Jingwen
Member Since 2022
Hello everyone,
I'm Jingwen and I'm from Singapore. My timezone is GMT+8.
Tabby (estimated to be 8 years old and above) is a stray cat that I have been feeding for a couple of years. Over the past few weeks, I realized that she has been drinking more water and eating more. However, she continues to lose weight. Thus, I brought her to the vet.
The vet did an IDEXX Chem-17 on her and her glucose was 422 mg/dL & the Catalyst FRU result was 452 μmol/L. The diagnosis was that she has diabetes. I started giving her FF classic pate series on the day she was diagnosed. I have no idea what's her entire diet as she's a stray.
The vet did a glucose curve (4 hours intervals during 12 hours period) for her while she was in the clinic. She was started on Lantus insulin 1 unit twice a day (12 hours apart). I have been following the vet's advice of doing home testing with a human glucometer before feeding her and giving her the insulin shot. I have included the data in the spreadsheet (in my signature). One week later, I sent her back to the clinic as requested for yet another glucose curve (4 hours intervals during 12 hours period). I was told by the vet that 1 unit is not enough and told me to increase it to 2 units.
So the next day, I started her on 2 units in the morning and night as her BG is still over 10 (less than 10 is the value that I was told will be a no shot). Then the next morning, her AMPS value actually dropped to 4.1 (it was 11.4 before the previous shot). So I gave her FF classic pate and did testing 1.5 hours later and it went up to 6.1 (insulin dose was skipped). Called the clinic and was told to reduce the insulin to 1.5units for the night dose.
Instead of giving 1.5units, I gave her 1 unit (PMPS 22.5) as I'm worried she might get hypoglycemia with that dosage. The next AMPS was 10 so I stalled for 1 hour and recheck her BG which dropped to 9, thus I feed her and skip the dose again. I gave her 1 unit for the night as PMPS was 17.7.
This morning her AMPS was 9.3 so I called the clinic for advice, the vet advised me to feed her and test her BG again 2 hours after eating. If it's above 12, give her the shot, if not skip it. Her BG was 11.4 so I skip the dose again.
To say the truth, I'm quite lost and worried about this situation as the vet is actually a newbie (it's her first time managing a diabetic cat). It also confuse me that their glucose curve was done 4 hours apart for only 12 hours period. And they are not able to provide me with the nadir time.
I actually planned to do a 2 hours interval glucose curve over 24 hours period starting this morning, however, her morning AMPS was under 10 and I skip the dose. So I'm no longer sure what should I do and thus posting here to get some help. I'm thinking if she needs a reduced dose of insulin as I'm not sure skipping a dose every day is something that will help her condition.
Thank you for reading my super long post and will appreciate any advice.
P.S: I can't find 1/2 unit marking insulin syringes here so I'm also worried about how am I supposed to give 0.25 or 0.5 unit dose accurately.
I'm Jingwen and I'm from Singapore. My timezone is GMT+8.
Tabby (estimated to be 8 years old and above) is a stray cat that I have been feeding for a couple of years. Over the past few weeks, I realized that she has been drinking more water and eating more. However, she continues to lose weight. Thus, I brought her to the vet.
The vet did an IDEXX Chem-17 on her and her glucose was 422 mg/dL & the Catalyst FRU result was 452 μmol/L. The diagnosis was that she has diabetes. I started giving her FF classic pate series on the day she was diagnosed. I have no idea what's her entire diet as she's a stray.
The vet did a glucose curve (4 hours intervals during 12 hours period) for her while she was in the clinic. She was started on Lantus insulin 1 unit twice a day (12 hours apart). I have been following the vet's advice of doing home testing with a human glucometer before feeding her and giving her the insulin shot. I have included the data in the spreadsheet (in my signature). One week later, I sent her back to the clinic as requested for yet another glucose curve (4 hours intervals during 12 hours period). I was told by the vet that 1 unit is not enough and told me to increase it to 2 units.
So the next day, I started her on 2 units in the morning and night as her BG is still over 10 (less than 10 is the value that I was told will be a no shot). Then the next morning, her AMPS value actually dropped to 4.1 (it was 11.4 before the previous shot). So I gave her FF classic pate and did testing 1.5 hours later and it went up to 6.1 (insulin dose was skipped). Called the clinic and was told to reduce the insulin to 1.5units for the night dose.
Instead of giving 1.5units, I gave her 1 unit (PMPS 22.5) as I'm worried she might get hypoglycemia with that dosage. The next AMPS was 10 so I stalled for 1 hour and recheck her BG which dropped to 9, thus I feed her and skip the dose again. I gave her 1 unit for the night as PMPS was 17.7.
This morning her AMPS was 9.3 so I called the clinic for advice, the vet advised me to feed her and test her BG again 2 hours after eating. If it's above 12, give her the shot, if not skip it. Her BG was 11.4 so I skip the dose again.
To say the truth, I'm quite lost and worried about this situation as the vet is actually a newbie (it's her first time managing a diabetic cat). It also confuse me that their glucose curve was done 4 hours apart for only 12 hours period. And they are not able to provide me with the nadir time.
I actually planned to do a 2 hours interval glucose curve over 24 hours period starting this morning, however, her morning AMPS was under 10 and I skip the dose. So I'm no longer sure what should I do and thus posting here to get some help. I'm thinking if she needs a reduced dose of insulin as I'm not sure skipping a dose every day is something that will help her condition.
Thank you for reading my super long post and will appreciate any advice.
P.S: I can't find 1/2 unit marking insulin syringes here so I'm also worried about how am I supposed to give 0.25 or 0.5 unit dose accurately.