Hi all, I'm new here. My 11 year old male kitty, Sundance, was diagnosed with diabetes a few months ago.
Stats
- Diagnosed a few months ago but only started Lantus 2 units 2x a day a few days ago after he developed DKA and ended up in hospital.
- Using Auvon pet glucometer starting today
- The nadir so far has been 120.
- Was feeding wet food 2X a day but my vet said I can feed him whenever he wants since he is severely underweight. I know many on here recommend only 2X a day so I am not sure what is best. I do know that if he loses anymore weight it will not be good.
- Currently feeding Instinct Original pate duck and rabbit flavors which are about 5% carbs as well as freeze dried 0 carb chicken treats.
- Vet says to give him 2 units if his blood glucose is over 300 and 1 unit if his glucose is under 300 and above 100
- BIGGEST QUESTION: I have read on here that giving Lantus if glucose is 120 should not be done yet my vet said anything over 100 should be half a dose (1 unit). I did not give him his insuling this morning when his morning reading was 120 because I am afraid his will go too low and because I don't have a good picture of his actual nadir yet (wondering about the middle of the night numbers).
- SECOND BIGGEST QUESTION: Is dosing at shot time based on the nadir number or the number he was at before his pre-shot meal?
The vet I was going to at the time said I could try treating him with diet alone so I spent those months researching and lurking a lot on this forum. I put him on what I thought was a healthy, low carb diet mixing Halo wet food with Young Again dry kibble. I was, unfortunately, not testing his blood glucose because he seemed fine. But over the last month he started to drop weight and became emaciated. Last week, he developed DKA and ended up in the hospital for two days where they thankfully stablized him on fast acting insulin and then sent me home with instructions on giving him Lantus every 12 hours and a Freestyle sensor attached to his neck.
Two days ago, I removed the Young Again kibble from his diet and all seafood (because I read on here that seafood can raise blood sugar in some cats - I have not yet tested Sundance to see if seafood affects him). I also eliminated the medium carb treats he loves and am feedlilng Instinct Original pate duck and rabbit flavors which are about 5% carbs as well as freeze dried 0 carb chicken treats. Ever since I changed his diet his blood sugar has been 120-130 range even two hours after a meal.
Unfortunately, the Freestyle fell off and I replaced it and then it feel off again the same day. The vet wanted me to come in today to have a new one put on, but since I have an appt at the vet on Friday I decided to wait and try my hand at doing the ear prick testing with a home kit until he gets his replacement Freestyle. The vet told me not to give insulin last night because I was not able to test with the Freestyle. This morning, I was able to get a blood sample using my Auvon pet glucometer. Almost 24 hours after his last Lantus dose, which was a half dose because his last Freestyle test was 120) his blood sugar was still in the 120s. I did not test it overnight last night and don't know what it was.
I am going to test him in a moment. He hasn't had an insulin shot in 33 hours and I'm worried that that's really bad. But I'm also scared to give it to him if his pre-food glucose is under 150.
Should I give him 1 unit even if it's in the 100s or should I skip the shot again? I'm so scared that he's going to go back into DKA or backslide because he's doing so well! The vet said they rarely see cats bounce back from DKA so quickly. Any advice is welcome!
Stats
- Diagnosed a few months ago but only started Lantus 2 units 2x a day a few days ago after he developed DKA and ended up in hospital.
- Using Auvon pet glucometer starting today
- The nadir so far has been 120.
- Was feeding wet food 2X a day but my vet said I can feed him whenever he wants since he is severely underweight. I know many on here recommend only 2X a day so I am not sure what is best. I do know that if he loses anymore weight it will not be good.
- Currently feeding Instinct Original pate duck and rabbit flavors which are about 5% carbs as well as freeze dried 0 carb chicken treats.
- Vet says to give him 2 units if his blood glucose is over 300 and 1 unit if his glucose is under 300 and above 100
- BIGGEST QUESTION: I have read on here that giving Lantus if glucose is 120 should not be done yet my vet said anything over 100 should be half a dose (1 unit). I did not give him his insuling this morning when his morning reading was 120 because I am afraid his will go too low and because I don't have a good picture of his actual nadir yet (wondering about the middle of the night numbers).
- SECOND BIGGEST QUESTION: Is dosing at shot time based on the nadir number or the number he was at before his pre-shot meal?
The vet I was going to at the time said I could try treating him with diet alone so I spent those months researching and lurking a lot on this forum. I put him on what I thought was a healthy, low carb diet mixing Halo wet food with Young Again dry kibble. I was, unfortunately, not testing his blood glucose because he seemed fine. But over the last month he started to drop weight and became emaciated. Last week, he developed DKA and ended up in the hospital for two days where they thankfully stablized him on fast acting insulin and then sent me home with instructions on giving him Lantus every 12 hours and a Freestyle sensor attached to his neck.
Two days ago, I removed the Young Again kibble from his diet and all seafood (because I read on here that seafood can raise blood sugar in some cats - I have not yet tested Sundance to see if seafood affects him). I also eliminated the medium carb treats he loves and am feedlilng Instinct Original pate duck and rabbit flavors which are about 5% carbs as well as freeze dried 0 carb chicken treats. Ever since I changed his diet his blood sugar has been 120-130 range even two hours after a meal.
Unfortunately, the Freestyle fell off and I replaced it and then it feel off again the same day. The vet wanted me to come in today to have a new one put on, but since I have an appt at the vet on Friday I decided to wait and try my hand at doing the ear prick testing with a home kit until he gets his replacement Freestyle. The vet told me not to give insulin last night because I was not able to test with the Freestyle. This morning, I was able to get a blood sample using my Auvon pet glucometer. Almost 24 hours after his last Lantus dose, which was a half dose because his last Freestyle test was 120) his blood sugar was still in the 120s. I did not test it overnight last night and don't know what it was.
I am going to test him in a moment. He hasn't had an insulin shot in 33 hours and I'm worried that that's really bad. But I'm also scared to give it to him if his pre-food glucose is under 150.
Should I give him 1 unit even if it's in the 100s or should I skip the shot again? I'm so scared that he's going to go back into DKA or backslide because he's doing so well! The vet said they rarely see cats bounce back from DKA so quickly. Any advice is welcome!
Last edited: