? NEW NUMBERS (update @ 1:00 AM EST)

Status
Not open for further replies.

sherrib

Very Active Member
Good Morning ya'll!

I am just getting back up and got my sample less then 5 mins ago. This morning at 5 AM I got up & picked up all food. Went back to bed, at 7 AM I got up to give insulin got reading of 147 and then noticed I was about to give insulin almost 2 hours early so I didnt give it, but I did feed him a little and took the food back up. My alarm did not go off so I got up 47 mins late for his 9:00 AM shot!! But his AMPS is only 145. So I am not giving it. Do you agree?

I am going to feed him since he has only had maybe 1/4 can for almost 5 hours. And even when I picked up his food at 5 AM not a whole lot had been ate. I was tired last night and have no idea why I set my alarm for such weird hours :banghead:

PS
His 7 AM number is listed under +10 from the colum above todays AMPS ( I think the second half of those numbers are supposed to read -1, -2, -3 , etc )

 
Yeah I think I'd skip too. That's a pretty low (not bad just low) number for a preshot...especially since it hasn't moved from 2 hours ago!

He may be higher tonight but that's okay. :) Sounds like something is working!!
 
If he gets high numbers anytime today, when can I shoot? And now that I didn't to this AM and can wait until tonight, isn't today the perfect time to move up his dose? I'm thinking 7 PM
So then he would be getting it and 7 & 7 instead of 9 & 9

Right?
 
Today is a perfect time to change dose schedule! Remember if you dose early you'd have to change schedule again...
 
Yes, since you skipped this morning, it's a perfect time to change your schedule. You can shoot whenever you want. As Rachel said, remember the next dose would need to be 12 hours later.

The 144 this morning was on the low side of a number I'd be comfortable shooting. Some people shoot 150-180 on a ReliOn, if they know they will be around to test, are ready to bring the number up with food and are comfortable doing so. It's a judgement you need to make for yourself. Advice givers tend to give more conservative advice as it is not their cat they are dosing. As you have shoot in the 190s, you might target 180 first IF you are comfortable doing so.

One complicating factor I see is that skittles seems to be coming down gradually with each cycle. If that pattern continues, it could be a good idea to restart at one unit and increase as needed. (Easier to increase slowly than try to decide how much to reduce a dose). I am also concerned that Skittles is getting good at lower nadirs, and you definitely want to be around to catch those.
 
As long as it is a human meter, the ranges are the same. (I didn't want anyone using an AlphaTrak to consider the same ranges). What I mean is that you could start shooting at 180 as your target - if you are comfortable doing so, if you will be around. That wouldn't have applied to this am - just thinking ahead.

200 is our no shoot range for new beans, who are just getting started with testing and who have little data. What I am saying is that you no longer qualify as a "newbie". You test regularly and can get a test when you need to and we can look back in his history and see what dose did what at what level, so we can sort of predict what a given dose might do.

That said, if you are not feeling comfortable shooting under 200 - say in the 180 range to start, then don't. As always, he's your cat and you hold the syringe.

Make sense?
 
Here is what we got today
First since he didnt get any this morning since he had a low number I moved him to getting it at 7 PM ( from 9 PM)
AMPS 145 ( almost a hour late, 8:50 AM ) NO insulin with AMPS
+4.28 192 ( 5:15 PM)
+11.38- 201 ( 6:38 PM) warmed up food, got shot ready then gave 1 unit
-2=96 (9:38 PM)
-7=
108 (1:00 AM)
How does everything look, plus the move up time?
 
Last edited:
I think it looks good, Sherri. Very good news that he didn't jump way up. I would get a before bed test, just to see how the cycle is looking.
 
oh, I only have 29 syringes left. If I need to stay at 1.5 units then I need different ones then the U40. What the favor ones here? ( but I gave 1 unit tonight) and I shoot be shooting at 180 now instead of 200+?
 
This sounds good, Sherri. If you are worried, a nadir would be helpful. I would think the one unit would be fine, but he is certainly needing less insulin each cycle.
 
Don't know your time zone, but about 6 hours after the shot should be nadir.

Yes, as long as you are comfortable with it and can monitor, I think you could set your preshot number at 180.
 
+6=108 ( 1:00 AM) someone plz check my math, thinking its 6 not 7 hours since PM shot given at 7 PM ( im so tired) LOL, I'm so sleepy that I can see straight. ( still not 100%since I got
 
Last edited:
Sherri, Skittles is looking great!

My advice on here is generally conservative...I worry about suggesting a shot if I have any doubts about it. Yesterday, since I was at work, I was afraid to suggest anything when I couldn't be sure I'd be around if you needed anything.
 
I know it's been a stressful time, getting lots of tests in and seeing his levels drop. But, take a minute to breathe, and note he is in beautiful numbers and dropping steadily but safely. His amps is lovely this morning and your dose looks great!

What a long way he has come in a short time, from a large dose and high numbers!
 
Thank you Rachel, I understand.

Sue...I know! In such a short time! he should be used a possible examples of can food being the best. The staff at his vet office rolled their eyes and actually gave me hell for switching from Hills MD dry! She said its NOT high carbs and its good carbs to start with. Then she asked me why I wasnt used their meter to begin with! She was just so so nasty!
vet nor staff dont know that I am NOT doing the 4 units I was told to do
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top