Toonces Mom
Member Since 2018
My cat was diagnosed last week - no DKH; picked up on blood test (BG 410) after taking him in for some outside of the box thinking....
Vet started him at 1 unit Lantus bid. Told me to test pre-shot but I tested extra mid cycle after reading on this board. Sent vet my test chart Mon and she told me yesterday to increase to 2 units. His +2 tonight was 175. After reading here, I’m concerned we are increasing too fast. I gave him 2 units this morning and 2 units tonight — should I monitor with BG tests overnight? If so, how often? Feeling overwhelmed, worried about hypo event, and just want to do what’s right for my sweet boy. P.S. not sure if it matters for dosage but he’s a big cat- currently 14.5 pounds and his “healthy” weight is 18 according to vet.
Vet started him at 1 unit Lantus bid. Told me to test pre-shot but I tested extra mid cycle after reading on this board. Sent vet my test chart Mon and she told me yesterday to increase to 2 units. His +2 tonight was 175. After reading here, I’m concerned we are increasing too fast. I gave him 2 units this morning and 2 units tonight — should I monitor with BG tests overnight? If so, how often? Feeling overwhelmed, worried about hypo event, and just want to do what’s right for my sweet boy. P.S. not sure if it matters for dosage but he’s a big cat- currently 14.5 pounds and his “healthy” weight is 18 according to vet.
Last edited: