New member- the amazing mama Ember | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

New member- the amazing mama Ember

elainejunko

Member since 2025
My foster kitty Ember is a sweet and loving mama kitty. In June, someone dumped her and her three 5-week old kittens at our feral colony and she carried them down a storm drain to save them from the coyotes. I was able to fish them all out using towels and a net and then discovered they all had horrible ringworm. So I've been fostering them since then, got them through the ringworm ordeal, and two of the kittens were adopted (yay!) so I just have Ember and her son Spark. I noticed that Ember was drinking lots of water so I took her to the vet last week and here we are. Her fructosamine was 543. He started her on 1unit of vetsulin and her numbers haven't been great (lots of 400s). Plus they don't seem to follow a pattern that makes sense! She's had two AMPS days now under 200 and that seems to me like the time that would be the highest. It's scary and I just want it all to make sense so I can stop worrying that she's going to keel over at any second. I just started testing a few days ago so I don't really have enough data to see any patterns yet (I was hoping my testing skills would improve quickly so her ears aren't completely filled with holes) but I hope to do a curve soon to try to get a better handle on things. I now know that vetsulin isn't good and I should try to get the vet to prescribe one of the longer-acting insulins, so I'm hoping to ask about that at my next appointment.
I must say that testing and shooting with a kitten "helping" has definitely added to the challenge. Spark jumped up and jammed the insulin needle into the back of my finger the other day (luckily my finger wasn't on the plunger) and when I'm testing he grabs the meter by the strip and drags it off and bats around the lancet pen. I've had to start putting him in a carrier when I'm working with his mom so he doesn't mess everything up. It's stressful enough without the added complication. I'll probably look back someday and think it's cute but right now I just want to cry. Hopefully he'll get adopted soon. I thought Ember would be an easy adoption too since she's so sweet and beautiful but now I doubt her chances of adoption are very good.
Ember&Spark.jpg
 

Attachments

  • Ember.jpg
    Ember.jpg
    128.8 KB · Views: 7
Welcome to FDMB, I couldn't help but laugh a bit at the challenge you are having with your other kitty trying to test the other, it will get better, and yes, it is a great idea to switch insulin, Vetsulin is harsh on the cat, the best insulins for a cat are Lantus and ProZinc they ae a 12 hour insulin and softer on the cat, you seem you have knowledge on feline diabetes you are testing that's a great start, also not to prick yourself, find a small sock put some rice in it to make a small ball, tie it, cut the left over sock, you use this to cup the ear, also as you test the capillaries will swell and it will be much easier, to get a pattern you should test before each shot and several time during the day, your babies are adorable, you are a good Mommie, please continue to post any concerns you may have, also it is important for a diabetic cat is the carb intake, diabetic cats need to have a wet can diet or raw between 0-10% carbs, most members give up to 5% and use Fancy Feast pates, if you are feeding kibbles please realize that the contain between 20-30% carbs, cats cannot digest carbs so the pancreas damage and more complications may occur, I free fed Corky since 8 weeks old on MeauMix,, he is now 12; 3 years ago he was diagnosed, I have another cat, so I changed them both on the same schedule, if you are feeding kibbles, please do not change foods without transitioning slowly, since it can upset their stomach as well as the BG. Let us know if you would like us to send you a Food list and if you would like us to assist your concerns and dosing. We can send you links to get you started, in the meantime on the Main menu mare sticky notes with valuable information, also if you are doing a curve, you do not need a vet for that and stress him, you can do that yourself, is just testing for 1 cycle (12 hours,) every two hours and save yourself the $$
 
Those first days/weeks/months are so stressful. I'm glad you found this page so you have folks to commiserate with. I don't think I've ever cried as much as I did the first couple months.

What a wild life poor Ember has had so far! Did the vet give you any idea how old she might be? She's beautiful

By the way -- stellar job setting up your signature, spreadsheet, getting her on the right food, learning to test, etc. I can tell you're really doing your reading!
 
Welcome Elaine and Ember. Your sweet kitties are adorable. Ember is a true heroine mama cat 😻
What a story of how she saved her babies ❤️‍🩹

You’re doing great and as Lauren noted, great job setting up your signature.
It helps us to help you much easier.
Hopefully if you can get her on Lantus (or Prozinc), better insulins for cats, she will do even better.

We look forward to helping you both.
Give those kitties some extra kisses from all of us 😻🥰🐈‍⬛🐈
 
Welcome to the FDMB, Elaine and hero-mama Ember!

I'm going to take a second to jump on the "switch/ditch Vetsulin" bandwagon, and to provide you with some research, in case you need it to support your rationale for switching. As has been mentioned earlier, Vetsulin is typically an insulin given to dogs. According to the Journal of American Animal Hospital Association (AAHA), Glargine (Lantus) or Prozinc are the preferred insulin choices for cats. In the link to the journal, you'll see these guidelines about insulin specifically mentioned under "Treatment for Cats."

I had Jude on Vetsulin at the beginning of his diagnosis (because the vet didn't have any Lantus in his clinic at the time), but we switched him quickly to Lantus and began to see good results.

Good luck with Ember's treatment!
 
Last edited:
Those first days/weeks/months are so stressful. I'm glad you found this page so you have folks to commiserate with. I don't think I've ever cried as much as I did the first couple months.

What a wild life poor Ember has had so far! Did the vet give you any idea how old she might be? She's beautiful

By the way -- stellar job setting up your signature, spreadsheet, getting her on the right food, learning to test, etc. I can tell you're really doing your reading!
Thank you! I'm trying to read as much as I can but I'm so afraid that something will happen before I know what to do about it! It's very overwhelming. When Ember was spayed the vet thought she was around 2, but the vet that diagnosed her with diabetes last week said she might be 6 since it's unusual for 2-year old cats to get diabetes. So I'll just call her a young adult, I guess.
 
Welcome to the FDMB, Elaine and hero-mama Ember!

I'm going to take a second to jump on the "switch/ditch Vetsulin" bandwagon, and to provide you with some research, in case you need it to support your rationale for switching. As has been mentioned earlier, Vetsulin is typically an insulin given to dogs. According to the Journal of American Animal Hospital Association (AAHA), Glargine (Lantus) or Prozinc are the preferred insulin choices for cats. In the link to the journal, you'll see these guidelines about insulin specifically mentioned under "Treatment for Cats."

I had Jude on Vetsulin at the beginning of his diagnosis (because the vet didn't have any Lantus in his clinic at the time), but we switched him quickly to Lantus and began to see good results.

Good luck with Ember's treatment!
Thanks for sharing that AAHA link! The vet actually told me to check out the AAHA page when I asked for more information at my appointment, so hopefully when I ask to switch he'll be supportive. Are there any pros/cons to Lantus vs Prozinc or are they equally good choices? I suppose it depends on which one works best with each individual cat, but in general is one preferred?
 
Thanks for sharing that AAHA link! The vet actually told me to check out the AAHA page when I asked for more information at my appointment, so hopefully when I ask to switch he'll be supportive. Are there any pros/cons to Lantus vs Prozinc or are they equally good choices? I suppose it depends on which one works best with each individual cat, but in general is one preferred?
Only Pros as for me Corky’s has been on ProZinc since diagnosed January 2023, just check out his SS. He is doing amazing, it’s so easy on the cats system as well as Lantus they are both just as great, I am not too familiar with the protocol for Lantus, with ProZinc is simple test, feed, shoot, I shoot Corky while he’s eating, feeding 4 meals during the day, I’m an obsessive tester. But testing at least 3 times during the day and AMPS/PMPS is good and of course both insulina are a 12 hour insulin
 
And your vet should not object to switching insulin, you might want to ask or make sure he is familiar with Feline Diabetic especially because of the insulin he prescribed, a lot of vets are not familiar with FD and do not update themselves about it much, so they treat FD as it were a dog, and there is a big difference, besides, you know your cat better than your vet, do not feel intimidated on asking and requesting what’s best for him!
 
Are there any pros/cons to Lantus vs Prozinc or are they equally good choices?

In many cases it depends on your lifestyle, personal preference, and the cat.

I suggest you wander on over to the Prozinc forum and the Lantus forum and read the “Stickies” (yellow starred posts) to help dip your toes into the details (just don’t get overwhelmed, there’s a lot of info there!).

Some key differences between Lantus and Prozinc:

- Lantus is a depot-type insulin whereas Prozinc is more of an in-and-out insulin. What that means is that Lantus builds up in the system and the impact of each injection can carry over into the following 12-hour cycle(s). Prozinc, on the other hand, is primarily out of the system after each 12 hour cycle with no (or minimal) carryover into the next cycle.

- Lantus does best with a pretty strict 12/12 hour shot schedule, whereas Prozinc can be a bit more forgiving.

Lantus tends to be more strict on shot timing because of its depot/carryover nature. Therefore, those who have unusual work schedules and can’t strictly shoot a 12/12 hour schedule sometimes go with Prozinc.

- The concentrations (“strengths”) are different — Lantus is a U-100 insulin (100 units/ml) whereas Prozinc is U-40 (40 units/ml). When comparing prices, keep in mind, for example, that a 10ml vial of Lantus contains 1000 units of insulin whereas a 10ml vial of Prozinc contains 400 units. Also, you’ll either need to use u-40 syringes with Prozinc or use u-100 syringes with a conversion chart.

- Lantus is a human insulin so typically sold by human pharmacies (not often carried by vet clinics, at least where I live) whereas Prozinc is a pet insulin so typically sold by vet clinics/online (and not as often available in human pharmacies).

Both are good insulins. As for this message board, the Lantus forum is busier and probably has more active users daily. But you will find support here regardless of which insulin you choose.
 
Back
Top