New numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.
Wow! That's quite a drop. Thank goodness you reduced the dose a few cycles back. It's a good thing, but Skittles may bounce tonight, just a warning. He may also not bounce, we shall see. His PMPS will probably give us a good idea of what is going on. :)
 
Looks good Sherri! I agree, good thing you reduced when you did.

Your link to yesterday's thread works too!
 
Yeah. Bouncing would mean his number jumped back up high as a result of that low number you got earlier.

I'd grab another test before you leave just to see where he is headed...or will your shot time be before then?
 
I wouldn't expect him to drop any lower than the 134 you got midcycle, but a test before leaving would reassure you.

Rachel means a bounce from the 134 (it is not a super low number but was a big drop from the amps). If his body panicked and released some extra glucose, it's possible that he will be a little higher than ideal tonight. But it's also possible that he'll just surf along and be in a nice range.

Ah, Rachel, great minds think alike.
 
What time zone are you in again?

Most cats bounce at some point...that may actually be WHY he has those high preshot numbers. Generally, cats bounce until they stop. I just wanted you to be prepared in case you saw a higher number at preshot...don't feel discouraged! You're getting a good mid cycle number...that means the insulin is working.
 
EST

yeah, he had a high PMPS

AMPS=569 ( 2 units)
+6=134
PMPS=444 (2 units)

Both has very loose smelly BM's now from switching to can, hope it better soon. Sure dont need their lactulose now
 
For the loose bowels, some people use FortiFlora - it's a probiotic that you can buy on line or from the vet. Or if they become very loose, you can give a little Miralax.

The bounce for pmps wasn't unexpected. Dropping more than 70% is very likely to cause a bounce. Two ways to handle a bounce: wait for his body to get used to the lower levels and stop bouncing, or lower the dose a little and try to smooth out the cycle (that is most often suggested when the bounce is a low green) Since his low isn't too low, I think I would try to wait it out, a few cycles at least. His body has gotten used to those really high numbers; it may take a while to adjust to the lower ones.
 
Good morning Sherri! When you get a minute ... could you go back into your spreadsheet and wherever there are blanks in the boxes where we'd normally see an AMPS/ PMPS BG#, either plug in the # (if you just forgot; happens sometimes)
or if it was a skipped dose, you can just mark in the box with something like: -0- (or) ---

That will clear up any confusion for folks reviewing your kitty's SS. Thanks.:)
 
do u mean the blank boxes of where I did no testing? I put on the spreadsheet any numbers I get when I test. I had numbers of before I started here but have no idea where they are now ( I can check old emails to his vet ) . but all his numbers since I joined the group are on it
 
do u mean the blank boxes of where I did no testing? I put on the spreadsheet any numbers I get when I test. I had numbers of before I started here but have no idea where they are now ( I can check old emails to his vet ) . but all his numbers since I joined the group are on it
Here's a list of the boxes I'm talking about that need blanks filled in:

10/27 PMPS & "U" box
10/31 PMPS
11/7 AMPS/ PMPS & "U" box
11/11 AMPS/ PMPS & "U" box
11/12 PMPS
11/14 AMPS & "U" box
11/15 PMPS
11/18 AMPS
11/22 AMPS & "U" box

(Any time there is no BG test performed at AMPS or PMPS, I'd recommend you put this in the box: ---
& when there's no dose given, put a "0" in the "U" box, just like you did on 11/19)
Btw, what does the "?" mean at PMPS on 11/19? I know you skipped that dose as you indicated by a "0", so in the PMPS box, just put in: ---
 
I had numbers of before I started here but have no idea where they are now ( I can check old emails to his vet ) .
If you can't get your hands on those records from before you joined the group, Sherri, that's totally ok - just put in "NR" (meaning "No Record") so that we know, and make a note to that effect in the "Remarks" section on the first date that you do it, like this: NR = No Record (that way, everybody will understand it).

This sort of stuff just makes it easier for anybody who's looking at the history of Skittles to date; also saves you from having to answer questions that would otherwise pop up from people about any blank spaces they see at AMPS/ PMPS/ or in a dose-amount box.:)
 
if I find those earlier numbers, how do I go back and add them since I already started on the first line of the SS ? oh , i filled in the one blank spot for the dosing
 
If you tested on those dates and you don't have the number, you might want to see if your meter has history of those numbers. I am not familiar with your meter but with mine, you just hold down the button to turn it on. Then I just scroll back to find the date that I am looking for and the number.
 
want to see if your meter has history of those number
I cleared my meter a few days ago. And I think my whole SS will have to be redo to add numbers prior to 10/27. But i did just notice a few days are missing now ( 10/28 to 10/31 and I know I tested, and I noticed I have a extra column between +10 & +11 now. I dont know what happened
 
I replied in your PM. IMHO, I don't think the previous data is so important. You were feeding dry food then and he was consistently high. For me, the important things are happening in the last week.
 
Yeah, I think that you can not worry about the previous history. We're getting some good data going on now. :)
 
Sue's right - it really doesn't matter that much if the older data is lost - Sheesh, I thought it might have been as simple as going back and grabbing some #s you'd written down in a notebook ... (that's usually what's happened when someone notices a blank or two in my SS).
So please - forget about the missing data. No big deal. You're doing a great job on testing, Sherri! :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top