new numbers for Sumo

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Sumo

Member Since 2011
Hello, I did a curve on Sumo today as you recommended. I just have his pmps number to get prior to his 6:30 dosing. I got the spread sheet uploaded and his numbers are recorded there. Can someone take a look and let me know about his evening dose. He is on 12 hour pzi dosing of 1 unit bid. Just an fyi, I submitted a 911 yesterday when his number climbed to over 500 when I made the stupid decision to increase his insulin to 1.5 units.

Thanks, Mary and Sumo
 
Hi Mary,
I looked at Sumo's numbers and he seemed to be very flat today which could be because of the bounce.
If it were me, I would probably stay with the one unit for tonight
and if you can get maybe a +4 or +5ish tonight to see if he is moving that would be great.
I might wait until tomorrow to see what his numbers are before increasing...
lets see what everyone else says...

If you do increase tomorrow I would increase by very small amount...maybe .1 at first to see how he reacts
 
Good job on the spreadsheet!

Well, it looks better than yesterday. It's pretty flat if you look at the variance of meters (+ - 20%)

I think I would stick with the one unit one more day. Can you get a nadir number tomorrow as well as pre shots?

Did you get the 100u needles? Have you be able to get a ketone test? (we will keep nagging until you do. :mrgreen: )
 
First, I don't think I have said "Welcome!"

If I looked at just your curve today, I would say you needed to increase your dose. But, I think you should hold your dose. You flat cycle today very possibly is a reaction to the blues he saw yesterday. When the kitty has not seen low numbers, and to Sumo the 100s were low, it takes some time for their body to adjust to them. It is not unusual to see a couple of flat high cylces after a breakthrough to lower numbers. So, based on that theory, I think you should hold the 1 unit dose and continue to test and collect data.

Good Luck, we look forward to helping you and Sumo!

Kim and Kitty
 
Hi Mary! Welcome to you and Sumo!
Sorry I am a bit behind in keeping up with everyone here.
You have come to a great place with kind and knowledgable folks. So glad you are here :-D
Donna and Asher
 
Mary, don't beat yourself up over the increase yesterday. It wasn't "stupid". It's all a learning curve, and nobody who does this dance knows all the steps!
carl
 
I agree to stick with the 1 unit. His numbers have been steadily coming down since his bounce off the blue.

Hang in there and great job on the spreadsheet. Yay!
 
Hi everyone, thanks for the BIG welcome! I can't tell you how much it means to me !! (really) Was not able to get a +5 or +6 last night unfortunately. This morning bg was 198. If I have learned anything, it is not to "shoot" under 200, at least for now anyway. I did the curve yesterday knowing I would not have a chance to do one this week due to work. I will of course check a pmps tonight. I don't mind taking things slowly. As they say, slow and steady wins the race. I would love nothing better than to get Sumo OTJ ;-)

Thanks, Mary
 
Mary, you don't need to skip, though. If you skip, that might set back your progress. Can you wait 20 minutes and test again? If he is over 200, you can shoot the regular dose. Or a reduced dose, if youbarenworried.
 
When we come on and a newbie is about to shoot into a low number, we say don't shoot under 200. We don't always follow up with the possibilities when you get 200 and you have some data, like you do.
 
Thats my fault, Im sorry
I was analyzing your spreadsheet and thinking about the bounce from shooting into the 200
and didnt fully explain what to do if it did happen again
 
NO it is not your fault, Denise. We tend to give newbies the Not under 200 rule, like we did Mary, and leave it at that while loading them up with other info. It is hard to give them all the info at once. And I have to admit, I didn't expect him to have a 198 before we talked about it.

We all had the chance to throw that info about waiting into our post but we forgot. As my Dad always said, "Nobody's Perfect."
 
thanks Sue, and I also was not expecting the 198 again anytime soon.
I hope he is not too high tonight
 
NEW UPDATE ON SUMO

Hi to all, wow, thanks for everyones interest in Sumo. Honestly, I posted and then signed off this morning thinking that most of you wouldn't be viewing my post for awhile. I guess I was wrong! I never even thought about re-testing Sumo. I just assumed that his number was low, so that meant don't shoot. I am sorry. I will in the future wait and retest. His bg tonight was 449. I gave his regular dose of 1 unit Pro Zinc. I am always open to any suggestions, and consider myself proactive, so ANYTHING you can think of, I would greatly appreciate your input !! I never want to be a "bug" so sometimes I hold off posting questions. You guys are really the best.

Appreciating your concern for my boy Sumo,
Mary
 
Hi Mary,

I'm glad you just gave the one unit tonight even with the high number.

We should have given you the whole idea of shooting low numbers. We try to give you all the info without overwhelming you, but we missed that important part.

So, if you get a pre shot under 200, wait 20 minutes or so (without feeding) and retest, (food can raise the bg levels if you feed. You want a true number, not one influenced by food.). You want to be sure the numbers are going up. If the number rises over 200, then you could shoot your regular dose. If the number goes up a bit but not enough that you feel comfortable shooting the regular dose, you can give less insulin - like .5 units.

When you skip, the number is bound to be high next preshot - 24 hours after the last shot. If you can avoid skipping, that is best.
 
Feel free to post all questions at anytime. You are by no means being a "bug!"

Good job sticking with the 1 unit tonight on the higher preshot.
 
Also, Mary, a lot of us are in the East, but we're spread out all over the country. We also seem to keep some really strange hours, so anytime you feel like posting, or need a question answered, there's a good chance at least one of us will be around to see your post.

Things are looking pretty good so far, you're doing a super job!

Carl
 
Good Morning, newest amps for Sumo is 335. I will give his regular 1 unit or Pro Zinc. I am guessing I will need to increase at some point, but cannot do it this morning. I wil post tonight with pmps and see if anyone can help with adjusting his dose.
Thanks, Mary
 
Hi Mary
nice preshot this morning..wondering what his pmps will be
I know I will be asleep by the time you get on tonight..
but if he is in the 200's I think i might hold off on the increase..
just a thought
 
Hi, Sumo's pmps is 254! I am so excited!! I want to let his body adjust and not rush things (as all of you have kindly encouraged me to do) His Pro Zinc is due in 20 to 30 minutes. I will wait for instruction from my wonderful expert friends. I know it's not alot of time, but I just arrived home and checked his bg right away
Thanks, Mary
 
Just and FYI, I gave Sumo his regular 1 u dose. Sorry about the short notice, but unfortunately I didn't have much control over that.
Thanks, Mary
 
Good decision Mary,
I was working when you posted the question, just saw it. Holding the 1u was the right call, and if Sumo keeps showing you good numbers, you may be talking about a small dose decrease fairly soon! Keep us posted.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top