New Member: Tango

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elena & Tango

New Member
Hi All,

I have four cats, two of which I adopted earlier this month. The new to me cats are sweet old ladies (almost 17 years old) who were in at the SPCA for several months after their previous owner passed away. One of them, Tango, is my sugar cat who to my knowledge was diagnosed about a year ago. The SPCA got her into remission this summer on Vetsulin and stopped it in June (but was only doing fructosamine testing so not sure how accurate that really was).

When I got her home I noticed a lot of water drinking and large amounts of urine so got her into the vet asap where her BG was over 500 and she definitely is not in remission now! We started glargine insulin yesterday and I am a big ball of nerves about it. She is so hard to get blood from for BG testing--she hates the ear stick, only one ear bleeds well, she growls at me, and she is a black kitty so it's hard to see the blood even when I do get her bleeding! I've read all the tips multiple times and watched videos but she jerks every time I poke with the lancet so I feel like I'm hurting her. In addition to all this her sister has been vomiting and can only keep treats down. I'm waiting on blood work and urinalysis on her to see if she has an underlying issue.

Send good vibes please.
 
Hi All,

I have four cats, two of which I adopted earlier this month. The new to me cats are sweet old ladies (almost 17 years old) who were in at the SPCA for several months after their previous owner passed away. One of them, Tango, is my sugar cat who to my knowledge was diagnosed about a year ago. The SPCA got her into remission this summer on Vetsulin and stopped it in June (but was only doing fructosamine testing so not sure how accurate that really was).

When I got her home I noticed a lot of water drinking and large amounts of urine so got her into the vet asap where her BG was over 500 and she definitely is not in remission now! We started glargine insulin yesterday and I am a big ball of nerves about it. She is so hard to get blood from for BG testing--she hates the ear stick, only one ear bleeds well, she growls at me, and she is a black kitty so it's hard to see the blood even when I do get her bleeding! I've read all the tips multiple times and watched videos but she jerks every time I poke with the lancet so I feel like I'm hurting her. In addition to all this her sister has been vomiting and can only keep treats down. I'm waiting on blood work and urinalysis on her to see if she has an underlying issue.

Send good vibes please.

Welcome Elena and Tango, you are in the right place, we would like to know more about Tango in order to see where's he is at, like home testing and how often, dosing diet etc, below there is a link of the things to do, you can, try reading all the sticky notes, so you can gather much information on diabetes, home testing, shots, I myself use a small hand flashlight in my mouth when I shoo to also be able to see the blood drop, use a small sock with rice in it tie it like a ball, and place it on the inside of the ear, your palm between the ears to hold the head, it will be easier to maneuver, the lancet, monitor etc, We are here to help you and no concern of yours is ever small there are many expert members here to assist you with them, also the diet is very important, in shelters, they feed dry foods, so when they stopped the insulin you probably got him back to where he started before insulin, it is important that diabetic cats eat wet can food between 0-10%, the link below has a Drs' Food list with many brand to choose from the third column will show the % of carbs per food, many member here enjoy the Fancy Feast foods, they are USA made so, no waste goes into their system, all dry foods even prescribed, have between 20-25% carbs and so do the treats, try natural r=trats, 1-2% ham, or raws. You should prepare what is called a HYPO KIT, this involves of KARO Syrup/honey, Medium 12-15% carbs and High carb 15-18 foods, this is in case Tango's glucose number happen to go under 50, It may sound a bit overwhelming We are here for you, You Got This!!:bighug::cat::cat:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-shoot-your-cat.290439/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
 
She is so hard to get blood from for BG testing--she hates the ear stick, only one ear bleeds well, she growls at me, and she is a black kitty so it's hard to see the blood even when I do get her bleeding!

It might help if you put a very thin layer of Vasoline on the area where you are poking so that the blood will "bead up" instead of wicking into the fur.

As far as testing, most cats object to having their ears fooled with. The edges of the ear have few pain receptors so it's not really hurting her. (it hurts us more than it hurts them). The videos are great but I remember the first time I watched a bunch of them and I couldn't help but think "those cats have to be drugged....MY cat would never let me do that!"....by using a Routine/Reward method, within a week she was running to her "testing spot" when she heard me unzip the meter case!

Routine is important in the cat world. Picking one spot to be your "testing spot" and taking her there as often as possible and then giving her ears a quick rub, followed by a high-value treat will help get her used to the idea that "when I'm in this place, the silly human is going to play with my ears, but a yummy treat will be coming soon" can make a huge difference. Be sure whatever you use as a reward is something very special. For my first diabetic, it was a little piece of baked chicken. My current diabetic would walk through fire if there was a Churu on the other side. The only time they get that "special" treat is at test times. And a treat doesn't necessarily have to be food either. Anything that she considers a fantastic treat is fine...a little extra brushing, some play time....whatever works for her!

Make sure the ear is good and warm before you poke too. Warmth brings blood into the area so you're much more likely to be successful. Check the gauge on your lancets. Most lancets that come with kits are 31-33 gauge and are too tiny to use at first. Look for lancets that are 25-28 gauge. The smaller the gauge number, the bigger the "hole" it pokes. As you continue testing, new blood vessels will grow into the area to "heal the wound" and it will get easier and easier to get that precious drop of blood. We call it "learning to bleed". And yes, we've all had our cats shake their heads and send blood flying everywhere! If you don't have at least 1 wall that looks like a NCIS crime scene, you're doing something wrong..LOL

You can also scrape the drop of blood onto a clean fingernail and test from there. Just be sure to apply some pressure to the poke site for a few seconds to help stop the bleeding and reduce any bruising. I like using those cotton round cosmetic pads.

Hang in there! You'll get this!
 
Thank you both! I have updated my signature and profile to share more info about Tango and me. Though Tango is my first diabetic cat I have previously had a cat with CKD and co-occurring hyper thyroid so I've dealt with "sick" kitties before. The BG testing is just a whole new ball game! I've tried several of these tips today as I have tested multiple times due to a very rapid response to her insulin and am feeling a little more confident. She is still sassy with me though.
 
Thank you both! I have updated my signature and profile to share more info about Tango and me. Though Tango is my first diabetic cat I have previously had a cat with CKD and co-occurring hyper thyroid so I've dealt with "sick" kitties before. The BG testing is just a whole new ball game! I've tried several of these tips today as I have tested multiple times due to a very rapid response to her insulin and am feeling a little more confident. She is still sassy with me though.
You got this!! You’ll be a pro in no time Elena:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 10 or 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand not the lancing device
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
Look at the lancet under a light and you will see one side is curved upward, that's the side you want to poke with

Try putting a thin layer of Vaseline on the ear so the blood will bead up
 
@Wendy&Neko
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Chris & China (GA)
@Bandit's Mom

Can someone look at her SS and give some advice
Thank you

@Elena & Tango
Do you have the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings?

Did you get a test last night?
Always try and a PMPS test at night and a test before you go to bed, if not you're missing half the picture

We don't increase by whole units , we increase or decrease by 0.25 units at a time


You need the ones in the left
  • Full and half-unit syringe scales:
49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg

  • Don't reuse syringes. You'll not only run the risk of contaminating the vial/cartridge/pen, but re-using a syringe may be very uncomfortable for your cat:

You can order the U-100 syringes with half unit markings from Amazon without a doctors script
https://www.amazon.com/UltiCare-31-Gauge-Veterinary-Insulin-Syringes/dp/B009LTE0DO


Very easy
Just take the cap off the pen and use a U100 syringes and pull the insulin out of the pen! You will see a small gray rubber stopper, insert the syringe there
syringe-in-pen-pic-jpg.45006
 
Last edited:
The syringes you need are U100, 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes with 1/2 unit markings
If you are using a pen to give the insulin you need to be swapping to a syringe, as above.
With the 47 at +4, you need to reduce the dose of insulin to 0.75 unit at the next dose. The
The 1 unit dose may have been influenced by the previous two doses of 2 units but I think it is safer to go to 0.75 units and see how it goes.
Do you have a hypo box set up?
 
Have a hypo kit ready if needed
Med and High Carb food and have honey in your house



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.

@Elena & Tango
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top