New member, Tiger

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda1

Member Since 2014
Hi my name is Patty, I live in Ft. Lauderdale, with my 5 cats. Tiger is almost 16 he has been diabetic for about 3 years. I have been home testing since August 2013. My vet never mentioned to me I should be home testing, just told me to bring him in every month so they could get an accurate reading. I am sorry to say I was pretty dumb and had no idea what to do. Tiger and I have had to travel many times to take care of my mother in another state. Needless to say he has been very stressed out for months at a time. Tiger in on Lantus, at the beginning of his diagnosis he was on 13 units twice a day. Over time,it has changed many times as low as 2 units twice a day and now 5 units twice a day.I have been feeding him the dry DM and Fancy Feast canned with gravy (not realizing the carbohydrates were that high). Since I have found this page (which I am grateful) I have been trying to feed FF solid and friskies pate. Tiger gets Sub Q fluids every other day, however he has not been eating for the last couple of days, I was worried I was going to lose him. I gave fluids every day and last night and today I fed him with a syringe. This afternoon he started drinking and eating a few bites. He has been off his insulin all day Thursday and no insulin today. His bg was 163 this morning I am going to check his bg in a few minutes. I know my meter is not the most accurate, I will get the Relion Prime. Sorry for this long drawn out history of my dear sweet Tiger. Thanks for everyones help, I am learning so much. Hope I did this right!!! confused_cat My question is when they are not eating and have thrown up several times is it the right thing to do about not giving them the insulin????
 
If the glucose is < 200, no shot for safety.

If over 300, a small dose may be OK, depending on what data you have about how low he goes.
 
My question is when they are not eating and have thrown up several times is it the right thing to do about not giving them the insulin????

Yes, it is ok to not give any insulin as long as there are no other risk factors. Some cats are prone to get ketones which can lead to DKA (diabetic ketoacidosis). We think of not eating enough, an infection or inflammation which may be hidden and not enough insulin as one possible situation that can lead to ketone production. There are urine ketone testing strips available at your pharmacy. You might want to consider picking up some.

Going slowly on the food change can often result in fewer stomach upsets.

To help out you and Tiger, you might want to try some of these tips to get her to eat more.

Food suggestions for poor appetite
sprinkle food with :
- forta flora -- a probiotic you can get at vets or online. is very smelly and cats love the taste of it.
- parm. cheese
- smashed crumbles of dry food
- bonito tuna flakes
- halo chicken treats -- crumble into dust over food
- poor a little water from tuna in water over food ( I use low sodium/no sodium added as other kinds in water has veg. broth in it and I assume that means onions, which are toxic to cats-- check labels)
-powdered oregano. yep sounds weird . but some cats like it and it will entice them to eat.

other ideas of foods to offer your kitty to stimulate their appetite:
- trader joe tuna for cats
-baby food -- beechnut turkey and broth or chicken and broth. they have no onions or other additives. some babyfoods have onions . please read labels if you can't find beechnut.
- kentucky fried chicken
- deli turkey /chicken
- plain cooked ( boiled or baked ) chicken breast
-canned chicken for people (watch the label that their are no onions)
- chicken broth -- low sodium
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top