Madm4444
Member
I am so happy to have found you. Our journey has been fraught as of late so I haven't had time to do a formal spreadsheet, signature, etc. (I'm overwhelmed) but we need help. I have been intermittently compiling a background in the hope that you can help us.
Immediate crisis in BOLD below.
Buster (9 yo male orange tabby - adopted Feb 2019). Big eater. Gentle giant. Can be pet & held for very brief time but no cuddling or lap sits. Easily overstimulated by touch (previous life?). Sweet boy.
3/28/24. Annual physical. Weight down to 15lbs 3oz (highest = 16lbs). CardioBNP down to 52. Heart murmur unchanged. No intervention needed. Bg = 128 (IDEXX). All good but still needs to lose more weight.
Diet (at that time): 3 types of dry mixed together (indoor, uti, hairball) + prescription dental dry + UTI wet. Treats (greenies, Churu, Bravo freeze-dried meat, CatManDoo freeze-dried chicken sprinkles) - every day, several times a day. Same diet for years. No medications. Also, now struggling with constipation. Given a gel product at annual physical for bolus use then small amt for daily maintenance. The only change to diet.
5/23/24. Insane increase of water consumption & urination. Dx = sudden-onset DM. In vet's office, Bg = 483 (meter AT2) Bg = 508 (IDEXX); Wt = 15lbs.
Prescribed: 1u PZI; 2x/day; 12 hrs apart. Only 2 meals per day; Hills m/d only. All dry gone. Period. All treats gone. Period. We were devastated but followed the rules (very hard on Buster & us).
5/30/24. 1 week follow-up at vet. bg (+5) = 205 (AT2). We are all convinced it is the food & weight. Hoping if we keep everything tight, no insulin will be necessary.
Weekly checks thru June/July showed 160-174 (@ vet - all AT2; +5).
9/24/24 check @ vet. Bg = 122 (AT2). Wt = 14lbs 2oz. Down to 0.5 unit PZI.
10/25/24 vet check & dental. Bg = 138 (AT +5). Wt = 13lbs 15oz. We can take off insulin.
11/7/24. 2 weeks OTJ. Next check at vet. He was very scared after being left there last time & dental surgery. Very vocal on the drive. Bg = 161 (AT2). Same time of day.
11/18/24. Increased water & urination starts again. Lethargic. Vet office. Wt = 13lbs. 7oz. Bg = 509 (AT2). Given 1u PZI in office. Told to give 0.5u at dinner (6p). Back to former regimen: 1u PZI, 2x/day.
11/21/24. Won't eat. Can't give insulin. Lethargic. Call vet. Said possible DKA & to take to ER ASAP. We were at ER for 8 hours while they did a barage of tests including abdominal ultrasound, echo, x-rays, etc. Discovered liver tumor. Possible cause. Also pancreatitis. Scheduled surgery for 12/11. Bg = 500s; ketones = 1.6. Not DKA. Give fluids, anti-nausea. Home with maropitant (cerenia) & mirtazapine transdermal. Continue PZI, 1u. Wt = 12lbs 8oz.
11/23/24. Follow up with Internal Medicine (IM). Low potassium. Give potassium gluconate gel for home.
11/24-29/24. Lack of appetite but eating with extra prompting. Constipated & vomiting from pushing. In pain from constipation. Back to ER. Admitted. Impacted stool. 1 day in ICU to resolve. IV Humulin R. 4 days with IM to regulate bg with long-acting insulin. Discharged 11/29/24. Vetsulin, 4.5u. Added ondansetron to home meds. Moved liver surgery up to 12/4. [We did not know they would change the insulin. We were not happy.]
11/30-12/3/24. Home. Bg range = 300s to 500s using AlphaTrak3 (AT3) but we were taking at all different intervals (+11, +5, etc.). Didn't know about curves, nadir, anything.
12/4-7/24 . Liver surgery. Full abdominal incision. IV Humulin R until in post-op & transferred to IM for recovery & resuming Vetsulin. Decreased to 4u. Discharged. Added gabapentin, Miralax to home meds.
12/11/24. He was doing great considering it was major surgery. We did not do much testing during this time due to his recovery. Follow-up with IM to check post-op recovery & do glucose curve. Recovery going well. Curve: 850a-450p. 363, 327, 277, 267, 366. Had learned from FDMB that Vetsulin wasn't ideal so asked about switching back to PZI. Was told that it would be a setback & starting over. We did not want that so stayed the course. 4u Vetsulin. Liver biopsy = benign.
12/15/24. Everything was going well until it wasn't. Full crash. Wouldn't eat. Walked away from all food including treats & tuna. Lethargic. Not well. Similar to previous. Bg = 483 (AT3). Took to ER. Ketones = 3.6. Admitted for full DKA. Bloodwork also showed full panc episode. Bacteria in urine. We were so scared this was it.
12/15-16/24. Hospital. With ER / Critical Care depts to address DKA, panc. IV Humulin R. Antibiotics. Anti-nauseas. Pain meds. Everything.
12/17/24. Still in hospital. Transferred to IM dept for continued recovery & again to reintroduce insulin (Libre3). At this time, we said we wanted to go back to PZI. The dr said Buster would be in the hospital longer. We understood but at least it would be a medically supervised transition with the Libre3. He started with 4u (like the Vetsulin). 8am/8pm dosing. Libre reader. Reading taken every hour.
12/17/24. 4u PZI. Reader = HI. All day.
12/18/24. 4u PZI. Reader = HI. All day.
12/19/24. 5u PZI. Reader = HI. All day.
12/20/24. 7u PZI. Reader = HI until AM +5 to +8: high 300s then back to HI thru midnight (PM +4).
12/21/24. Significant drop to mid-100s to 200s throughout overnight hours prompted change to 6u at 8am. High 200s PMPS changed dose to 6.5u for 8p dose.
12/22/24 High 200s/low 300s overnight so kept at 6.5u at 8a.
We were picking him up at 2p. He was on antinauseas, antibiotic, gaba, miralax. As the tech was teaching me to use Libre, he dropped to 67 with low glucose alarm. No symptoms of hypo but she was clearly panicked & ran to get him food (FF & baby food). He ate it all & seemed fine. His numbers came up quickly on the drive home.
12/22-present. I have attached 2 sets of Libre graphs. 1 is clean. 1 has all my annotations, including doses, failing sensors, fur shot, etc. I know it's a lot but I'm hoping it will shed some light on what's happening b/c we can't figure it out.
After reviewing Libre data, IM dr said to increase to 7u PZI. We increased on January 4th 6am, nothing is working. Libre has been reading HI all day for 3 days with no drop below 350s.
1/5/25 Libre = HI; AMPS 560 (AT3) ketones 1.1 (NovaMax). But behavior, eating all fine for most of day. Increase in water, urination, & lethargy around +2-4 in both AM & PM
1/6/25. Libre = HI; AMPS 377 ketones 0.6. Same as above. But actually more active, engaged in the day.
1/7/25. Libre = HI; AMPS 494 ketones 0.6. This morning he is lethargic, drinking.
HELP! Should we be going to the ER right now?
We are only feeding 2x per day since December 30th b/c we can't get a handle on his bg. He is starving by the time he can eat. Yelling for it 1-2 hours before it's time. I long for the day when we have control, understanding where his values go with which foods so we can give him some healthy treats during the day. He misses his midday treats & I miss our time together when I gave them to him. It's tough when you are only seen as the 'shot-giver' & 'poker.'
I do not know where to go from here. I am trying to grasp the concept of bouncing. I am trying to keep ketones at bay with extra food in am/pm but am hesitant about feeding during the day b/c we don't understand his curve & are concerned about high bg from food all day. We can't seem to get any consecutive days where something doesn't go wrong (Libre fails, etc.).
Current diet (545-6a/545-6p):
1.5 cans FF pate (75% seafood; 25% chopped grill). [We did not want to introduce fish but it is what he ate ferociously in the hospital & eating is the linchpin so that's what we're doing right now.];
1 chicken churu tube (treat for brushing & teeth maintenance)
Current meds:
7 units PZI;
2mg ondansetron @am feeding;
12mg maropitant @ noon;
mirtazapine transdermal @pm feeding
Buster has been through so much in the past 2 months. For the nearly 6 years we've had him (he will be 10 yo on 1/15), he has had his annual physical & a couple of colds. And now this...
We don't know if this is a bounce or if we still don't have the right dose. I know the vet will just say to increase but I would feel more comfortable if I heard that from the people here who have the knowledge & experience. I'm worried that this long at these numbers is doing permanent damage (if it hasn't already). Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Questions:
Are cats typically miserable during a bounce?
How long should a dose be held until a response? Even if bg is high (no ketones) & water/urination increases & there is lethargy?
Should you feed mini-meals during a bounce? Or always feed in-between since he had DKA?
Are lower values considered a 'response' even if it is only a short time?
What is a 'breakthrough dose'?
Is it possible to be 'overdosing' on the insulin? Is there a way to get back to normal dosing (1-3 units)?
Should he be tested for IGF-1 & IAA?
Is this the wrong insulin?
Are there feline diabetes specialists?
Immediate crisis in BOLD below.
Buster (9 yo male orange tabby - adopted Feb 2019). Big eater. Gentle giant. Can be pet & held for very brief time but no cuddling or lap sits. Easily overstimulated by touch (previous life?). Sweet boy.
3/28/24. Annual physical. Weight down to 15lbs 3oz (highest = 16lbs). CardioBNP down to 52. Heart murmur unchanged. No intervention needed. Bg = 128 (IDEXX). All good but still needs to lose more weight.
Diet (at that time): 3 types of dry mixed together (indoor, uti, hairball) + prescription dental dry + UTI wet. Treats (greenies, Churu, Bravo freeze-dried meat, CatManDoo freeze-dried chicken sprinkles) - every day, several times a day. Same diet for years. No medications. Also, now struggling with constipation. Given a gel product at annual physical for bolus use then small amt for daily maintenance. The only change to diet.
5/23/24. Insane increase of water consumption & urination. Dx = sudden-onset DM. In vet's office, Bg = 483 (meter AT2) Bg = 508 (IDEXX); Wt = 15lbs.
Prescribed: 1u PZI; 2x/day; 12 hrs apart. Only 2 meals per day; Hills m/d only. All dry gone. Period. All treats gone. Period. We were devastated but followed the rules (very hard on Buster & us).
5/30/24. 1 week follow-up at vet. bg (+5) = 205 (AT2). We are all convinced it is the food & weight. Hoping if we keep everything tight, no insulin will be necessary.
Weekly checks thru June/July showed 160-174 (@ vet - all AT2; +5).
9/24/24 check @ vet. Bg = 122 (AT2). Wt = 14lbs 2oz. Down to 0.5 unit PZI.
10/25/24 vet check & dental. Bg = 138 (AT +5). Wt = 13lbs 15oz. We can take off insulin.
11/7/24. 2 weeks OTJ. Next check at vet. He was very scared after being left there last time & dental surgery. Very vocal on the drive. Bg = 161 (AT2). Same time of day.
11/18/24. Increased water & urination starts again. Lethargic. Vet office. Wt = 13lbs. 7oz. Bg = 509 (AT2). Given 1u PZI in office. Told to give 0.5u at dinner (6p). Back to former regimen: 1u PZI, 2x/day.
11/21/24. Won't eat. Can't give insulin. Lethargic. Call vet. Said possible DKA & to take to ER ASAP. We were at ER for 8 hours while they did a barage of tests including abdominal ultrasound, echo, x-rays, etc. Discovered liver tumor. Possible cause. Also pancreatitis. Scheduled surgery for 12/11. Bg = 500s; ketones = 1.6. Not DKA. Give fluids, anti-nausea. Home with maropitant (cerenia) & mirtazapine transdermal. Continue PZI, 1u. Wt = 12lbs 8oz.
11/23/24. Follow up with Internal Medicine (IM). Low potassium. Give potassium gluconate gel for home.
11/24-29/24. Lack of appetite but eating with extra prompting. Constipated & vomiting from pushing. In pain from constipation. Back to ER. Admitted. Impacted stool. 1 day in ICU to resolve. IV Humulin R. 4 days with IM to regulate bg with long-acting insulin. Discharged 11/29/24. Vetsulin, 4.5u. Added ondansetron to home meds. Moved liver surgery up to 12/4. [We did not know they would change the insulin. We were not happy.]
11/30-12/3/24. Home. Bg range = 300s to 500s using AlphaTrak3 (AT3) but we were taking at all different intervals (+11, +5, etc.). Didn't know about curves, nadir, anything.
12/4-7/24 . Liver surgery. Full abdominal incision. IV Humulin R until in post-op & transferred to IM for recovery & resuming Vetsulin. Decreased to 4u. Discharged. Added gabapentin, Miralax to home meds.
12/11/24. He was doing great considering it was major surgery. We did not do much testing during this time due to his recovery. Follow-up with IM to check post-op recovery & do glucose curve. Recovery going well. Curve: 850a-450p. 363, 327, 277, 267, 366. Had learned from FDMB that Vetsulin wasn't ideal so asked about switching back to PZI. Was told that it would be a setback & starting over. We did not want that so stayed the course. 4u Vetsulin. Liver biopsy = benign.
12/15/24. Everything was going well until it wasn't. Full crash. Wouldn't eat. Walked away from all food including treats & tuna. Lethargic. Not well. Similar to previous. Bg = 483 (AT3). Took to ER. Ketones = 3.6. Admitted for full DKA. Bloodwork also showed full panc episode. Bacteria in urine. We were so scared this was it.
12/15-16/24. Hospital. With ER / Critical Care depts to address DKA, panc. IV Humulin R. Antibiotics. Anti-nauseas. Pain meds. Everything.
12/17/24. Still in hospital. Transferred to IM dept for continued recovery & again to reintroduce insulin (Libre3). At this time, we said we wanted to go back to PZI. The dr said Buster would be in the hospital longer. We understood but at least it would be a medically supervised transition with the Libre3. He started with 4u (like the Vetsulin). 8am/8pm dosing. Libre reader. Reading taken every hour.
12/17/24. 4u PZI. Reader = HI. All day.
12/18/24. 4u PZI. Reader = HI. All day.
12/19/24. 5u PZI. Reader = HI. All day.
12/20/24. 7u PZI. Reader = HI until AM +5 to +8: high 300s then back to HI thru midnight (PM +4).
12/21/24. Significant drop to mid-100s to 200s throughout overnight hours prompted change to 6u at 8am. High 200s PMPS changed dose to 6.5u for 8p dose.
12/22/24 High 200s/low 300s overnight so kept at 6.5u at 8a.
We were picking him up at 2p. He was on antinauseas, antibiotic, gaba, miralax. As the tech was teaching me to use Libre, he dropped to 67 with low glucose alarm. No symptoms of hypo but she was clearly panicked & ran to get him food (FF & baby food). He ate it all & seemed fine. His numbers came up quickly on the drive home.
12/22-present. I have attached 2 sets of Libre graphs. 1 is clean. 1 has all my annotations, including doses, failing sensors, fur shot, etc. I know it's a lot but I'm hoping it will shed some light on what's happening b/c we can't figure it out.
After reviewing Libre data, IM dr said to increase to 7u PZI. We increased on January 4th 6am, nothing is working. Libre has been reading HI all day for 3 days with no drop below 350s.
1/5/25 Libre = HI; AMPS 560 (AT3) ketones 1.1 (NovaMax). But behavior, eating all fine for most of day. Increase in water, urination, & lethargy around +2-4 in both AM & PM
1/6/25. Libre = HI; AMPS 377 ketones 0.6. Same as above. But actually more active, engaged in the day.
1/7/25. Libre = HI; AMPS 494 ketones 0.6. This morning he is lethargic, drinking.
HELP! Should we be going to the ER right now?
We are only feeding 2x per day since December 30th b/c we can't get a handle on his bg. He is starving by the time he can eat. Yelling for it 1-2 hours before it's time. I long for the day when we have control, understanding where his values go with which foods so we can give him some healthy treats during the day. He misses his midday treats & I miss our time together when I gave them to him. It's tough when you are only seen as the 'shot-giver' & 'poker.'
I do not know where to go from here. I am trying to grasp the concept of bouncing. I am trying to keep ketones at bay with extra food in am/pm but am hesitant about feeding during the day b/c we don't understand his curve & are concerned about high bg from food all day. We can't seem to get any consecutive days where something doesn't go wrong (Libre fails, etc.).
Current diet (545-6a/545-6p):
1.5 cans FF pate (75% seafood; 25% chopped grill). [We did not want to introduce fish but it is what he ate ferociously in the hospital & eating is the linchpin so that's what we're doing right now.];
1 chicken churu tube (treat for brushing & teeth maintenance)
Current meds:
7 units PZI;
2mg ondansetron @am feeding;
12mg maropitant @ noon;
mirtazapine transdermal @pm feeding
Buster has been through so much in the past 2 months. For the nearly 6 years we've had him (he will be 10 yo on 1/15), he has had his annual physical & a couple of colds. And now this...
We don't know if this is a bounce or if we still don't have the right dose. I know the vet will just say to increase but I would feel more comfortable if I heard that from the people here who have the knowledge & experience. I'm worried that this long at these numbers is doing permanent damage (if it hasn't already). Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Questions:
Are cats typically miserable during a bounce?
How long should a dose be held until a response? Even if bg is high (no ketones) & water/urination increases & there is lethargy?
Should you feed mini-meals during a bounce? Or always feed in-between since he had DKA?
Are lower values considered a 'response' even if it is only a short time?
What is a 'breakthrough dose'?
Is it possible to be 'overdosing' on the insulin? Is there a way to get back to normal dosing (1-3 units)?
Should he be tested for IGF-1 & IAA?
Is this the wrong insulin?
Are there feline diabetes specialists?