Hi Roxanne,
I am really sorry that we upset you, however unintentionally. I can see that you are dealing with a lot (the Libre falling off, vet not helping etc) and in our eagerness to help, we are throwing all kinds of information and posting protocols at you, that maybe too much for someone new to it all.
I thought I would try and help with making sense of our dosing protocols so you can decide which one would suit you.
- SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.
- TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.
If you'd like, you can start with SLGS and once you get the hang of testing and handling lower numbers, you could switch to TR.
I don't know if you've managed to get the Libre back on Money, but I'll tag
@Emily + Zen who also use one to see if she can help you with it.
You're doing a great job of testing Money without the Libre. You don't have to stay up testing all night every night. We ask people to get a "before bed" test. If that number is much lower than the PMPS, you may need to set an alarm to get a later test.
Please do let us know if there is anything else we can help you with.