New Member

Status
Not open for further replies.

SassyCat04

Member Since 2022
Hey Guys - New member saying hello and introducing myself and my newly diagnosed diabetic cat.

So I'm Lisa, and my cat is Makari. He is an 11 yo M Russian Siberian diagnosed on October 31. Long story short(ish) his last two blood panels over the last year or so had high glucose blood levels but his urine was fine and his fructo. was fine.

On October 4th my 14 yr old Tonkinese Female was diagnosed with Stage 2 kidney disease so - there were some changes in the house. Food for her and water bowls added and places moved. A week later we noticed Makari was drinking A LOT of water and peeing all the time. I gave it 2 weeks to see if it was just the change in the house and a fluke but it became obvious something was going on, so to the vet we went for blood work and his BG was 481 and there was glucose in his urine so yes, now he was a diabetic.

He starting Lantus insulin injections at 1 unit twice daily. I've been trying to eliminate kibble and get them all (I have three cats) changed from free feeding. But so much change is hard on me and the kitties. Managing two prescription diets, knowing that all three need different things. Trying to ween off kibble (though they are used to wet food at dinner anyway) trying to ween off free feeding - it's a lot. Trying to decide if they should have access to some food over night, some say yes, some say no - even the vet says don't completely pick up all food so the diabetic can self regulate. But my kidney girl (Lexie) should not eat the diabetic food and my diabetic boy (Makari) should not eat Lexie's food - I'm just overwhelmed!!! And I feel my middle child, Simon, a 14 year old M Tonkinese, Simon, is being totally neglected in all of this right now poor baby.

My husband is great but I've got to be honest The entire past month since Lexie was diagnosed with Kidney Disease and now with Makari going through being newly diabetic - and you all must know what all that mayhem ensues, every moment and conversation is about these cats. I'm neurotic about my cats on a good day. Now - well, now I'm a nut case. These kitties are my kids - they are everything to me and I'm just overwhelmed with all of it. I'm terrified of doing something wrong.

I'm doing Makari's first BG curve at home tomorrow. He hates the glucose test and honestly I suck at it. He is very touchy about having his ears messed with. He's taking his insulin like a champ but the ear pricks are another story. I can't get him to bleed and I end up having to stick him a few times. I feel terrible about it. Any advice on that is helpful. I'm using a warm rice sock. I have the spring loaded pen set to 4.5 but it's just not doing the job. I don't want to pierce his ear!!

Also his tests at home have been a little strange. Some of his BG tests are odd - I think he's dipping lower than he should be but we will have more answers tomorrow I guess. For example last night before eating and 12 hours after his morning insulin you'd expect him to be on the high side, well he was 116.

I guess I just wanted to say hello, vent a little to someone other than my also overwhelmed husband and to people who have walked in my shoes. Thanks for listening!!!
 
Welcome Lisa and Makari
This might help
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand
I find it better to see where I'm aiming

A video one of our members posted, she is using a pet meter ,strips too expensive plus you have to code it
A human meter is just fine, most of us use human meters ,that's what our numbers are based on


VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar
 
If you can fill out what we call our signature that will be helpful,it's at the end of everyone's post in gray

To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Take a look at mine


We also use a spreadsheet to track our cats BG so we know how the insulin is working and how low they are dropping so we know when to either increase or decrease the dose
We adjust the dose by 0.25 units at a time . We don't adjust the dose by going by the Pre Shots

About the spreadsheet
AMPS - means AM Pre Shot the first test you take in the AM ,you need to withhold food 2 hours before testing so it's not food influenced

Units is where you would put how much insulin you gave
+1 is one hour after giving insulin if you were to test then that's where you enter his _BG number
+2 two hours after giving insulin. ditto
+3 and so on until you get to PMPS - PM pre shot withhold food 2 hours before testing

+1 same as you do for AM cycle

We don't give times because we are all in different time zones that's why we use the + numbers
I'll give you the link to set it up , if you have trouble just ask and we have a member who will gladly do it for you


You can look at any members spreadsheet to see what it looks like, it's at the end of everyone's signature just tap on it

Link for the spreadsheet
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

You can read all about Lantus here ,read all the yellow stickys and the 2 dosing methods and just keep asking questions :cat:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/

You need to withhold food 2 hours prior to testing so the BG is not food influenced.
We feed our cats smaller usually @+2 and @+4 after giving insulin
Do you have the U-100 syringes with half unit Markings?
We adjust the dose by how low the kitties BG is dropping not the pre shots
 
Last edited:
I just filled out the signature information :) I'm reading everything I can get my hands on- trust me. The diet will come. It's a lot of change and we are going more toward a full wet diet. Before Lexie was diagnosed CKD and Makari as diabetic they were kibble with wet at night and free fed. (I know bad me) So we are trying to go 90% wet food with dry down just at night or to help when we are away from home for weekend trips or whatever which is not often. And so changing from mostly dry and free feeding is a big change for the three of them. But the vet has advised not to completely pick up food at any time. And I've also read restricting access is not really advised so... there is some mixed thoughts on that for sure.

Just trying to get myself organized at home and get my schedule down is a lot. And Lexie is NOT a meal eater so she's complicating things. I have a log book I use at home to keep myself as straight as I can. The insulin injections are no big deal. I've got that fine - he does fine with it. He hardly notices. He's a very chill cat. But he has very furry ears and he does not like them being touched really ever. So doing the whole warm sock thing and then jabbing him with a lancet is proving difficult for him and for me. Tomorrow's BG curve is going to be a trying day for all involved for sure.

I keep reminding myself it's been 6 days. This will get better. In two months non of this will be a big deal. But right now with both of them it all seems so huge.
 
Thanks for filling out your signature, it must be very hard trying to juggle two prescription diets. Things will get better with testing ,just keep at it.
You can try giving Makari a freeze dried treat before testing and after so he associates getting them with testing
Tap on this blue link and read post #64 the post numbers are to the right of each post and you can read about the freeze dried treats I listed

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-to-this-i-need-advice.269452/#post-3007388

What a gorgeous kitty he is !
 
What a gorgeous kitty he is ![/QUOTE]
Thanks for filling out your signature, it must be very hard trying to juggle two prescription diets. Things will get better with testing ,just keep at it.
You can try giving Makari a freeze dried treat before testing and after so he associates getting them with testing
Tap on this blue link and read post #64 the post numbers are to the right of each post and you can read about the freeze dried treats I listed

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-to-this-i-need-advice.269452/#post-3007388

What a gorgeous kitty he is !

Thank you! Yes - He's beautiful. I will never deny what a gorgeous baby he is ;)
 
Hey Guys - New member saying hello and introducing myself and my newly diagnosed diabetic cat.

So I'm Lisa, and my cat is Makari. He is an 11 yo M Russian Siberian diagnosed on October 31. Long story short(ish) his last two blood panels over the last year or so had high glucose blood levels but his urine was fine and his fructo. was fine.

On October 4th my 14 yr old Tonkinese Female was diagnosed with Stage 2 kidney disease so - there were some changes in the house. Food for her and water bowls added and places moved. A week later we noticed Makari was drinking A LOT of water and peeing all the time. I gave it 2 weeks to see if it was just the change in the house and a fluke but it became obvious something was going on, so to the vet we went for blood work and his BG was 481 and there was glucose in his urine so yes, now he was a diabetic.

He starting Lantus insulin injections at 1 unit twice daily. I've been trying to eliminate kibble and get them all (I have three cats) changed from free feeding. But so much change is hard on me and the kitties. Managing two prescription diets, knowing that all three need different things. Trying to ween off kibble (though they are used to wet food at dinner anyway) trying to ween off free feeding - it's a lot. Trying to decide if they should have access to some food over night, some say yes, some say no - even the vet says don't completely pick up all food so the diabetic can self regulate. But my kidney girl (Lexie) should not eat the diabetic food and my diabetic boy (Makari) should not eat Lexie's food - I'm just overwhelmed!!! And I feel my middle child, Simon, a 14 year old M Tonkinese, Simon, is being totally neglected in all of this right now poor baby.

My husband is great but I've got to be honest The entire past month since Lexie was diagnosed with Kidney Disease and now with Makari going through being newly diabetic - and you all must know what all that mayhem ensues, every moment and conversation is about these cats. I'm neurotic about my cats on a good day. Now - well, now I'm a nut case. These kitties are my kids - they are everything to me and I'm just overwhelmed with all of it. I'm terrified of doing something wrong.

I'm doing Makari's first BG curve at home tomorrow. He hates the glucose test and honestly I suck at it. He is very touchy about having his ears messed with. He's taking his insulin like a champ but the ear pricks are another story. I can't get him to bleed and I end up having to stick him a few times. I feel terrible about it. Any advice on that is helpful. I'm using a warm rice sock. I have the spring loaded pen set to 4.5 but it's just not doing the job. I don't want to pierce his ear!!

Also his tests at home have been a little strange. Some of his BG tests are odd - I think he's dipping lower than he should be but we will have more answers tomorrow I guess. For example last night before eating and 12 hours after his morning insulin you'd expect him to be on the high side, well he was 116.

I guess I just wanted to say hello, vent a little to someone other than my also overwhelmed husband and to people who have walked in my shoes. Thanks for listening!!!
Weruva has alot of low carb & low phosphorus foods that all 3 of your kitty's might enjoy eating. There's also 3 acceptable dry foods that are low in carbs not sure about phosphorus. They are Dr elseys chicken, wysong epicigan 90 & young again zero lid mature. My boys 1 diabetic one not both eat fancy feast pate's. I'm trying to switch them over to Weruva because both of there bloodwork is showing that they are leaning towards kidney disease, but so far Panzer my sugar boy is not having it. I never thought I would be able to test my boy but it's part of our daily routine now & I think he knows that mommy is helping him. It gets easier I promise. Good luck to you & your 3 babies. @Diane Tyler's Mom can give you more info on the foods I mentioned when she gets a chance.
 
Weruva has alot of low carb & low phosphorus foods that all 3 of your kitty's might enjoy eating. There's also 3 acceptable dry foods that are low in carbs not sure about phosphorus. They are Dr elseys chicken, wysong epicigan 90 & young again zero lid mature. My boys 1 diabetic one not both eat fancy feast pate's. I'm trying to switch them over to Weruva because both of there bloodwork is showing that they are leaning towards kidney disease, but so far Panzer my sugar boy is not having it. I never thought I would be able to test my boy but it's part of our daily routine now & I think he knows that mommy is helping him. It gets easier I promise. Good luck to you & your 3 babies. @Diane Tyler's Mom can give you more info on the foods I mentioned when she gets a chance.
Is this what you're talking about @Chrispooky12

I don't know if the BFF play weruva pate is on the list your looking at or not. I wrote down the protein carbs & phosphorus #s in a notebook.
BFF play chicken Checkmate
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 129%
BFF play chicken & turkey topsy turvy
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 129%
BFF play chicken cherish
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 135%
BFF chicken & turkey tiptoe
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 136%
BFF chicken duck & turkey take a chance
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 149%
BFF play chicken & lamb laugh out loud
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 154%
BFF play chicken & duck destiny
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 165%
BFF play chicken & beef best buds
Protein 33%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 171%
Don't know if your kitty likes pate but here is the list of the BFF line.
 
weruva has low carb and low phospherous wet food
With weruva foods
You want the metabolizable energy profile percentage of carbs to be less than 10%, and the phosphorus which Weruva lists in Minerals to be less than 250 mg per 100 cals. So you have to look at two different places in the Weruva charts.
https://weruva.com


For diabetic cats and cats that have elevated kidney values
You want to feed low phosphorous wet food

When you go to the weruva site and click on one of the pics of the food , click on Detailed Nutrition information that is under guaranteed analysis to the left
YOU WANT CARBS UNDER 10% AND PHOSPHORUS IDEALLY LOW 200's OR LESS
 
Is this what you're talking about @Chrispooky12

I don't know if the BFF play weruva pate is on the list your looking at or not. I wrote down the protein carbs & phosphorus #s in a notebook.
BFF play chicken Checkmate
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 129%
BFF play chicken & turkey topsy turvy
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 129%
BFF play chicken cherish
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 135%
BFF chicken & turkey tiptoe
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 136%
BFF chicken duck & turkey take a chance
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 149%
BFF play chicken & lamb laugh out loud
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 154%
BFF play chicken & duck destiny
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 165%
BFF play chicken & beef best buds
Protein 33%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 171%
Don't know if your kitty likes pate but here is the list of the BFF line.
Yes my list I should copy it so I can post it LOL:p
 
Hi and welcome to the group. Beautiful kitty! There is an amazing post from @Elizabeth and Bertie with tons of great tips and tricks for doing home BG testing and getting your kitty conditioned to actually look forward to test time! I need to find it and then I will post it. Do you have a specific "test spot" where you always do the BG test? This is a good plan if you can pick a spot and stick with it. Hendrick would run to the spot and sit there and wait for his ear poke and treat.

When my boy Hendrick was diagnosed, we were free-feeding dry food to all six cats. So I feel your pain, it was a huge pain to transition the entire household to wet/raw/canned food only. One thing that, while expensive, we found super awesome was chip-feeders. They are about $170 a pop but they do the trick, check them out here at Chewy
 
Last edited:
*originally posted by @Elizabeth and Bertie:

It can take time. So do be patient with yourself. (((Hugs)))

With both of my diabetics the key to success with testing has been 'desensitization' and 'counter conditioning'.
My first diabetic was a large and strong willed cat, and there was no way I'd be able to test unless he was OK with that... My current diabetic girl absolutely hates having her ears touched, so she presented a particularly difficult challenge at first (Note: some cats are fine with paw testing, but my girl hates her feet being touched too...)
Neither of my cats has tolerated being held or restrained in any way at all. So, I've had to use 'distraction' to keep them relatively still while I quickly test.
I could distract my first diabetic with some crushed cat treats and test him while he was hoovering up the treat crumbs. My diabetic girl likes to be brushed. So, I just sneak a test into the middle of a little brushing/grooming session and she barely notices. Singing to her while I brush her seems to help too... :rolleyes: ....This did take a bit of time, but with patience and persistence all kinds of things are possible...

With both my cats I've had to go slowly, introducing just a very low level aspect of testing at first, but not enough to spook or upset them.
....This is something that I wrote for another group, just copying it here in case it's helpful...

--------
GETTING KITTY USED TO BEING TESTED - ‘DESENSITISATION’
Some kitties take to being tested like proverbial ‘ducks to water’, they are just not bothered by it at all. Other kitties take a bit more work, and with a minority of kitties it can take a quite a bit of dedicated effort to get them used to the process.
Please be reassured that ‘most’ kitties can be tested, and ‘most’ people can learn to do it. Honestly!

One really useful way to get kitties used to testing is to ‘desensitise’ them to the sensations and sounds involved in the test process. And a really good thing to do at first is just to get them more used to having their ears touched.
So, whenever you are stroking or cuddling the kitty use that opportunity to include very gentle ‘ear touching’ when you stroke them, just for a second at first. Make ear touching ‘ordinary’ and nothing to fear...

You can also go to wherever the cat is chilling out, then stroke them, hold or massage an ear for a second or two, and then immediately reward with a yummy treat and some praise. This starts to condition them to associate ear touching with rewards. And this is what you want to happen.

You can also get them used to the test kit itself. For example, you can rattle the test strip container, or click the lancing device a few times (it can be used a bit like a training clicker), and immediately give the kitty a treat. Then just walk away, leaving them with their reward. They can soon come to associate those sounds with rewards just like when they hear the sound of the can opener...

I did these kinds of desensitisation techniques with my kitties about 6 or 7 times a day at first during the first couple of weeks. It only takes a minute or two each time, maybe only seconds. But that repetition is key to success. Repetition, repetition, repetition...

It can be often be helpful at first to test in the same location so as to establish a routine. I tested my first diabetic on a table top. I test my current girl in her favourite armchair. You can get the kitty used to the test spot by taking or calling them there and just rewarding them with strokes or brushing, or treats.
Make the test spot a place where nice things happen.
If you can get the kitty to the test spot and hold or massage an ear for a second or two and then reward with a treat and praise, you really are most of the way to being able to test on a regular basis.

-------

HOMETESTING TIPS & TRICKS

1. WARM EARS. Probably THE most important thing. Warm ears bleed very much more easily than cold ones. You can warm an ear by massaging it, or by holding something warm against it; ie a pill bottle filled with warm water, or a ‘rice sock’ briefly warmed in the microwave.

2. MASSAGING immediately below the ear prick, with finger and thumb, can ‘milk’ more blood out. I almost always do this, if only for a second or two.

3. VASELINE. A teensy weensy smear of Vaseline on the outer edge of the ear will enable the blood to ‘bead up’ and stops it disappearing into the fur. This also makes it easier to see the blood droplet if the kitty has dark ears.

4. RESISTANCE. The lancet needs something to ‘resist’ otherwise it can push the ear away rather than pricking it effectively. Some folks use a piece of cotton wool or folded tissue. I use one of my fingers, but sometimes do accidentally take a blood sample from myself that way.

5. TWO EAR PRICKS close together can often produce enough blood for a test when one ear prick might not.

6. SCOOPING THE BLOOD DROP ONTO YOUR FINGERNAIL. Doing this is a game-changer for some people. If you can get that drop of blood on your finger or thumb nail you can then let the kitty go and finish the test without her/him.

7. TREATS. It is important to reward the kitty for each attempted test, whether the test was ‘successful’ or not. Cats very soon learn to associate tests with treats. And some will soon come running for their tests. A ‘treat’ is usually a food reward of some kind, but some folks reward their kitties with a cuddle or a grooming session. I actually crumble a few treats for my cat and test him while he’s hoovering up the crumbs.

Remember to reward yourself too. Chocolate is good…

8. GET COMFORTABLE. If you are physically comfortable you’ll be more relaxed, and also less likely to try to rush the process. Some people like to test their cats on a counter top or a desk, maybe next to a desk lamp. Some people prefer to hold their cats on their laps when they test. Some folks incorporate testing into a grooming session. You’ll find what works best for you. And once you get used to home testing you’ll quite possibly be able to do it anywhere, and maybe even while the kitty is asleep.

9. RELAX. Cats pick up on our moods. The more relaxed and ‘matter of fact’ we are, the more relaxed and confident the kitty is likely to be. Some people chat or sing to their cats while they test him. Try it. It might help you too.

10. PATIENCE. Be kind to yourself. You’re learning something new. (And you’re learning something wonderful!)

-------

Re desensitization and counter conditioning, there is a good little video here showing a real life example. The (very fast talking!) vet in this vid is getting a food-motivated cat used to injections. But the principles of desensitization and counter conditioning can be used in many situations.

 
Thank you all for the advice and tips. Of all the things it's the BG testing that's really getting me right now. His ears just won't bleed!!! I feel like such a crap mom right now. His ears are bruising from the tension on this spring load pen. This morning I tried to go with the lancet directly into that vein. I felt it puncture and STILL - no blood after two hits. Maybe the 28 gauge isn't big enough? I never thought I was a stupid person but clearly I'm testing the limits of the theory at this point.

Today's BG curve is off to a rough start. I tried in one ear a few times and my hubby came to hold him when I went for the other ear. Then when I finally go the test done and did his insulin Makari jumped and hollered. Normally he barely even flinches. I did nothing different for his injection. I know I didn't hurt him I'm sure he is just so done with me at this point. But since he jumped like that and I could smell the insulin I'm, of course, worried about that now and messing up this whole curve today. I'm absolutely dreading the rest of this day and 12 noon is looming large with the next ear prick test.

I'm really starting to feel like I can not do this. This is going to be a complete and epic **** show. I'm going to ruin my perfect and laid back cat. I'm going to torture him until he hates me. I apologize - I'm a complete mess. I'm emotional garbage at this point.
 
I'm really starting to feel like I can not do this. This is going to be a complete and epic **** show. I'm going to ruin my perfect and laid back cat. I'm going to torture him until he hates me. I apologize - I'm a complete mess. I'm emotional garbage at this point.

Almost every single one of us has been where you are right now. I was convinced I would never be able to do the home testing. We tried and tried and failed and failed, and I was sure my cat was starting to hate me.

You mention you tried to go "directly into that vein" with the lancet, if you are aiming for what is called the marginal vein, that is painful and causes bruising. The best spot is right along the edge of the ear.

Are you making sure the lancet is pointed down, at a 45 degree angle or so? You want to make sure the lancet's beveled edge is down, so the pointy part contacts the surface of the ear first. Instead of a warm sock, we bought a rechargeable hand warmer, and always wore either a headlamp and a pair of readers, or a combo unit with both a light and lenses. So we could really see what we're doing.
 
Almost every single one of us has been where you are right now. I was convinced I would never be able to do the home testing. We tried and tried and failed and failed, and I was sure my cat was starting to hate me.

You mention you tried to go "directly into that vein" with the lancet, if you are aiming for what is called the marginal vein, that is painful and causes bruising. The best spot is right along the edge of the ear.

Are you making sure the lancet is pointed down, at a 45 degree angle or so? You want to make sure the lancet's beveled edge is down, so the pointy part contacts the surface of the ear first. Instead of a warm sock, we bought a rechargeable hand warmer, and always wore either a headlamp and a pair of readers, or a combo unit with both a light and lenses. So we could really see what we're doing.

I'm going for the vein that runs along the outside of his ear. I tried that as she (the vet) advised me last night after telling her I was having such trouble. I had only used the spring loaded pen so far and I did still try that first this morning. I have it set to 5 at this point. I've been working up from 3 in .5 clicks.

As a reference on the first day I used my other cat Simon who is VERY easy going as a test subject. I hit him the first time on a 3 setting on the outer edge of the ear with the pen in the first attempt and he bled like a pig LOL. So I assumed this would be easy peasy. After having so much trouble with Makari I tried Simon again and I did have more trouble but I still got Simon on a 3.5 setting on two tries and got a good amount of blood.

With Makari it's taking 4 and 5 hits to get the TINIEST amount of blood using the same process I use for Simon. So I just have a hard time believing it's me when one cat is so much different than the other. Now Simon does hold much more still and does not care if you touch his ears and there is very little ear twitching where as Makari does NOT like his ears touched and there is a lot of movement from him. Makari's ear is bruised and I know it must be sore.
 
yeah every cat is different, and it can even be harder to get blood out of one ear than the other sometimes. Or from one part of the ear that was easy the day before, but today just won't bleed! It is a learning process for sure and is very frustrating at times I totally feel your pain. I do recommend freehand vs the spring loaded pen, but some people have great success with the pen. So whatever works for you, I say.
 
I had a diabetic cat 20+ years ago and now I have another. I learned that for me it was easier to poke the ears with the lancet freehand. With the first cat I could just hold the lancet in my fingers and poke. I find these old hands of mine are better at it if I put the lancet in the device, but don't replace the lid and don't set the spring. I also just learned that the point on the lancet is very slightly bent downward. If I can see that and aim it downward, the jab is a quick pick!

You'll get it. You will develop your own routine and method and in no time it will be second nature.
 
Are you making sure the lancet is pointed down, at a 45 degree angle or so? You want to make sure the lancet's beveled edge is down, so the pointy part contacts the surface of the ear first.
Hi Kyle that's strange I was always told to look at the lancet and the part of the lancet that is curved upward is what you should poke with, I've been doing it like that ever since Tyler became diabetic
@Hendrick Cuddleclaw

@SassyCat04
 
Last edited:
If his ears are a little sore or beat up
I have read that many members use pure coconut oil, I have copied this from one of the members posts
just make sure the only ingredient is coconut oil (mine is solid at room temp and I would take an itty bitty dab and rub on his ears)
It seemed to help with the healing
You might be able to get it at a health food store or just Google pure coconut oil

Also try a 26 gauge lancet, I would still do it freehand
@SassyCat04
 
If his ears are a little sore or beat up
I have read that many members use pure coconut oil, I have copied this from one of the members posts
just make sure the only ingredient is coconut oil (mine is solid at room temp and I would take an itty bitty dab and rub on his ears)
It seemed to help with the healing
You might be able to get it at a health food store or just Google pure coconut oil

Also try a 26 gauge lancet, I would still do it freehand
@SassyCat04

I have pure coconut oil and I can try that. I was going to ask the vet tomorrow when I call in his curve numbers if there anything I could put on his ears to help them heal and feel better. I have 26 gauge - it's what came with his meter. You can't see the bruises unless you look at them in the light. So I guess it's not "that bad". It's not like they are purple or anything with scabs and what not. Just the pink spots in the light. I just feel like crap about it LOL. The last two tests went better tonight. I really spent time warming his ears. The warm rice for a minute or two just isn't doing the job. I spent about 30 minutes with him under a blanket with me and warmed his ears until the really felt WARM on my cheek. And at 6pm I got him in 2 tries and at 9pm I got him in one. So heat is the key.

I'm torn between free hand and the device. I stuck my own finger tonight on 3 and wow that thing felt like a sledge hammer. My little finger is black!! I can't imagine what that feels like on his ear!! But he's so dang twitchy I'm not sure free hand is the best way either. I'm really afraid I'll jab him too hard trying to hurry up and poke him. Maybe as I get more relaxed and he gets more relaxed we'll try it. I mean I'm willing to learn and try anything to make this easier on him so we'll see how it goes.

I just want to say Thank you all so much for your help and words of encouragement. I'm an experienced pet owner and I've worked in a vet hospital before. So I do know some things about veterinary care. I thought I was prepared for so much and in a way I am. But when it's yours and when unexpected things happen it's just different. So thanks again.
 
Hi Kyle that's strange I was always told to look at the lancet and the part of the lancet that is curved upward is what you should poke with, I've been doing it like that ever since Tyler became diabetic
@Hendrick Cuddleclaw

@SassyCat04

this topic comes up fairly often with new members and this discussion has been had many times, I think I just didn't explain myself well because I am sure we both agree on the proper orientation of the lancet for best results. This diagram shows the right way to orient the tip.

upload_2022-11-10_5-57-7.png





And good call on the 26 gauge lancets!! I think that is what we started with because we just couldn't get a blood drop otherwise. Once we got the hang of it, we changed to 31g
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-11-10_5-57-7.png
    upload_2022-11-10_5-57-7.png
    142.8 KB · Views: 193
I have pure coconut oil and I can try that. I was going to ask the vet tomorrow when I call in his curve numbers if there anything I could put on his ears to help them heal and feel better. I have 26 gauge - it's what came with his meter. You can't see the bruises unless you look at them in the light. So I guess it's not "that bad". It's not like they are purple or anything with scabs and what not. Just the pink spots in the light. I just feel like crap about it LOL. The last two tests went better tonight. I really spent time warming his ears. The warm rice for a minute or two just isn't doing the job. I spent about 30 minutes with him under a blanket with me and warmed his ears until the really felt WARM on my cheek. And at 6pm I got him in 2 tries and at 9pm I got him in one. So heat is the key.

I'm torn between free hand and the device. I stuck my own finger tonight on 3 and wow that thing felt like a sledge hammer. My little finger is black!! I can't imagine what that feels like on his ear!! But he's so dang twitchy I'm not sure free hand is the best way either. I'm really afraid I'll jab him too hard trying to hurry up and poke him. Maybe as I get more relaxed and he gets more relaxed we'll try it. I mean I'm willing to learn and try anything to make this easier on him so we'll see how it goes.

I just want to say Thank you all so much for your help and words of encouragement. I'm an experienced pet owner and I've worked in a vet hospital before. So I do know some things about veterinary care. I thought I was prepared for so much and in a way I am. But when it's yours and when unexpected things happen it's just different. So thanks again.

so glad to hear it! Great job!! Yes getting the ears very nice and warm is key. This is what we use here:

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B08FMSJ1NN/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top