New Member to FDMB

Status
Not open for further replies.

miso00

Very Active Member
Hi All,

Tonight I will be getting my first foster with DCIN. I have been a very active volunteer with the Florida Humane Society when I lived in South Florida the past 4 years and have fostered quite a few but never a diabetic. I have 15 cats of my own, 9 which started out as fosters but due to various reasons I chose to keep them. I am now living in NY and as soon as I heard DCIN needed a foster for a cat near me I couldn't say no. I have had a diabetic dog in the past but he lived with my mother and was unregulated. We lost him this past April due to a mass in his throat that was inoperable.

Jennifer with DCIN suggested I sign up with this site to help guide me with my foster. My fiance, Marc, and I are very excited to welcome Mikey into our home.
 
Welcome to Mikey, Marc and yourself (I don't think you posted your name)
You have done such a wonderful thing by adopting a sugar kitty and like most everyone here I expect you will find it is a real bonding agent. Somehow treating a diabetic cat makes you sooooo close to them.
Looking forward to hearing all about it.
Can Jenn maybe help you get a spread sheet up right away? If not, I will find someone to do it asap ok.
Lori
 
Welcome to FDMB!
SUch a wonderful thing you are doing.
There is a lit to learn ..do you know what kind of insulin he is on or diet
Once you have that you can post it here and that will enable everyone to help you better
the most inportant thing is home testing...
There is plenty on this site to help you.
please feel free to ask any questions you need
and good luck! and welcome

Denise and Shakes
 
I have to get used to posting here. I did forget to put my name, it's Jennifer as well. Mikey's owner was also Jennifer (Jenni) and then there is Jenn from DCIN. The connection was meant to be!

His owner had him on 3 cans of wet food (prescription diet) M/D per day and was also giving him dry food. She has him on 3 units of of Lantus twice a day and she didn't really have a set time to give it to him. His last dose was at 6pm this evening.

I will be getting the testing supplies within a day or 2. Right now he is in the bathroom away from my cats. He is a little hissy but nothing out of the ordinary for being in a new "home". My main concern is how to get him off of his prior routine and onto a better schedule for both the insulin and food. I don't want to "shock" his system.
 
So maybe you need to take a day or two to just get used to each other and get ready for the testing. If you can join him in his room, bring treats and see if he will let you touch his ears. The next step would be to bring in a warm rice sack or hot water in a pill bottle and try to warm his ears. When you get the lancet, bring it in and click it around his ears.

How long has he been on 3 units? Normally that large amount would make us a little nervous. But without testing, it is hard to know if it is too much. I would not change his diet until you can get some numbers. The dry food may be keeping his numbers a little higher and him a little safer.
 
Hi Jennifer! Yes, by all means get reeeelly freindly with the little guys ears if he will let you. They are to be his most beautiful and prized possession in his mind....and yours too! Once you make friends with his charming ears he will be more likely to let you massage them and warm them.

I also must say...I am none to thrilled with 3 units twice a day. That is huge.
I wonder if a dose reduction to 1 unit is wise until you start testing?
Too much insulin is just a terrible thing.

Lori
 
Hi Jennifer and Marc (and Mikey)!

Thank you so much for being willing to bring Mikey into your home.
At first, you might feel a little overwhelmed as you start treating a diabetic kitty, but soon it'll be just a routine part of your day.
Do you know if Mikey has been tested in the past, or if there are any "vet" numbers from recent history. Trying to get a picture of what his BG has been, and how the 3 unit dose was arrived at...

Lantus is intended to be given every twelve hours, so what you will need to think about is what time of the day would that most easily fit into your schedule. Once you start testing, you will need to test just prior to each shot, and ideally at least once in between shots, preferably at the "+6" (six hours after the shot) time. That would be what we call the "nadir" - the point where the insulin should be reaching peak effectiveness. Lantus dosing is determined by both the pre-shot numbers and the nadir number. So, think about "when in the day" all that will work for you all. Then we can figure out how to get you on that schedule.

If I can make just one suggestion? I would, just for safety's sake, drop that 3u dose down to 1u, just until you can start testing. Just in case the 3u is a little too much. If the plan is to start testing in the next couple of days, the reduction will provide more benefit than harm. That might also allow you to reduce the dry part of his diet without worrying about his BG going too low. Another thing we can try is to change his wet food to something even better for "sugarcats". A lot of vets prescribe "diabetic" food like M/D (mine prescribed the same thing in fact), when actually there are cheaper and grocery-store available brands that are better for diabetics. The important factor in food is how low the carb content is. M/D is about 13-14% if I remember correctly. And pretty expensive stuff. Click on the link in my sig titled "Binky's". It will take you to a page full of links to nutritional information. On that page, you'll see links to "canned food charts", two of them. Old and New. Look at both, and pay close attention to the "carbs" column. What you want to focus on are foods that have a carb value lower than M/D. There are tons of them. Preferably, you want to get food with a value of 7% or less. Friskees pates, Fancy Feast classics, Special Kitty from Walmart, Sophisticats from Petsmart..... all of them have many flavors that are under 7%, Flavors with "gravy", or "sliced", or "bits"? Stay away from those. Gravy is carb-heavy. For now, just look. Once you start testing, we can talk about switching to lower-carb food. Many times, a kitty's BG will drop 100 points or more just from the switch to low-carb.

OK, I'll let somebody else have a say! Again, thank you so much for taking Mikey in. Look at the whole site, including the "Lantus" forum under "Insulin Support Groups". You'll see "stickied" threads at the top of most index pages that are full of useful "need to know" info. Lantus has quite a few of them. Read a bunch, and don't hesitate to ask, ask, ask questions. There are a lot of very terrific people here who will be very happy to answer any questions you come up with. You are going to find this site an amazing place.

Carl in SC
 
Wow, 15 cats, you have MommaofMuse beat (but only by a hair, she has 13)! Bless your heart for taking in Mikey!
You have been given lots of great advice. I'll add my 2 cents by saying that when you do start testing, you want to warm his ear up for the poke. While my cedric is now "OTJ" - off the juice, I still test him about once per week, especially since I rescued the neighborhood stray on september 1. I have a hard time getting blood out of him, and ended up using the heating pad insert in a toy that my step mom bought for him about 3 years ago. since my computer got sick and was wiped, I don't have the link to the item on the petsmart site, but it's an orange cat and is about $7. Cedric never cuddled up to it (like I said, it's supposed to be a very small type of heating pad), but has tossed it around on occasion. The buckwheat heating pad inside (or whatever it is) heats in 25 sec in the micro and then I apply it to Cedric's ear. I use a 28 gague lancet from Target (it comes with a cap, then i put it in the sharps container I have for disposal). My meter is a Relion Micro from Wal-mart ($9, test strips 50 for $20).

Welcome!
 
I have been giving MIkey 1.5 units twice a day. He is eating half m/d wet food mixed w/ half friskies pate.NO DRY FOOD. We decided to keep the m/d so as to not shock his system too much with the food change and give him diarrhea. I got the test kit and will be testing him for the first time tonight if all goes according to plan. He has warmed up to Marc and I however is still a little hissy with my cats so he is still in a separate room.

I know I read that there was a place to record his numbers. Can someone explain to me how to do that again or tell me where on the site I go? For some reason I could not send a Private Message to the person who was willing to help explain it in detail. I'm still learning to navigate the site
 
I'm going to ask Sue and OLiver to help you with the spread sheet. She knows how to do it and how to help peeps.
She will come ok?
Lori
 
Lori,
Sue is "off the grid" for a week. She said she'd check in once a day, but I think she's on the road (or on a plane) tonight.

I'm going to have to learn how to do a spreadsheet and get it to googledocs, just so Sue isn't the only "go to" for SS's. I have never done one....

Carl
 
Oh Carl, we really do need another person who has particular skill, I almost feel bad how often we turn to her to set up yet another SS.
I'm going to post and ask who is good at that and would'nt mind being called upon to help newbie's get it going.
Lori
 
Great idea! It something I need to learn how to do, but I got a whole lot on my plate right now... maybe post in Community? I know just about everybody has a SS, but I know there always seems to be this "FDMB and googledocs don't play together really well" issue, and there's some sort of work-around for it. Must be very frustrating to new people.

Thanks!
Carl
 
Marjorie and Grace have volunteered. I'm sending her a link right now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top