New Member

Boo & Julie - VA Beach

Member Since 2026
I'm struggling with conflicting information from my veterinarian on how to manage Boo's diabetes and what the feline diabetes group recommends. Also, my kitty was put on early kidney care prescription diet in June 2025, before being diagnosed with diabetes in November 2025. Could the early kidney care diet have hastened the diabetes diagnosis? They are opposite dietary protocols. Upon review with another veterinarian, his labs show minimal signs of kidney disease, yet they had me change his diet to a high carb diet. And to stay on it while giving insulin!!! This makes no sense and I'm livid as I think it may have caused or hastened the arrival of diabetes. He's only 12.5 years old. Thanks for letting me rant, I'm so upset! We've done two all-day glucose panels and she wants to do another one, even tho he's very stressed and unhappy being there. The numbers are not improving. She wants to raise his dose from 2 to 3, altho this group advises to lower to 1 unit of Lantus, which I'm doing. And I'm now free feeding at the group's advice. I haven't started home testing yet but that will come I'm sure. Thank you in advance for the support - I'm overwhelmed at this time.
 

Attachments

Welcome to FDMB
You are in the right place, and rant all you want, your instincts are correct, the “so called Prescribed” food has nothing in it that’s good for your especially a diabetic cat, this food contain over 20% carbs, when a diabetic cat need to have a diet of wet can or raw food between 0-10% and at least I’m glad you were prescribed the right insulin Lantus and ProZinc are the best insulin for cats they are a 12- hour insulin, I do not give dosing advice but I can assure you that the increase your vet wants to give to start off is way too high, it is recommended here to increase/decrease in 0.25u at a time, and you are beginning to get to know how your cat reacts to the insulin, did your vet tell you to home test?? Of the two glucose panels you are referring to we’re done at the vet’s office, because if it was this numbers will not be realistic, cats get very stressed at the vet, and glucose numbers raise,,therefore the likelihoods of the vet increasing the dose is unnecessary, thiscIS called a curve, which you can do at home without stressing your cat, is simply testing every 2 hour for 1 cycle (12 Hours) It is very important to test your cat before giving insulin to avoid hypoglycemia, you can purchase any human meter at any pharmacy with the strips you do not need to invest on a pet meter, the strips are over a $1.00 each, feeding several meals a day is importantly as well, also transitioning from dry to wet or low carbs needs to be a slow process, you do not want to upset your cats stomach, perhaps you may want to ask questions to your vet, make sure she is very well schooled on Feline diabetes, in our main menu, are sticky notes with valuable information, please keep posting, rant all you want we all have, ask us about any concerns, also I will tag several members that can also give you advice on dosing and have more input, we are here for you
@Wendy&Neko
[USER=110]@squeem3

@Staci & Ivy
 
Last edited:
Thank you so much. Its crazy to pay so much for vet care and then to be given old/outdated treatments, for dogs! I posted his last labs for his kidney blood work, from November. His last curve numbers at 2 units were off the charts high.Vet suggested upping dose to 3 units. I have since switched diet to non prescription but suitsble for both conditions weruva pho canned recommended by fb group, removed kibble, lowered dose to 1 unit, and free feed, asked for fructosimine test, cancelled scheduled vet office all day bg curve, and am switching veterinarians to one up to date on Feline Diabetes. I have the utmost empathy for vets as I know it's an impossibly hard job, AND am mad because it's their job to be up to date on new treatment protocols; my $ is real, it's expensive to get their guidance, and my cat's health is my responsibility.
 
I agree with 100% in everything you are saying, at least you were blessed to get the right insulin, if Boo has no other issues and is only FD, you can actually manage that right here! I have for 4 years, regulating Boo with your dedication and our guidance you can stabilize Boo, without spending $$ on Vets, of course there are exceptions if illnesses occurs, We are very numbers oriented so we would like you to create your signature and Boo's Spreadsheet this way w all the members and yourself can be on the same page, and we get to know more about Boo, links below, also a link to a carb calculator please use it by checking the nutrient on the food, you can also go to the CHEWY.COM web site find the food click on the can, scroll down to ingredients click, there you will placing the nutrients values, those are the numbers you will place in the calculator, we are looking for Dry Matter Carbs,
Are you in US? we can send you a Drs approved list as well according of where you live and connect with members from your Country 🤗 ;)
Are you home testing?

Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
Cat Food Nutrition Calculator | Elizabeth C Scheyder
 
There are plenty of cats here who have both kidney disease and diabetes. You can find foods that are suitable for both conditions, low carb and low phosphorus. Take a look at this list and the fourth one down is for both diabetes and kidneys. CKD food Chart

Having said that, his kidney numbers are actually not something I'd worry about and he's concentrating his urine well (USG or urine specific gravity). I'm glad you got a second opinion about his kidney numbers.
 
He's on Lantus. Vet started me at 2 units, after 2 unsuccessful BG all-day-at-vet-panels, raised to 3 units. On advice of this group I've lowered to 1 unit. He seems to be doing better on 1 unit and free feeding mostly canned wysong pho.
 
I'm glad you trusted your instincts. BG testing at the vet is notoriously higher than it would be at home, one of many reasons we advocate home testing. If you aren't home testing his blood sugars yet, are you interesting in learning how to? It's the best way to both keep him safe and save money.
 
Yes I'd like to learn how. Where do I start?
Right now Im thinking I should have held off on the insulin and tried to remedy via diet. Is it too late?
 
A lot of people in the US use the Relion Premier meter and test strips from Walmart, if there is one near you. It has a relatively small requirement for blood drop, and the test strips are cheap. Important as that's what you'll go through most of. We have tips and videos in this post: Hometesting Links and Tips Along with the meter and test strips, you'll need some lancets, best to start with gauge size 26-28 to start.

If you are on a low dose of insulin, it'd be better to stick with giving insulin until the blood sugar numbers tell you otherwise. It's also a good idea to be blood testing before you switch to lower carb foods, so you can see if you need to lower the dose. Food transitions should be slow, to make it easy on his tummy too. My concern if you drop the insulin is that he might develop ketones, and worse case get DKA. You can use urine test strips to test for ketones:
Tips to catch and test a urine sample
 
Good information from Wendy!!

To test for ketones, one way is with a urine test. One urine ketone test product is Ketostix but there are other brands that are fine. You pass the strip through your cat's urine stream and then follow the instructions to compare the color on the strip to the color(s) on the container. The alternative is testing for blood ketones. You need a meter to do this. It's the same process as testing for blood glucose.
 
I agree with 100% in everything you are saying, at least you were blessed to get the right insulin, if Boo has no other issues and is only FD, you can actually manage that right here! I have for 4 years, regulating Boo with your dedication and our guidance you can stabilize Boo, without spending $$ on Vets, of course there are exceptions if illnesses occurs, We are very numbers oriented so we would like you to create your signature and Boo's Spreadsheet this way w all the members and yourself can be on the same page, and we get to know more about Boo, links below, also a link to a carb calculator please use it by checking the nutrient on the food, you can also go to the CHEWY.COM web site find the food click on the can, scroll down to ingredients click, there you will placing the nutrients values, those are the numbers you will place in the calculator, we are looking for Dry Matter Carbs,
Are you in US? we can send you a Drs approved list as well according of where you live and connect with members from your Country 🤗 ;)
Are you home testing?

Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
Cat Food Nutrition Calculator | Elizabeth C Scheyder
I am
Good information from Wendy!!

To test for ketones, one way is with a urine test. One urine ketone test product is Ketostix but there are other brands that are fine. You pass the strip through your cat's urine stream and then follow the instructions to compare the color on the strip to the color(s) on the container. The alternative is testing for blood ketones. You need a meter to do this. It's the same process as testing for blood glucose.
I agree with 100% in everything you are saying, at least you were blessed to get the right insulin, if Boo has no other issues and is only FD, you can actually manage that right here! I have for 4 years, regulating Boo with your dedication and our guidance you can stabilize Boo, without spending $$ on Vets, of course there are exceptions if illnesses occurs, We are very numbers oriented so we would like you to create your signature and Boo's Spreadsheet this way w all the members and yourself can be on the same page, and we get to know more about Boo, links below, also a link to a carb calculator please use it by checking the nutrient on the food, you can also go to the CHEWY.COM web site find the food click on the can, scroll down to ingredients click, there you will placing the nutrients values, those are the numbers you will place in the calculator, we are looking for Dry Matter Carbs,
Are you in US? we can send you a Drs approved list as well according of where you live and connect with members from your Country 🤗 ;)
Are you home testing?

Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
Cat Food Nutrition Calculator | Elizabeth C Scheyder
Corky, I am in the US! Can you send me a list of doctors in the Virginia Beach/ Norfolk, Virginia area, also members who are near me? I could use some support & a sugar cat buddy. Need to find someone to love him & give him insulin when I'm away as I have several trips upcoming. Thank you so much!
 
I am


Corky, I am in the US! Can you send me a list of doctors in the Virginia Beach/ Norfolk, Virginia area, also members who are near me? I could use some support & a sugar cat buddy. Need to find someone to love him & give him insulin when I'm away as I have several trips upcoming. Thank you so much!
I will tag Wendy she might have a member/Vet in your area! Stick around. FDMB saves cats lives, counting my Corky, I had no idea what to do when he was diagnosed, and today Thanks to tge guidance of these amazing members, my Corky is tightly regulated, keep posting we are here with you😉
@Wendy&Neko
 
I am in Canada - I cannot help with local vets in Virginia. However, there are a couple things you can try. First is to start a new thread in the Feline Health forum, put in the title "looking for vets in the Virginia Beach/Norfolk Virginia area". And see who responds.

Second option is to look at our members map: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/members/membersmap. Move around the map until you get near the area you are looking for, there are some red "flags" on the map. Click on that and look for member names. Note, also look at when they were last seen. Also note that some members aren't active even if they have been recently seen. The new thread in this forum is more likely to help you find active members near you.

Another couple ideas on finding a good vet. First is a list of vet questions. Vet Interview/Screening Topics & Check List
Next is to look for cat friendly practises near you: Find A Veterinary Professional or Practice - Cat Friendly Homes
 
I am in Canada - I cannot help with local vets in Virginia. However, there are a couple things you can try. First is to start a new thread in the Feline Health forum, put in the title "looking for vets in the Virginia Beach/Norfolk Virginia area". And see who responds.

Second option is to look at our members map: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/members/membersmap. Move around the map until you get near the area you are looking for, there are some red "flags" on the map. Click on that and look for member names. Note, also look at when they were last seen. Also note that some members aren't active even if they have been recently seen. The new thread in this forum is more likely to help you find active members near you.

Another couple ideas on finding a good vet. First is a list of vet questions. Vet Interview/Screening Topics & Check List
Next is to look for cat friendly practises near you: Find A Veterinary Professional or Practice - Cat Friendly Homes
Ok, I just tried the glucose testing, the first reading I got was 66, two hours after eating and getting his 1 unit dose of Lantus. That seems like it might be an error? I'll enter in spreadsheet now. However, Boo is very food motivated and NOT cuddly, he's more of a biter when he gets too much human touch. he was formerly feral so...he's come a long way. So, when I test him, it will be good to have a treat that will take him a while to complete while I take care of business! People keep mentioning Churros, is that a lickable treat? Any other suggestions that are long-lasting and Ok for sugar cats? My apologies if these treats are already listed on the site. Is it normal to need several tries in the beginning? uI did several pricks and used 2 test strips, the first reading was 66 the second was an error as not enough blood. It's hard to do by yourself! But I'm sure it's doable. Also, he's black, and I find it hard to see the blood on the back of his ear. Is inside the ear OK? Maybe I'll try the paw next time? Thank you in advance! The lancets I have are 28 gauge, free style. Places seem to be out of 26 gauge. Also, I got the blood from his ear on my finger, then tested that. Is that OK?
 
Last edited:
Is always good to Give a snack or small meal at +2. Two hours after shot and several small meals during the tge to keep the insulin depot on check, Churros are lockable,
here’s a good way to test step by step take a small sock fill the end with some rice, about a gulf size ball tie it, cute what’s left over, you will place the rice sock in the inside of the ear stretching the ear tip to prick, this gives you hold on the ear, have your cat sit in a favorite spot sit next to him cuddle a bit have all the supplies in front of him so he can get use to seeing them, cats are curious, place the back of your palm firm but gentle between his ears, have him the strip in the monitor, the sock inside the ear stretching the ear for pricking , pinch the ear from the outside in the sweet spot, you can get a flashlight a study where the veins are, then holding the head, with your fingers the sock and top of ear , prick, tge ReliOn does not require that much blood, just lightly tip the end of the strip, if you don’t get too much blood you can milk the ear by pressing next to where you pricked, insert the lancet forward not thru the ear
 
I just tested Corky, the pictures explain what I posted the center photo has the rice sock under the ear, where you see the drop, that area is the sweet spot
 

Attachments

  • IMG_4646.jpeg
    IMG_4646.jpeg
    3.2 MB · Views: 20
  • IMG_4647.jpeg
    IMG_4647.jpeg
    2.4 MB · Views: 22
  • IMG_4648.jpeg
    IMG_4648.jpeg
    2.2 MB · Views: 24
I just tested Corky, the pictures explain what I posted the center photo has the rice sock under the ear, where you see the drop, that area is the sweet spot
Ok I will keep at it. Time to make the rice sock now! Thank you so much the photos really help. Can you do this while he is eating?
 
Ok I will keep at it. Time to make the rice sock now! Thank you so much the photos really help. Can you do this while he is eating?
You should not feed right before testing, it alters the BG, but you can reward with a low carb after, it will teach him that he is being rewarded for being a good boy!
 
Ok, I just tried the glucose testing, the first reading I got was 66, two hours after eating and getting his 1 unit dose of Lantus. That seems like it might be an error? I'll enter in spreadsheet now.
If you get a test two hours after the shot, then the 66 goes in the +2 cell for that day. If that value is correct, that is very low for that soon after the shot. I hope you got another test today. If that 66 is true, the 1.0 units could be too much insulin.

Churo's are OK to feed and a lickable treat. And so is any freeze dried all meat treat. Cats seem to go wild for them. You can get better deals in the dog section with larger packages. You can put out a few treats to keep him busy.

You can prick the inside of the ear as well. I also had black ears to deal with, and put a tiny smear of Vaseline on the fur where I was going to poke. It helped the blood bead up, instead of it diving and hiding in the black fur. I did poke the outside.
 
If you get a test two hours after the shot, then the 66 goes in the +2 cell for that day. If that value is correct, that is very low for that soon after the shot. I hope you got another test today. If that 66 is true, the 1.0 units could be too much insulin.

Churo's are OK to feed and a lickable treat. And so is any freeze dried all meat treat. Cats seem to go wild for them. You can get better deals in the dog section with larger packages. You can put out a few treats to keep him busy.

You can prick the inside of the ear as well. I also had black ears to deal with, and put a tiny smear of Vaseline on the fur where I was going to poke. It helped the blood bead up, instead of it diving and hiding in the black fur. I did poke the outside.
I did a second glucose test right before his dinner tonight and 2nd insulin shot. I was unable to do it without distracting him with food, I thought I could just put the lickable treat without dispensing it in his bowl so he would focus on it. But he got frustrated and bit me as I struggled to get the drop of blood. I ended up giving him the Weruva Wx Pho Focused lickable treat because it was the only thing I had to distract him, and I was determined to get a reading. It worked, although he had finished the lickable treat when I got the reading, it was 82 this time. I'm not sure what that means with the lickable treat in his system, so I gave him .5 Unit of the Lantus, not the prior 1 unit, while he had his dinner. I will try again tomorrow, with better positioning, a helper, and Churros lickable treats for AFTER the Glucose Test. I will do one 2 hours after his first dose and will keep it at .5 unit, reducing it from 1 unit, due to advice from this group. Please advise. Thank you! PS He seems to be OK. He's not drinking a lot of water, is not peeing excessively, and is on strictly canned food, and NOT the Early K/D Diet as was incorrectly prescribed by veterinarians at June yearly checkup. One of the veterinarians has since admitted the mistake and said, "Sorry" on behalf of the practice. I can't help but wonder if the incorrect diagnosis and prescription diet Early Care K/D diet, since June, both wet and dry varieties, caused the diabetes. I will be drafting a letter to the practice requesting financial reimbursement and restitution for their error, and possible causation of his diabetes. Which has not been very much fun... LOL. Although I am endlessly grateful for the patience & help I am receiving here!
 
I'm thinking the Weruva Wx Pho Focused canned and lickable treats should NOT be given to him, since he doesn't have early kidney disease, and never did, it was an incorrect diagnosis. The Weruva Wx Pho food was an option the group suggested that met both criteria, kidney and diabetes. But it's not ideal for him, and I can return unused cans/treats to Chewy. Is this correct thinking?
 
Welcome to FDMB
You are in the right place, and rant all you want, your instincts are correct, the “so called Prescribed” food has nothing in it that’s good for your especially a diabetic cat, this food contain over 20% carbs, when a diabetic cat need to have a diet of wet can or raw food between 0-10% and at least I’m glad you were prescribed the right insulin Lantus and ProZinc are the best insulin for cats they are a 12- hour insulin, I do not give dosing advice but I can assure you that the increase your vet wants to give to start off is way too high, it is recommended here to increase/decrease in 0.25u at a time, and you are beginning to get to know how your cat reacts to the insulin, did your vet tell you to home test?? Of the two glucose panels you are referring to we’re done at the vet’s office, because if it was this numbers will not be realistic, cats get very stressed at the vet, and glucose numbers raise,,therefore the likelihoods of the vet increasing the dose is unnecessary, thiscIS called a curve, which you can do at home without stressing your cat, is simply testing every 2 hour for 1 cycle (12 Hours) It is very important to test your cat before giving insulin to avoid hypoglycemia, you can purchase any human meter at any pharmacy with the strips you do not need to invest on a pet meter, the strips are over a $1.00 each, feeding several meals a day is importantly as well, also transitioning from dry to wet or low carbs needs to be a slow process, you do not want to upset your cats stomach, perhaps you may want to ask questions to your vet, make sure she is very well schooled on Feline diabetes, in our main menu, are sticky notes with valuable information, please keep posting, rant all you want we all have, ask us about any concerns, also I will tag several members that can also give you advice on dosing and have more input, we are here for you
@Wendy&Neko
[USER=110]@squeem3

@Staci & Ivy
Thank you so much Corky, this was a wonderful welcome to the group with a lot of good information.
 
I am


Corky, I am in the US! Can you send me a list of doctors in the Virginia Beach/ Norfolk, Virginia area, also members who are near me? I could use some support & a sugar cat buddy. Need to find someone to love him & give him insulin when I'm away as I have several trips upcoming. Thank you so much!
is there a place in the spreadsheet for dry matter carbs? If so I don't know where. I see the calculator above but not sure if it needs to be documented. Or is it just for my info?
 
I'm thinking the Weruva Wx Pho Focused canned and lickable treats should NOT be given to him, since he doesn't have early kidney disease, and never did, it was an incorrect diagnosis. The Weruva Wx Pho food was an option the group suggested that met both criteria, kidney and diabetes. But it's not ideal for him, and I can return unused cans/treats to Chewy. Is this correct thinking?
Chewy will take them back explain his diagnosis and that they are high carbs, I’ve returned before, they email tge return label and you call Fedx and they pick it up and you get reimbursed
 
is there a place in the spreadsheet for dry matter carbs? If so I don't know where. I see the calculator above but not sure if it needs to be documented. Or is it just for my info?
Is for your info, if you want to place notes, scroll the SS to the left, there’s a space for the days notes
 
If you get a test right before the shot, we call it the preshot. In the PM, that value (82) should go in the PMPS cell on the spreadsheet. Don't forget to put the 0.5 number in the Units column.

When people are new, we recommend skipping insulin when the preshot number is this low. Please make sure he has lots of food out tonight to keep himself safe.
 
Good morning, did the glucose test this am after 2.5 hours. It was 67. After reducing shot to .5 for yesterday's PM and today's AM. I didn't have time to do the AMPS test, woke up too late. I think I want to take him off the insulin. Thoughts? Also, if I have to keep glucose testing I am going to need to get a muzzle for him, as he doesn't like it at all, I had to practically sit on him and he bit me, as he was a prior feral kitty and doesn't like much handling.
 
Did you give Boo a shot this morning? You have 0.5 in the "U" column on your spreadsheet which implies you gave him insulin. Also, Wendy noted that if numbers are as low as you're seeing them at the pre-shot test, you should should skip your cat's shot. Did you give insulin last night? There's nothing in the "U" column (U = units) which suggests that you skipped the shot. Your post above (#27) indicates that you gave a dose of 0.5u. So, did you skip or not?

If you are giving a shot with low pre-shot numbers, you really need to get some tests soon after the shot. You need to know if the numbers are dropping into a a range where you need to intervene with food. Please test your cat!

You may want to consider a Freestyle Libre. This is a sensor that is applied to your cat's skin. You can read the blood glucose numbers from an app on your phone. You may need a shirt for Boo to prevent him from removing the sensor. This is information on the Libre.
 
What was the result of the fructosamine test mentioned above? And what date did you get it done?

We do have a dose we call 0.25 units, just eyeball half way up to the 0.5 line.
 
Did you give Boo a shot this morning? You have 0.5 in the "U" column on your spreadsheet which implies you gave him insulin. Also, Wendy noted that if numbers are as low as you're seeing them at the pre-shot test, you should should skip your cat's shot. Did you give insulin last night? There's nothing in the "U" column (U = units) which suggests that you skipped the shot. Your post above (#27) indicates that you gave a dose of 0.5u. So, did you skip or not?

If you are giving a shot with low pre-shot numbers, you really need to get some tests soon after the shot. You need to know if the numbers are dropping into a a range where you need to intervene with food. Please test your cat!

You may want to consider a Freestyle Libre. This is a sensor that is applied to your cat's skin. You can read the blood glucose numbers from an app on your phone. You may need a shirt for Boo to prevent him from removing the sensor. This is information on the Libre.
Yes I gave Boo a shot this morning. I did not test this morning prior to his shot. I fixed the spreadsheet. I will attempt another test prior to the 8pm shot. If it's below 200 I should not give a shot, correct? I am wary about doing another test as he bit my finger earlier near the joint, it's swollen & may be infected, and I should probably get on antibiotics so a trip to urgent care is needed.
 
Oh Wow! Sorry to hear that, I think that Sienne’s sugestion about the Libre, is going to be the best option, not being able to test prior shot and seeing 67 right after is a big risk and it would be great to see some BG numbers during the day as well, do you have some one that Can test prior PMPS ? you do not know his BG during the day giving a shot without testing is a risk, I will tag Sienne she is the one to give you dosing advice
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
Last edited:
Maybe some tips in here to help?

How to Test a Fractious Cat

A mid day test is more likely to tell us if this dose is too high. And yes, since you are new, we recommend no shot if below 200, unless kitty was diagnosed with DKA or ketones.
 
Maybe some tips in here to help?

How to Test a Fractious Cat

A mid day test is more likely to tell us if this dose is too high. And yes, since you are new, we recommend no shot if below 200, unless kitty was diagnosed with DKA or ketones.
In the video she is giving him a lickable treat just prior to testing. Is this OK?
 
PMPS test was 88, while/during eating 2 churus. No shot this evening. Shall I test again this evening? Keep giving him small meals? Is it possible he's in remission, or doesn't need insulin now that he's eating the right food? He seems to be acting fine. I have the Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Beef Feast in Gravy on hand and honey/maple syrup on hand.
 
88 is safe. And is above your test earlier today, so you should be OK with waiting until tomorrow morning to test. Small low carb meals is a good idea. Hard to say on remission yet without more data. Less insulin for sure. We typically step the insulin down to zero, with a 0.25 units dose next. Let's see what tomorrow morning's test says.
 
88 is safe. And is above your test earlier today, so you should be OK with waiting until tomorrow morning to test. Small low carb meals is a good idea. Hard to say on remission yet without more data. Less insulin for sure. We typically step the insulin down to zero, with a 0.25 units dose next. Let's see what tomorrow morning's test says.
AMPT = 86. Shot at .25, or 0, no shot?
 
No shot. Please put NS (for no shot) in the units column so we know you skipped instead of forgot to enter the data.

Keep testing at the AMPS and PMPS times and as long as he's under 100, no insulin. If you can string 14 days together like this, he's in remission. Paws crossed. Keep feeding several small meals. Don't worry if his numbers climb and he needs to go back on a small dose. It's possible the larger depot is still influencing his blood sugar. But the signs are good remission now or later may be possible.
 
Remission, yes!! Paws & tails crossed.
If he's under 100, no insulin. But if he's over 100, then give him how much insulin? His normal dose is at 8pm and I was giving him recently .5 Units.
 
Amps test was 107, so I gave him .25 unit lantus. I'll test again in 2 hours. Not sure if shots at .25 make sense since the numbers are relatively low. I'd love to understand dosing rationale going forward and have a plan going forward. Such as, "if pre test is over 100 then I give .25 dose." Looking for a formula /plan going forward, thank you.

@Wendy&Neko
 
Please get a +3 test. That was a big drive down to +2.

if pre test is over 100 then I give .25 dose
We don't decide how to dose based on preshots, but rather by the nadir or how low the dose take your cat. Lantus is great at keeping numbers flatter when you shoot a lower dose. But that's not what we suggest to new people.

I would not have shot that 107, you don't have enough data to do so. If you see a number in the low 100's, test again a couple hours later to see if Boo's pancreas has taken the number down below 100's but without injected insulin.
 
Boo tested today 137 at AMPS, so given ND. I'll test again in 2 hours. What guidance can you share for me at 2 hr mark and rest of the day? I'll reread the Lantus thread info. Am I doing SLGS, or tight control method? Thank you.
 
Back
Top