a wealth of information here
on FD. you can buy them in any walmart or drug store.
What type of insulin in the vet prescribing? We have specific support groups depending on the insulin you are given
or if you are more comfortable you can post here.

If you have any questions we are all here to help
I am sure everyone will be chiming in soon
Hang in there and it will get better, I promise

Denise and Shakespeare
 
Hi Cheryl and welcome to the FDMB Family.

There are many of us here that felt exactly the same way about needles when we started, and we pushed through it to help our furry loves. It will get easier as you get into the groove, I promise.

I take it by the numbers you are using that you aren't in the US...if perhaps you are in Canada you may be in luck as we have lots of members there, and might just have someone close enough to you to pop over andgive you some hands on help to show you just how easy it is to do. Just give us a general location.

First off his numbers aren't that high, so there might be a good chance that with a change in diet to a low carb/high protein canned catfood an a short course of insulin Roy may become diet controlled and no longer need shots at all. My Maxwell was 485 when he was first diagnoised, your Roy is only 360 by US scale, Maxwell only got insulin for 2 weeks and had his diet changed at the same time...after those 2 weeks he became diet controlled and hasn't had a shot now for nearly a year.

Can you tell us what insulin your vet is prescribing and at what dose? Lantus is a favorite around here and has a very high remission rate. The other favorites are Levermir and PZI.

Also what has Ro been eating and what are you now going to be feeding him?

And lastly we highly recommend that you learn to test him at home, and through this board we can offer you a newbie kit that comes with everything you will need to get started, plus a nice catnip toy for Roy himself! Lori and Tom run the program and we all donate to it, so that new folks like you get off to a great start.

I know this all seems overwhelming right now, but please don't be sad about this, it is very easy to treat a diabetic kitty, so easy in fact that while I already had 11 cats, I adopted not 1 but 2 extra sweet kitties from this very board, after my first girl passed away. Now if this was tough to do I really wouldn't have set myself up to care for 2 of them with as many cats as I already had, but it is s easy that it has become like brushing my teeth in the morning.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Hi Cheryl
just a quick "welcome"! Don't be sad
Diabetes is easily managed, and you've found the best place in the world for help with that.
Your vet's "special food" will most likely be some type of overpriced and only available from them prescription food.... you don't need it, and there are dozens of better choices out there. There is a link in my sig that will take you to lots of nutrition info. Read all about it and i'll be back with specifics later....got to get ready for wiork!

Carl
 
You may find it helpful to practice a deep breathing relaxation exercise before doing an injection. Calming your body may help you feel more confident and steady. I've attached a description of one, based on the book The Relaxation Response by Herbert Benson.

Additionally, covert rehearsal - a fancy way of saying mentally practice the steps - can improve your confidence and steadiness too.

You can do this!
 

Attachments

Cheryl your post made me think of my very first post in summer of "07.
I was scared, nervous, freaking out and certain it was undoable.

What a gift it turned out to be.
It brought me and Tom so much closer, so bonded, as you will find with everyone here and their sugar cats.
He loved his 'treatments'. Yes, I did say that. He loved his pokey pokey and his shot.
You may not believe that but ask anyone here, I think around 80% or more will tell you the same, 10% may say their cats easily tolerate it, and mostly it is newbie's who have a bit of trouble in the beginning.
It will pass.

Here is something I have never posted in a newbie post. Because it is very very recent.
My Tom passed away on Saturday...completely non-diabetes related.
I so miss our rituals together.
I so miss my sugar kitty Tom and our testing, him coming running for a test.
I have a video of me testing him.
But there are far better, more instructive video's here.

What I am saying is .... you will soon find feline diabetes to be a gift in disguise.
Me and Tom are better off as beings for having had this journey.

Lori
Missing Tom
 
Hi Cheryl,

You can do this. You wouldn't have done the research that got you to this board if you weren't committed to doing all you can to help Roy. All the things about needles and blood testing that seem so frightening now will just become part of the daily dance for you and your sugar kitty. And now you are a part of an awesome community of people who have gone, and are going, through the same thing you are. We all know how you feel. You will never be alone in this journey. There is always someone here to answer questions, hold your hand when you panic, and cheer Roy on. Welcome!
 
Thank you all for your kind words.

Today I went to the Vet to learn how to give Roy his shots. While I was there, his glucose was taken by the drop of blood testing thing...today he was recorded at 12, which is a big difference than 20. I don't understand that. More on the needle thing later.

Roy is taking Caninsulin (Manufactured by Intervet. He has to take 2 units (that's what I think they are called) twice a day-twelve hours apart.
The Vet also gave me DRY food: Purina Veterinary Diet-Dietetic Management (a 6 pound bag)-he is allowed 1/4 cup of this dry stuff twice a day (right after he has his shot)
I also got a box of syringes (100 in the box)

Caninsulin: $46.60
Food: $37.64
Syringes: $51.80

With all the tax and everything it came to $153.73, so in the past 2 days I have spent well over $560 for tests and supplies. Not that the money is a big issue (I had to go into my Christmas Fund, bu Roy is more important than Christmas).

Apparently, the insulin should last 3 months, ditto for the syringes.

Roy HATES the food and will not eat it. I gave him 4 little niblets of the dry food by hand and that was it.

So, tonight, I tried to give him his injection. It was an EPIC fail. My hands shook. I got the magnifying glass out to ensure I had the right amount in the syringe. I made the skin "tent" and some insulin went in and some did not. The needle bent. I was a wreck. He would not eat after this attempt, but he did slurp a bit of water. I call the Vet and his tech says not to worry, don't give him anymore tonight and carry on tomorrow.

I have 3 other cats besides Roy and they don't understand what's going on, either does Roy...I have to keep them separated so that Roy doesn't eat their food and they don't eat Roy's food. (All my cats are rescued cats, btw.)

After my epic fail, Roy went into the bathroom, got into the tub, and started scratching the sides of the tub. I have never seem him do this before.

I live in Southern Ontario, right across the bridge from Detroit.

I feel lost. Really lost.

I am looked for the kit mentioned, but I can't seem to find it...HELP, please.

Kindest regards,
Cheryl
 
Cheryl, I don't see where you mentioned what Roy had been eating before his diagnosis. Take that bag of dry food back to the vet and get your money back. Canned food is what is needed and so glad that you messed up on your shot tonight :-D Roy has to eat first before shooting insulin and he didn't eat well tonight so don't worry about the shot. Dry is high in carbs........others will be along with more info. Try feeding him some canned tomorrow a.m....he needs to eat....and if he has always been fed dry, feeding him canned now will lower his numbers so 2 units may be too much. Caninsulin is not the greatest insulin for cats either. Lantus, Levemir, or ProZinc are the ones majority use. I'll see if I can find some help for you with some other Canadians.
 
Just wanted to say hang in there....

this place is the best place to be! When Sugar Bean was dx, I was at the pharmacy window trying to purchase her syringes, visiting w/ the wonderful lady and literally felt like I was going to faint just looking at the bag! I had to explain to her that I needed to leave immediately and told her why and would have to return when I could feel the blood coming back to my body! :shock:

Anyway, it does get much better! Promise....

And yes, the vet started Bean on script food which I learned from HERE that it is not only not good for her, was very unnecessary. I returned it for a credit/refund.

As for the syringes, yes, I purchased the smallest length and size for Bean and I did bend a few myself... and I did 'fur shot' (miss) too. We just dont shoot anymore, test and keep going.....

Your baby Roy will be in good hands, I just know it!

You will probably find someone that lives close to you that will offer help, please take it.... then pretty soon, you will be on that 'please come help me list' too.

Smile, chin up, find those big girl panites (mine were in the bottom drawer ;-) ), put them on, help your boy and take it one breath at a time!!!!
We are all here for each other
Happy furry hugs to you today!
 
Hi Cheryl,

your situation sounds alot like my cats. almost identical, in fact. she would have a BG of 20 one day at the vets and then an 11 another day. my vet was hesitant to give me insulin so we decided to switch her diet to wet food first and see how she responded. after about a week, she was still in the 20 range, so it was time for insulin. i'm lucky to have an excellent vet and she actually told me that unless i started home testing, she didnt really feel comfortable giving me the insulin. i promised i would and was sent away with caninsulin (at my request cos it worked for her before) giving 1 unit, only once a day.

im thankful that i home tested, very thankful. i would have sent my kitty into hypo (or worse!) if i hadnt. a week into her insulin shots, she dropped really low after about only 4 hours into the cycle. the next day her preshot number was at 14, i decided no insulin, 4 hours later, she was at 7. good news! next day, same thing, but her BG went to 6 without insulin!, and it continued like that and shes off the insulin now in a diet controlled remission. that little bit of insulin, coupled with the diet change was enought to get her pancreas functioning again.

please home, test. PLEASE! i know every cat is different, but it is very possible, your cat could go in the same direction mine did. its especially important to test alot in the beginning, so you can determine how your kitty is going to react to the insulin, to figure out the trends and adjust accordingly, to if its working well or not working or working too well.

also, the 2 units your vet prescribed is also way too much!! start off with 1 at the most. caninsulin is very harsh and it will drop BG levels quite a bit in a short amount of time.
 
Hi Cheryl and Roy!

Just wanted to chime in... Exactly a week ago I was here in the same position.... A total wreck, emotional, overwhelmed. I skipped his first shot because I was so scared I'd mess it up. Vet told me to try again the next day. I did not sleep a wink that night, took the day off work because I was such a basketcase about it all. My hand shook uncontrollably even just filling the needle..nevermind sneaking behind him while he ate to try to get the shot. Well... it went better than expected.. HE didnt care at all.. but I did. It took three days to stop feeling so nervous about...now only a week in, it's nothing. I am more nervous about poking his ear for tests! But that goes fine now too.

Infact, I agree with the above post that says how important testing in. I started right away so I could keep a good eye on him, and its a good thing I did... It's been one week only since his diagnosis... switched to almost all wet (Purina MD) and three times not before eating he has NOT needed a shot! his levels are dropping significantly..and if I didnt know this by testing, probably would've put poor Obie into hypo.

Test test test!!! He may very likely come off insulin very quickly if you know where he's at!
 
Hi Cheryl, welcome to FDMB!

I may actually be closer than many of the Ontario folks here. I live in Michigan about 30 miles from Windsor. I wish I'd seen your post sooner, as I could have come to visit you and Roy this weekend with a bit of planning. I work full time Monday-Friday.

I'd be happy to come show you how to test Roy's blood sugar. The Walmart Relion Ultima meter is the most economical at $9 for the meter and $20 for 50 test strips ($36 for 100 test strips). Lancets are needed to get the drop of blood.

Syringes are available at human pharmacies for as low as $12.58 per 100 (again - Walmart).

Caninsulin was developed for dogs, and doesn't work very well for cats. We recommend Lantus or Levemir, but it is possible that with diet change, Roy may not need insulin for very long.

I'll send you my contact info via PM (private message) if you want to set up a meeting. My husband is a full time student, so he might be able to help you sooner than I. We have been treating diabetic cats since June 2006. After losing our first diabetic cat to cancer in 2008, we adopted Tiggy through DCIN - Diabetic Cats In Need.
 
I was reading your post and feeling so bad for you.....I was where you are one month ago. And this has not been a good month, it's been a month of doing things I did not want to do, did not think I could do, mourning the loss of ever being able to do anything ever again other than take care of a kitty.

But just doing it one shot at a time and one ear prick at a time, and wandering around various stores with my list of wet cat food showing the carb %, trying to convince all 3 of my cats that they can live without gravy and heavy sauce on their food....because, really, all they ever wanted to do was just lick the good stuff off and turn their noses up at the feed.

But things seem to finally be turning around with my kitty. I do have a good vet and that helps, and having these people really helps, having supportive friends, and having my kitty feel better than he has in a while makes it less horrible. Now he reaches out with his paw and touches my face, something he did not do before. I think that it is both an expression of gratitude because he knows he feels better, and an expression of sympathy for me, because they are sensitive creatures, and know when we are in pain.

As I was reading your post, and the words of advice and encouragement to you, I heard my cat go to the litter box and I jumped up and grabbed my urine testing strips and ran back to steal a sample to test. This is not something I ever, ever thought I would do. I don't think it was even necessary for me to do that at this time, but habits form, and then they become part of the routine.

Everyone here supports you, and no one judges you for your shortcomings...I've got plenty, and pretty sure the other people here do, too. All you can do is your best. It's hard. But it gets easier.....maybe not that much easier, but less overwhelming.
 
Very well put!
The best advice I ever got here was when someone told me that "life can be lived, in 12 hour segments."
People who do this dance for any length of time "get that".
The way you described Samson reaching up his little paw and touching your face? That's "life".

Carl
 
Today I gave Roy some FF b/c he wasn't eating that dry food. Nope. I knew that he was hungry b/c he kept going to his "feeding station". I jabbed him at 11:30am. So, for today, he has had about 1/2 can of FF and maybe about 4 little pieces of kibble. I have only seen him at his water bowl once today. He was out in the garden for about an hour. It's almost 11pm and I have to jab him at 11:30 and I am a nervous wreck already. Roy seems lethargic and disinterested in things. I am so worried. I have not yet got a home test thing and am going to call the gal in Michigan tomorrow who has offered to help. I keep thinking the bad thought that he is um, on his way out. I cried at least 4 times today, not sniffles, but all out bawling. I am a mess. Roy is not doing well. I am just lost. Roy ad I are just lost. :(
 
Cheryl,
Believe it or not, I was "in that place" in May of this year. And look at me now! Seriously, the benefit you have over me is that I didn't know this place existed, so I was pretty much "alone" with it, and scared and lost.

Here's my advice, and maybe others won't agree.
Skip tonight's shot.
You aren't testing him, and you don't know what his BG is right now. And he hasn't eaten well today. You need two things to shoot safely. You need to know his BG just before, and you need food in his belly.
A shot tonight could cause him trouble. No shot tonight won't be nearly as bad for him.

Tomorrow, please call that person in Michigan, and take any help they offer, on-the-job training, support, advice, whatever. You need to feel less alone, and talking to someone, or sitting down with them, that's a great idea, and it will do you and Roy a world of good.

I cried too. We all did or do. Everyone fears losing kitty to diabetes. Don't shoot tonight. You aren't going to lose him tonight, and maybe tomorrow you'll feel a little better about this, especially after talking to somebody who's been in your shoes and can tell you how they made it past the awful beginning of this "dance".

Carl
 
How much insulin are you planning to give him at 11:30? I could only see your reference to 2u per shot, and that could be a bit much for a beginner's dose.

Perhaps someone with more experience could comment on that?


Try doing some deep breathing and meditation for a few minutes before you have to do the shot. It's helpful. Roy needs you to be as calm as you can be, so just say that to yourself a few times. Maybe some calming music would help too?


Edit to add - I agree with Carl's recommendation! I didn't want to say that outright because I'm not too experienced with this yet, but it was the first thought that I had when you mentioned no test, little food, lethargic. It seems logical and the safest course at the moment to not add insulin to all those issues.
 
Re: New person/Insulin Decision

After reading all the info on this forum all day and searching the internet for information, I cannot, in good conscience, give Roy anymore insulin because I just do not know what is what. I did not give him his shot at 11:30, instead I gave him a few teaspoons of FF (with water added). I am so unsure. My Vet, was very pragmatic, as in give Roy 1/4 C. of the dry food twice a day, shoot him up with 2whatever twice a day (12 hours in between), he made a tent, showed me where to shove the needle, gave me some monographs, a batch of insulin and syringes, a huge bag of dry food and said to come back in 10 days. NOTHING else was discussed. The more I have read, the more unsure I am about the dry food I was given, the amount of insulin Roy should have or anything. Moreover, after witnessing just how lethargic and whatnot Roy was today after him getting his morning shot, I cannot handle not knowing. I want to be sure, sure of everything. So, first thing tomorrow I am off to the Wallymart to get the necessary at home testing things, as well as stock up on some FF (I had 2 cans in the house which I would give as "treat meals" to the 4 cats.) I also have to say after making this decision, I feel better. I'll be back here tomorrow with mega questions. Thank you for being there for me. I am obliged.
 
Smart move not to give insulin tonight. You have no idea what his bg is so holding off on the insulin was a good choice. When you are shopping tomorrow for the meter, besides buying extra test strips and lancets, pick up some urine testing strips for ketones. KetoStix ( tests for ketones only) or KetoDiastix ( tests for glucose and ketones).
 
Dearest Roys mommabean,

What a good choice you made. Another thing that I can think of for your w.mart list, perhaps some regular white rice, and 1 pair of baby socks? You have probably already read about warming the ear...This really helped me and Bean when we were testing... partially fill sock w/ rice, throw in micro to get warm and use that on the ear before shot.

Also something I purchased was some neosproin w/ pain. After warming the ear, I would dab a bit in the area that I was testing....
Have you got a special - no carb/low carb treat?? I offered Bean a couple while warming the ear and talking sweetness to her... Then after the test was over, she got a few more while I applied a small amount of pressure to the area I tested in.....
She got to know the small straw basket that all of her supplies were in, would wait for momma to put the towel in my lap, and jump right up there...she knew she was getting treats....I purchased the petco brand of tuna flakes and the frez dried 100% chicken or shrimp or some cooked chicken.... She loves them all.

So glad to know that you are learning alot from here....this place saved my Beans life....I truely believe that!

and remember, ask ask ask as many questions as you want or for support - home training or just cyber hugs! We are all here for each other...

We all have little tips to try for different situations that you will be privy to here and possibly try for Roy. I have literly learned more here than I could have ever ever learned from my vet... as a matter of fact, Bean has ONLY been back to the vet 1 time after her dx, and that was for them to do the curve. Her numbers were in the low 500's, he doubled the dose to 2 units - 2 times a day. I did not because of this site..... SHE WAS SAVED.

Good luck today and hopefully the lady in Mich. will be able to help you....YOU ARE NOT ALONE! ;-)
 
Good for you, Cheryl! You're taking the first steps to YOU being in control of Roy's well being instead of relying on your vet, who may or may not be available when he's most needed. Roy's vet isn't with him every single day (understandably, of course), but you are - this is going to make a world of difference!

There are videos to watch about how to do home testing, and it sounds like there's someone close to you who is willing to help out. Please don't be discouraged if the first few tests don't go as smoothly as they do for someone who has given hundreds or thousands of tests - experience helps and you're just starting out, so please be patient with yourself! It took me three days to get a drop of blood for Boo's first test but I was persistent, and told him over and over that we HAD to do it, so we WOULD do it. I think he understands that now. The rice sock warming his ear was the key to our success, and Boo actually seems to like that because it's all warm and fuzzy! And who knows, Roy might surprise you with how tolerant he will be with the whole process.

Finally, removing the dry food from his diet is going to make a tremendous and immediate difference in his blood sugar levels too. It will definitely impact the amount of insulin Roy will need - another reason that you should take comfort with your decision to home test. You simply have to know his BG levels before you can determine how much insulin to give him.

And I'm willing to bet a shiny new quarter that within one week, you'll be as comfortable as the rest of us giving tests and shots!

Best of luck to you today - and please keep us posted about how it all goes!
 
Cheryl, do you have an update for us please??
c090.gif
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top