Shawna & Davidson (GA)
Member Since 2014
Hi L&L members.....
My Vet referred a client to me last night, who was here this morning and needs HELP WITH DOSE, ETC. She does not have a computer, but her mom does and she has been given a quick 1 hr review from me on dosing, SS, food, and testing..........she has my extra Reli-On Prime meter, lancets and test strips for 5 days of testing. With her working full time I suggested SLGS method and not the TR due to not being able to test at all during the day.
BG TEST 6/24 at 08:40 am est - 493 / 27.3
Tonight she will test thru the night at PMPS each hour or so in order to get BG numbers to catch Nadir, and is aware of no food for 2 hrs prior to test/shot time.
What I know: Male, 11 yrs old, 14.7 Lbs, Vet Prescribed Caninsulin 2.5u twice daily
DX Feb/18, full blood work done and no known issues other then FD (she's getting records), no Ketones
Shot time is 07:00am _ 17:00pm
Drinking over 1 liter/quart water per day min. and peeing tons
Difficulty feeding (told to use HC with gravy - now LC FF from today) and uses a syringe when kittie doesn't eat
Has gone into HYPO (shivering, lethargic, almost coma) and she's not sure why (now knows symptoms)
She has the FDMB sites and will read up tonight.
QUESTIONS:
Should she change to Lantus or keep using Caninsulin
What dose is recommended with BG at 493
I've suggested she read up as much as possible, get lots of tests, make a profile and detail her cats records asap.............hopefully she will do this within a day or two so that those with experience can chime in and assist.
ANY FEEDBACK I CAN GIVE HER IS A HUGE STEP CONSIDERING HER VET DID NOTHING FOR HER.
My Vet referred a client to me last night, who was here this morning and needs HELP WITH DOSE, ETC. She does not have a computer, but her mom does and she has been given a quick 1 hr review from me on dosing, SS, food, and testing..........she has my extra Reli-On Prime meter, lancets and test strips for 5 days of testing. With her working full time I suggested SLGS method and not the TR due to not being able to test at all during the day.
BG TEST 6/24 at 08:40 am est - 493 / 27.3
Tonight she will test thru the night at PMPS each hour or so in order to get BG numbers to catch Nadir, and is aware of no food for 2 hrs prior to test/shot time.
What I know: Male, 11 yrs old, 14.7 Lbs, Vet Prescribed Caninsulin 2.5u twice daily
DX Feb/18, full blood work done and no known issues other then FD (she's getting records), no Ketones
Shot time is 07:00am _ 17:00pm
Drinking over 1 liter/quart water per day min. and peeing tons
Difficulty feeding (told to use HC with gravy - now LC FF from today) and uses a syringe when kittie doesn't eat
Has gone into HYPO (shivering, lethargic, almost coma) and she's not sure why (now knows symptoms)
She has the FDMB sites and will read up tonight.
QUESTIONS:
Should she change to Lantus or keep using Caninsulin
What dose is recommended with BG at 493
I've suggested she read up as much as possible, get lots of tests, make a profile and detail her cats records asap.............hopefully she will do this within a day or two so that those with experience can chime in and assist.
ANY FEEDBACK I CAN GIVE HER IS A HUGE STEP CONSIDERING HER VET DID NOTHING FOR HER.
Last edited:
