New meter

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jtcatt

Member Since 2017
I just bought the alphatrak 2 meter but the results are off from the relion meter I was using. How do I tell what is correct? Yesterday her bg was 288 and 330 with relion. Today it's 488 with the alphatrak 2. I don't have anymore test strips from the relion to double check but the new meter seems to run about 100 higher. I coded ot 07 for cats so that's not the issue. Does it naturally run higher because it's a pet meter? Worried that I'll put her too low.
 
Pet meter's generally do run higher than human meters. You can't compare the AT2 numbers to ReliOn numbers, you will go crazy lol. The only general statement is that at higher numbers, the difference is greater; at lower numbers the difference is less. For example, on my meters, the AT2 can be 100+ points higher when he's in pink/red numbers and about 40 points higher when he's in green numbers. Is the 07 the code for cats on the AT2?

Can you update your SS? Lots of blank days. Also, be sure to note which meter the reading was with.
 
I will update it when I get home. It's just stressful seeing it 100pts higher. I just don't want it to be giving a higher reading and accidentally get her too low. Yes it says 07 next to cats.
 
AT2 meters run higher than human meters. The higher the number usually the bigger the spread between the meter readings. For instance I had a reading of 490 on my AT2 meter and the same blood drop gave me a reading of 339 on my Free Style Lite human meter. At lower numbers the difference tends to be much less.
 
Makes it very confusing to try and get her numbers good. I guess on at2 I will aim for around 200 and not lower? Scared of making her hypo.
 
With an AT2 meter you can use 200 as a no shot level until you have more data on how she responds to the insulin and dose. Consistent testing before each shot and if possible a test between shots shows a clearer picture of what is happening at a certain dose. The more data you have the easier it becomes to see any patterns in rising or falling numbers.
 
AT 2 meters are the ones that are the closest in accuracy to the vet's lab equipment. That's why veterinarian's recommend that pet owners use them. Human meters use different scientific assay's to measure the blood glucose than the pet specific meter. That's why the human meters run lower than the pet meters. It's okay to use a human meter as long as you are aware that they register lower. If you are following one of the forum protocols, TR or SLGS, the guidelines are written for use of human meters.
 
The alpha is more accurate as it's calibrated for feline blood. Love my alphatrak. The difference between meters is less when you are in low numbers.
 
Hi, the code you refer to, 07. Is it the code that's printed on the AT2 test strips? I was confused about this myself recently, and we want to be sure to use the code on the test strips. Attached is a photo of my test strips; the code that would be keyed into the AT2 meter is 37.

There's a "sticky" that talks about using Code 07, but it is only for the older AT meters, not the newer AT2 meters.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20170401_173011.jpg
    IMG_20170401_173011.jpg
    40.6 KB · Views: 55
Hi, the code you refer to, 07. Is it the code that's printed on the AT2 test strips? I was confused about this myself recently, and we want to be sure to use the code on the test strips. Attached is a photo of my test strips; the code that would be keyed into the AT2 meter is 37.

There's a "sticky" that talks about using Code 07, but it is only for the older AT meters, not the newer AT2 meters.


The bottom number"37"should be the code for kitties. This is the code you would want to set on your AT2 meter.

The code "07" was to be used with the original AT meter (original first model type) when using the newer AT2 strips. Hope this makes sense.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top