My cat Brian was diagnosed about a week ago, but I've only just started testing today. He was monitored by my vet who started him on 1.5iu due to his size, and after a week decided to bring him up to 2iu. I am now testing for myself.
I'm going to attempt tight regulation, but my question is as his numbers start to level out, what is the number I shouldn't shoot at? I know I'll need some time to gather enough data to predict what he will do over the first half of the cycle, but hypothetically if I know he will rise for +1 and +2 start to drop, but his preshot number is say 250, do I still shoot?
Or, if during usual cycles there is a drop from 400 to 150, but on one day the preshot number is 250, would shooting lead to hypoglycaemia? Meaning the insulin would still have the same power to lower the BG?
Sorry if I'm not making sense
I'm going to attempt tight regulation, but my question is as his numbers start to level out, what is the number I shouldn't shoot at? I know I'll need some time to gather enough data to predict what he will do over the first half of the cycle, but hypothetically if I know he will rise for +1 and +2 start to drop, but his preshot number is say 250, do I still shoot?
Or, if during usual cycles there is a drop from 400 to 150, but on one day the preshot number is 250, would shooting lead to hypoglycaemia? Meaning the insulin would still have the same power to lower the BG?
Sorry if I'm not making sense



