New on Levemir...Now kitty hyperactive

Status
Not open for further replies.

KSAkitties

Member
Hello list members,

I switched Major to Levemir last night. We are on our 3rd cycle (0.5u BID). His preshot numbers are around 120 to 130. Nadir: 57 - 68.

His numbers are not too bad, considering this is only the second day. However, I am a bit concerned by his hyperactive behaviour. He didn't sleep much last night (he normally sleeps though the night next to me). He was awake and alert the whole night. I stayed up pretty much all night to monitor him after giving him his first Levemir shot. Then this afternoon, he ran around from room to room like he was on drugs.

Have any of your kitties become hyperactive on Levemir? If so, how long did it last. Do you have any advice? Is this normal?

Thanks,
 
Gorgeous numbers!

Is he hyperactive, or just active in a way you haven't seen for a while? Remember that healthy, happy kitties run like mad from room to room for no reason at all, too.
 
agree -- maybe he is just feeling really really good for the first time in a while.

We did not see a big change in energy level when we switched Tiggy to Levemir.
 
The activity could be just feeling better and he may settle down at night once he's used to it. But I also wonder if you may have to reduce the dose. My reasoning is that Lev takes a few days for the "shed" to fill, but you are getting perfect numbers after only 3 shots. I'd keep a close eye on nadir for awhile to make sure he doesn't drop too low once the shed it full.

Also, my lev experience is now old (I lost Maggie almost 4 years ago) so take this with a grain of salt. Maybe ask the question and post your numbers over on the Lev ISG to get input from current users.
 
KarenRamboConan said:
Gorgeous numbers!

Is he hyperactive, or just active in a way you haven't seen for a while? Remember that healthy, happy kitties run like mad from room to room for no reason at all, too.

Hi Karen,

I would say hyperactive - running around, jumping and picking on my other kitty. Major was tighly regulated on PZI for the past few months before we made the switch to Levemir yesterday. We had to make the switch because I can't get PZI here in Saudi Arabia or from our previous vet in the UK.

Perhaps, he is just feeling better, and I am over-reacing.
 
Maggies Mom Debby said:
The activity could be just feeling better and he may settle down at night once he's used to it. But I also wonder if you may have to reduce the dose. My reasoning is that Lev takes a few days for the "shed" to fill, but you are getting perfect numbers after only 3 shots. I'd keep a close eye on nadir for awhile to make sure he doesn't drop too low once the shed it full.

Also, my lev experience is now old (I lost Maggie almost 4 years ago) so take this with a grain of salt. Maybe ask the question and post your numbers over on the Lev ISG to get input from current users.

Thanks, Debby.

I am keeping an close eye on his nadir. This evening's nadir is not as low (82mg/L) as the previous two. It will probably take a few more cycles before his body to get used to Levemir and for me to see a pattern.
 
Phoebe_Tiggy_NortonGA said:
agree -- maybe he is just feeling really really good for the first time in a while.

We did not see a big change in energy level when we switched Tiggy to Levemir.

I do get over nervous over the smallest change in Major's behaviour. Maybe he is just having a good day.
 
Bandit is noticably hyper when his BG is lower (usually right before a meal). It makes sense that when their BG is lower they get hyper--they're hungry so they want to hunt (play). I also noticed Bandit's energy levels rose when his insulin needs dropped below .5u of Lantus. I don't know if this had to do with his Pancreas working again not, but that's my speculation.

Remember that insulin is a hormone, not a drug, so the only side effect it has is to lower BG. Hyperactivity would not be caused by the insulin, but could be a result of lower, more level BG caused by the Levemir.

Those are some great numbers for just starting out! It sounds like he might have a short stay on Levemir!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top