Linda74
Member Since 2021
Hi folks, sorry this is our first post so I hope I'm doing it right, and may be a long one.
Jax was diagnosed in Oct 20 with F. D. He had had several bouts of sickness (foamy stomach acid) for which he was prescribed liquid zantac. But after a particularly bad bout, went in for a full round of tests and ultrasounds and was eventually diagnosed with diabetes (fructo count 535, b.g between 20-30). Prescribed caninsulin 1u x 2 per day. Things were fine, for some time and was reduced by vet to 0.5u x 2 per day when nadir tests were below 6 (on alphatrak meter), he's always eaten wet foods (with gusto), and only biscuits on occasion (not given at all now). We have been trialling alternative low carb foods (he usually has felix agail). Recently however, his stomach acid has started up again and as liquid zantac is no longer available, been prescribed fatodine, which doesn't seem to be doing much at the moment so the vet increased the dose.
Diabetes wise he's doing OK, am preshots average 11-13, higher if he's been sick, pm preshots 8-14, so not always needing insulin. Nadir between 7-10 at 6+, again dependant on if he's been sick.
He went for a range of blood tests 3 weeks ago following a vomiting episode (food not acid) and results were good, liver and pancreas fine, kidney slightly elevated but though this would have been caused by dehydration due to the sickness, fructo now in the 250's. So things were looking good.
Our major problem at the minute is eating and food.... I'm struggling sometimes to get enough food in him after preshots and throughout the day. Sometimes trying several different brands and flavours for at least an hour before injection. I'm constantly following him around the house and pushing the bowl under his nose, only for him to have a few nibbles and then try to Bury the food, again more of an issue if he's been sick. I've tried warming, sprinkling a variety of toppings, fortiflaura, the lot.
Last night he ate that little we skipped the shot (as he's on Caninsulin 0.5u and his pmps was 11.4) knowing he nowhere near enough food in his stomach, around 45g, to cope with the steep hit. He ate very little else last night. - probably around 125-150g in total. This morning his amps were 18.4, and after an hour of following around the house eventually ate 75g of food in varying flavours and brands including a selection of the above sprinkles.
I'm really at a loss as what to do, the vet doesnt seem overly conserned and hopes increasing the antacids will help. It's breaking my heart and emotionally and physically draining me. Any advice welcome xx much love Linda, jax's Human slave.
Jax was diagnosed in Oct 20 with F. D. He had had several bouts of sickness (foamy stomach acid) for which he was prescribed liquid zantac. But after a particularly bad bout, went in for a full round of tests and ultrasounds and was eventually diagnosed with diabetes (fructo count 535, b.g between 20-30). Prescribed caninsulin 1u x 2 per day. Things were fine, for some time and was reduced by vet to 0.5u x 2 per day when nadir tests were below 6 (on alphatrak meter), he's always eaten wet foods (with gusto), and only biscuits on occasion (not given at all now). We have been trialling alternative low carb foods (he usually has felix agail). Recently however, his stomach acid has started up again and as liquid zantac is no longer available, been prescribed fatodine, which doesn't seem to be doing much at the moment so the vet increased the dose.
Diabetes wise he's doing OK, am preshots average 11-13, higher if he's been sick, pm preshots 8-14, so not always needing insulin. Nadir between 7-10 at 6+, again dependant on if he's been sick.
He went for a range of blood tests 3 weeks ago following a vomiting episode (food not acid) and results were good, liver and pancreas fine, kidney slightly elevated but though this would have been caused by dehydration due to the sickness, fructo now in the 250's. So things were looking good.
Our major problem at the minute is eating and food.... I'm struggling sometimes to get enough food in him after preshots and throughout the day. Sometimes trying several different brands and flavours for at least an hour before injection. I'm constantly following him around the house and pushing the bowl under his nose, only for him to have a few nibbles and then try to Bury the food, again more of an issue if he's been sick. I've tried warming, sprinkling a variety of toppings, fortiflaura, the lot.
Last night he ate that little we skipped the shot (as he's on Caninsulin 0.5u and his pmps was 11.4) knowing he nowhere near enough food in his stomach, around 45g, to cope with the steep hit. He ate very little else last night. - probably around 125-150g in total. This morning his amps were 18.4, and after an hour of following around the house eventually ate 75g of food in varying flavours and brands including a selection of the above sprinkles.
I'm really at a loss as what to do, the vet doesnt seem overly conserned and hopes increasing the antacids will help. It's breaking my heart and emotionally and physically draining me. Any advice welcome xx much love Linda, jax's Human slave.
