Hello, my name is Liz I'm 29 and my baby Alvin is 11. We live in Orlando, Fl and he was diagnosed on 11/18/11. Got him and his brother at 2 weeks old when they were left in a cardboard box at a service station near New Smyrna Beach, the two sweetest boys in the world. I have so many questions I don't even know where to start! I feel like my brain is about to explode, I have ZERO experience with diabetes and I've been naive to feline nutrition. I'll start with what I know for certain thus far.
~Alvin is 11, and began rapid weight loss in the middle of October, his eating habits fell off and water was the only thing he wanted. I was in the hospital for an appendectomy/blood infection for a week and half and on bed rest for the following week and now have more complications so I wish I could have gotten him in to the Vet sooner. Thursday the 18th the Dr's seemed very "confused" and told me his BG was normal, and they thought he was either showing signs of kidney failure or had a thyroid problem. Sent me home with an appetite stimulant and said they would call with all lab results. Called me in the evening to say "the lab equipment had malfunctioned" and he was diabetic with a BG of 493! "Come back first thing in the am" they say. Exhausted and upset return to the vet shown how to blood test/administer insulin and not given very much info. Told to buy prescription DRY food and sent home $500 later. Start my own research, eyes burning.
Readings thus far seem much better than the intial 493
11/19 am-289 pm-232
11/20 am-284 pm-240 I also did a "+6" test on this day and got 224, should I do that everyday for a while?
11/21 am-242
We are giving 1 unit of ProZinc after am/pm testing per the vet. He said to wait 7 days to perform a curve, which I will do b/c they already took all my extra income for the month. Also giving Renal K+ once daily due to potassium in blood was so low, and 1 tablet a day of Tapazole for his thyroid.
I purchased a glucometer right away at Wal-Mart in a hurry under stress and went a little overboard on price and now I'm kicking myself. $65 for 50 test strips!! I had no idea what I was doing, so now I know better. I got the freestyle freedom lite with the butterflies on the strips b/c thats what the vet had so I figured I couldn't go wrong. Does anyone else use this meter? The vet said a human meter would be "off" by a few points for a feline. How do I know how "off" it is?? Do I add to his BG or subtract? When his was 289 my non-diabetic's was only 45! I tested myself as well to make sure it was accurate and I got a fasting 76.
This has me super upset, the vet sent me home with Hill's W/D DRY food. After doing research I've come to find out he might be dyslexic since it should have been the M/D. Everything I've read on W/D says it's for cats who became diabetic due to being obese. I'm correct in this right? I've always had cats and these two are the only ones who have ALWAYS turned up their noses at the wet food. So after reading he should be on a high protein/low-carb WET diet I'm even more stressed out. I will go out and buy wet low carb food based on the kinds I've read to purchase and try my best with all the suggestions like parm cheese and Forti-Flora/ warming to "mouse body temp" etc. I've also always "free-fed", so I've decided since Alvin should eat right after getting insulin and not for several hours prior that my schedule would be to test at 7am/ administer if required then feed. I will leave whatever he and his brother do not consume until 1pm and then remove it. I will then do a 7pm test and feed again. That food I'll just pull up before bedtime which for me is usually pretty late b/c I work nights so they will have a few free-fed hours but he will still be hungry enough to eat after his shots. What should I do about the W/D food? I want to have dry food on hand while I attempt to transition but I don't want it to be high carb food thats bad for him! I want to call the vet and tell them to swap it out for me b/c they messed up but I would rather have someone tell me I thats a good idea first. Does everyone think my food schedule will work out? Is no food 6-7 hours prior to testing a good route or more/less?? I read that Acarbose can be given to help absorb carbs before the body does, does anyone recommend that?
I've also read alot about ketones and testing for them, my vet said NOTHING about this! It's a hospital for ONLY cats, you would think they would have this information pouring out of them by now. Should I go buy strips and do this myself? Or take him back there and demand that they test him? He lost so much weight so fast I'm worried that I may not have caught this in time, but his BG did drop dramatically even though it is all over the 200's it's under 300 and from what I've read so far so good. The vet didn't say anything about not giving him insulin if he tests under 200, I've read a few contradicting things on here. Should I not give insulin at all if that happens or just lower to 1/2 a unit? I know I'm no where close to regulated yet I'm just thinking ahead.
Why are only 50% or less prescribed ProZinc? Should I just wait it out and see if it works for a while or ask to switch the one of the others with a higher remission percentage?
What is a fructosamine test? Again no mention at vet but a pamplet they gave me says to have this tested in 3-4 weeks to test for regulation. I really hope they were just having an off day b/c I feel like they really missed alot, and they came highly recommended.
I see alot of people give EXACT ounces of food to their sugarbabies, if he is 10 pounds now how much food should I be giving him? I have two bowls but when I put them down this am withholding the food for the first time they chowed down and kept swapping bowls in between water. How will I be able to keep track ofwho is eating what? And Alvins brother Munchkin is not a diabtic but he is a little on the heavy side, is it going to be ok for him to have diabetic food?
Sorry I'm all over the place, I'm trying to organize all this information in my brain. There is so much to absorb, I really appreiciate a group like this. After reading several other posts, it put me at ease knowing I'm not alone in loosing my mind and that people have answers and can help.
Thanks for reading!
~Alvin is 11, and began rapid weight loss in the middle of October, his eating habits fell off and water was the only thing he wanted. I was in the hospital for an appendectomy/blood infection for a week and half and on bed rest for the following week and now have more complications so I wish I could have gotten him in to the Vet sooner. Thursday the 18th the Dr's seemed very "confused" and told me his BG was normal, and they thought he was either showing signs of kidney failure or had a thyroid problem. Sent me home with an appetite stimulant and said they would call with all lab results. Called me in the evening to say "the lab equipment had malfunctioned" and he was diabetic with a BG of 493! "Come back first thing in the am" they say. Exhausted and upset return to the vet shown how to blood test/administer insulin and not given very much info. Told to buy prescription DRY food and sent home $500 later. Start my own research, eyes burning.
Readings thus far seem much better than the intial 493
11/19 am-289 pm-232
11/20 am-284 pm-240 I also did a "+6" test on this day and got 224, should I do that everyday for a while?
11/21 am-242
We are giving 1 unit of ProZinc after am/pm testing per the vet. He said to wait 7 days to perform a curve, which I will do b/c they already took all my extra income for the month. Also giving Renal K+ once daily due to potassium in blood was so low, and 1 tablet a day of Tapazole for his thyroid.
I purchased a glucometer right away at Wal-Mart in a hurry under stress and went a little overboard on price and now I'm kicking myself. $65 for 50 test strips!! I had no idea what I was doing, so now I know better. I got the freestyle freedom lite with the butterflies on the strips b/c thats what the vet had so I figured I couldn't go wrong. Does anyone else use this meter? The vet said a human meter would be "off" by a few points for a feline. How do I know how "off" it is?? Do I add to his BG or subtract? When his was 289 my non-diabetic's was only 45! I tested myself as well to make sure it was accurate and I got a fasting 76.
This has me super upset, the vet sent me home with Hill's W/D DRY food. After doing research I've come to find out he might be dyslexic since it should have been the M/D. Everything I've read on W/D says it's for cats who became diabetic due to being obese. I'm correct in this right? I've always had cats and these two are the only ones who have ALWAYS turned up their noses at the wet food. So after reading he should be on a high protein/low-carb WET diet I'm even more stressed out. I will go out and buy wet low carb food based on the kinds I've read to purchase and try my best with all the suggestions like parm cheese and Forti-Flora/ warming to "mouse body temp" etc. I've also always "free-fed", so I've decided since Alvin should eat right after getting insulin and not for several hours prior that my schedule would be to test at 7am/ administer if required then feed. I will leave whatever he and his brother do not consume until 1pm and then remove it. I will then do a 7pm test and feed again. That food I'll just pull up before bedtime which for me is usually pretty late b/c I work nights so they will have a few free-fed hours but he will still be hungry enough to eat after his shots. What should I do about the W/D food? I want to have dry food on hand while I attempt to transition but I don't want it to be high carb food thats bad for him! I want to call the vet and tell them to swap it out for me b/c they messed up but I would rather have someone tell me I thats a good idea first. Does everyone think my food schedule will work out? Is no food 6-7 hours prior to testing a good route or more/less?? I read that Acarbose can be given to help absorb carbs before the body does, does anyone recommend that?
I've also read alot about ketones and testing for them, my vet said NOTHING about this! It's a hospital for ONLY cats, you would think they would have this information pouring out of them by now. Should I go buy strips and do this myself? Or take him back there and demand that they test him? He lost so much weight so fast I'm worried that I may not have caught this in time, but his BG did drop dramatically even though it is all over the 200's it's under 300 and from what I've read so far so good. The vet didn't say anything about not giving him insulin if he tests under 200, I've read a few contradicting things on here. Should I not give insulin at all if that happens or just lower to 1/2 a unit? I know I'm no where close to regulated yet I'm just thinking ahead.
Why are only 50% or less prescribed ProZinc? Should I just wait it out and see if it works for a while or ask to switch the one of the others with a higher remission percentage?
What is a fructosamine test? Again no mention at vet but a pamplet they gave me says to have this tested in 3-4 weeks to test for regulation. I really hope they were just having an off day b/c I feel like they really missed alot, and they came highly recommended.
I see alot of people give EXACT ounces of food to their sugarbabies, if he is 10 pounds now how much food should I be giving him? I have two bowls but when I put them down this am withholding the food for the first time they chowed down and kept swapping bowls in between water. How will I be able to keep track ofwho is eating what? And Alvins brother Munchkin is not a diabtic but he is a little on the heavy side, is it going to be ok for him to have diabetic food?
Sorry I'm all over the place, I'm trying to organize all this information in my brain. There is so much to absorb, I really appreiciate a group like this. After reading several other posts, it put me at ease knowing I'm not alone in loosing my mind and that people have answers and can help.
Thanks for reading!