New Member

Status
Not open for further replies.

TJ Penn

Member Since 2024
A little overwhelmed with the amount of resources here but very, very grateful!

Im new to being a diabetic’s caregiver and a little dumbfounded right now. Batman was on 4 units a day and his BG was not “under control”. I stepped in as his main caregiver and threw out ALL dry food and all Party Mix treats. Changed to Stella and Chewy’s raw food. That was 5 days ago and Batman has not needed insulin since. He is wearing a BG monitor right now while vet was trying to stabilize him. Is this normal? His BG does drop to as low as 50, with no insulin for 5 days. Is that normal? We give him food and get the BG up when it goes below 70. Will he have these low dips from now on? What if we aren’t home? Thank you
 
Hi and welcome to the forum.
Can you give us a bit more information please?
What type of insulin was he on?
How long was he on insulin.?
Can you give us more data on the blood glucose numbers please?
If you could set up a spreadsheet that would be ideal but if you can’t, we need to see some before and after the change over numbers.
Some cats can go into remission when they are changed over to a low carb diet. This just means they are a diet controlled diabetic so he will need to stay on a low carb diet for life.
He can have 2 main meals a day and I would give him a couple of snacks both day and evening as well. All low carb only?
If he is not getting any insulin he can’t have a hypo.
Link to SPREADSHEET
 
Hi and welcome to the forum.
Can you give us a bit more information please?
What type of insulin was he on?
How long was he on insulin.?
Can you give us more data on the blood glucose numbers please?
If you could set up a spreadsheet that would be ideal but if you can’t, we need to see some before and after the change over numbers.
Some cats can go into remission when they are changed over to a low carb diet. This just means they are a diet controlled diabetic so he will need to stay on a low carb diet for life.
He can have 2 main meals a day and I would give him a couple of snacks both day and evening as well. All low carb only?
If he is not getting any insulin he can’t have a hypo.
Link to SPREADSHEET
New
Thank you, and I’m sorry I have so little data to offer. I work long hrs and my husband has been main caregiver (he’sretired). We had no idea so many tests and records needed to be kept, vets never suggested records or testing at home, much less before each injection.

Batman was changed over to PZ around 7/15/24 because he wasn’t doing well on Lantis. He was on Lantis since diagnosed in 10/23. He has been wearing a BG meter for 8 wks now while trying to get him stabilized. It will take me some time to set up a spreadsheet and record the numbers. I’ll start on it tomorrow after work.
 
Welcome TJ and Batman
This is where you can set up what we call your signature, it's at the end of everyone's post in gray letters. Just tap on your name up top then tap on signature and add this information. You will link it to your spreadsheet

  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Thank you!
 
So he hasn't had insulin (Prozinc) for 5 days now and he is eating a low carb diet? Like Bron said, if he isn't getting insulin you needn't worry about hypoglycemia. The normal range of blood sugar for a cat with a human meter or Libre is 50-100 mg/dl, but some cats can run lower (when not on insulin) and that isn't a problem. The Libre also tends to show lower numbers than a regular meter.

What is the range you are seeing now? How high does his blood sugar go?

Please do not feed any high carb food or treats - even if his numbers drop to the 50s or lower (when not on insulin).
 
So he hasn't had insulin (Prozinc) for 5 days now and he is eating a low carb diet? Like Bron said, if he isn't getting insulin you needn't worry about hypoglycemia. The normal range of blood sugar for a cat with a human meter or Libre is 50-100 mg/dl, but some cats can run lower (when not on insulin) and that isn't a problem. The Libre also tends to show lower numbers than a regular meter.

What is the range you are seeing now? How high does his blood sugar go?

Please do not feed any high carb food or treats - even if his numbers drop to the 50s or lower (when not on insulin).
I will work on a spreadsheet after work and thank you so much. His vet said he would be very pleased with anything under 250 mg/dl so we stopped insulin not wanting him to go too low. He goes for a recheck this Friday. He has been ranging between 250 to 70 mg/dl average. He is wearing a Libra 3 for now. We have been giving him a LC dry coated raw food (Stella and Chewy) when he goes below 60 so will stop that! Have been feeding LC wet food also by Stella and Chewy.
 
I will work on a spreadsheet after work and thank you so much.
I can set one up for you very quickly, if you'd like :-)


His vet said he would be very pleased with anything under 250 mg/dl so we stopped insulin not wanting him to go too low. He goes for a recheck this Friday. He has been ranging between 250 to 70 mg/dl average.
Vets tend to prefer if the BG runs a little higher rather than lower since most people don't home-test their cats.
 
I can set one up for you very quickly, if you'd like :)



Vets tend to prefer if the BG runs a little higher rather than lower since most people don't home-test their cats.
All I have for BG numbers will be the daily curve. Please let me know if that will be sufficient to use in setting up a SS. I’m very unfamiliar with forum boards. Is there not a way for me to upload a photo for you to see?
 
I can set one up for you very quickly, if you'd like :)



Vets tend to prefer if the BG runs a little higher rather than lower since most people don't home-test their cats.
All I have for BG numbers will be these daily curves. Please let me know if that will be of any use in setting up a SS
 
If you get the spreadsheet set up which @Bandit's Mom has offered to do, you can insert them into the spreadsheet. She will be in the forum in a few hours time and will help you.
In the meantime you can post it here. This is your thread and anything you want to talk about or post, you do it here:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top