If you look at Oberon's spreadsheet (and especially the graph tab), you can see a pretty clear example of a bounce this week. I've been increasing his dose following the TR protocol, and he had been staying mostly in the 300s pretty much all the time, with occasional brief dips lower. A couple of days ago he moved up from 2.0 to 2.5 U, and it had a really dramatic effect. He went from 318 preshot to 96 7 hours later, and then by the next preshot check he was right back up to 324. He then overshot that and popped up into the 400s for a bit, then back down into the 300s for a day or so. Now it looks like he might be coming back down again. So in this case he didn't dip into dangerous territory, but his body reacted as if it had and dumped excess glucose into his blood to get it back to what it thinks of as "normal."
One thing you could try is fake "test sessions" where you just handle Eli and rub his ears, etc. and give him a treat, to start to get him (and you) used to testing. Also, watch out for odd things that might be offputting... for some reason Oberon really doesn't like the smell of the test strip vial, and backs away from it. I've learned to open it away from him so it doesn't bother him. I think at this point he's convinced that he has trained me to give him treats when he lies down in from of me on the table, and he hardly even notices the poke.