New member, so glad I found you!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hendrick Cuddleclaw

Very Active Member
Hi all, I am new here and new to this whole ordeal.

My wife and I have set this up as a joint profile where both of us will share the username/account.

We have a six-cat household and last week our nearly 10-year-old Neutered Male Siamese Hendrick was diagnosed with diabetes from a blood test. BG was in the 400s but otherwise the vet said he was not dehydrated and no other signs of distress. When we took him in to the vet on Monday 1/3/22, they did not take a urine sample. We had taken him in because we noticed he looked a little skinny-ish, and then weighed him week-over-week and he had lost over a pound in one week. He also seemed to be getting weird about food and was turning down some of his favorites like sliced turkey breast meat from the deli.

When the vet called with the diagnosis on 1/5 they had us order insulin, Alphatrax, and lots of Purina DM both wet and dry. Then they said we should come in on the following Tuesday, 1/11, to get shown how to administer the insulin, how much to give him, and how to check his BG.

"Tuesday?!!?," I said. "Can't you do better than that he is barely eating anything!"

Nope. That was the best they could do. At the time I knew nothing about KA, I just knew my boy was not himself. Lethargic, refusing food, drinking tons of water and urinating a lot. Was just sitting by his water bowl for long periods of time, lapping at it then just kind of zoning out for a while at the dish, then a few more laps. Clearly in distress but I had no idea what was going on except he was diabetic and wouldn't get any insulin for another 6 days. That seemed way, way too long to me. He seemed like he was going downhill fast.

By Saturday 1/8 he had pretty much stopped eating all together and wasn't moving much at all. I called my vet back and discussed with them, the best they could do was move me up to Monday at 3pm for the appt to learn how to give the shot and test BG. My wife and I hung up with them and called our local emergency vet hospital immediately. Within an hour he was admitted and they gave me an estimate of $7400 on the high end for an expected 3-5 day stay and treatment for KA, pancreatitis, dehydration as well as giving him some insulin of course (short acting).

Thankfully he responded very well to treatment and was discharged on Monday 1/11 (bill was $3400). Unlike my regular vet, the specialists at the hospital want me to bring him in on Tuesday next week for a curve. My regular vet said to do at home. Also unlike my regular vet, the specialist said we don't need to do BG checks at home. The hospital staff showed us how to give insulin when we picked him up and gave us instructions to feed him only every 12 hours then give 1u. Syringes we bought do not have halfs, which is annoying because that is what the vet said to buy so we did. Luckily atm we are giving a full unit 2x day.

So the timeline goes:

December 24th -- loss of weight noticed
December 31st -- loss of weight confirmed to be severe
Jan 3rd -- vet trip and blood draw
Jan 5th -- Diagnosed with diabetes via blood test
Jan 8th -- Admitted to vet hospital for KA, pancreatitis, dehydration
Jan 11 -- Discharged

And that brings us to today. We're feeding at 6am and 6pm, no more dry food for Hendrick, other cats are getting a few bites of dry but 80-90% wet now, low carb (Fussycat, Earthborn). Hendrick is eating Purina DM pretty well, both pate and savory shreds. He only eats about a quarter to a half can though, so total intake for the day is about half a can which doesn't seem like enough to me. He weighs 10lbs.


Now for questions:

Both our regular vet and the hospital said to only feed once every 12 hours and then give insulin. Our multi-cat household has always free-fed with timed feeders on dry food and then we give wet food now and again -- few times a week. We are in the midst of trying to move the entire household to the same schedule as Hendrick and boy are they pissed about that and you can tell it is stressing them out a lot. It sucks. I've read a lot of posts here already and it seems many people still free feed (wet food) or feed 4 times a day. How is this possible if my diabetic buddy can only be fed twice a day? Is that not the case for all diabetic felines? Are people giving insulin after every feeding? We would love to find a compromise that allows for a little free feeding of wet food outside of the every 12 hours meal.

Does anyone use a non-intrusive BG test? At the hospital they had a patch on him or something, no need for lancet prick. I'm going to guess that's not an option at home.

Does anyone understand why on God's green Earth the hospital said we don't need to check BG at home? As I learn more and more about this condition that seems flat out insane.

Still debating doing the curve at home next week -- the cost is not really an issue. On one hand, I trust the specialists to do it right and I am nervous about doing it at home. On the other, from everything I am reading doing it at home makes sense. Much more accurate.

Does the half-can of DM a day seem like adequate nutrition? His appetite does not seem great to me, I thought diabetic cats were always hungry.

Treats such as greenies and temptations. Can these still be given to Hendrick on a limited basis and if so -- is there a particular time of day like right in-between his two daily 1u of insulin? (noon-ish) or right after eating his DM, or after shot/BG test maybe?


Thanks in advance, so glad we found this community and I immediately donated via paypal. I will get Hendrick's speadsheet going and put it in sig. Or ask my wife to figure it out, ha.
 
Last edited:
Welcome to the best place you never thought you would be. I'll try to answer your questions but I have a question for you. What insulin were you prescribed?

How is this possible if my diabetic buddy can only be fed twice a day? Is that not the case for all diabetic felines? Are people giving insulin after every feeding? We would love to find a compromise that allows for a little free feeding of wet food outside of the every 12 hours meal.

Insulin works best if there is some food on board, especially the insulins originally designed for dogs. Feeding twice a day is, frankly, old school.
Feed a main meal at shot time (except the the dog insulins – if it turns out you are using the dog insulin, I will respond or someone else will), and snacks throughout the day, especially the first half of the cycle. Take away any food 2 hours before the next shot so that the test number at shot time is not food/carb influenced.

With recent DKA, you want Hendrick to eat and drink as much as possible. The best way to keep ketones at bay is 1 1/2 times the amount of food, extra water to help flush out the remaining ketones, and insulin.

Are you testing for ketones at home? Very important. More information in these two links.
Ketones, Ketoacidosis and Diabetic Cats: A Primer on Ketones


Does the half-can of DM a day seem like adequate nutrition? His appetite does not seem great to me, I thought diabetic cats were always hungry.

Treats such as greenies and temptations. Can these still be given to Hendrick on a limited basis and if so -- is there a particular time of day like right in-between his two daily 1u of insulin? (noon-ish) or right after eating his DM, or after shot/BG test maybe?

Most cats go off the DM food rather quickly. (You can return it to the vet for a full refund – the company guarantees it). That could be the reason behind the not great appetite. And yes, unregulated cats are almost always hungry. Their bodies cannot process food properly. Or it could be that Hendrick is still recovering from or having a second bout of pancreatitis. Any other signs?

With DKA and pancreatitis in the frame, it is very important that Hendrick eats.

Here is a food chart put together by a vet. You are looking for foods with carbs under 10%.
Greenies and temptations are not low enough carbs. Try freeze dried snacks that contain a single ingredient. Orijen is one brand. Get the dog ones and crumble them up. Same thing but much cheaper. Bits of cooked chicken or tuna work too. No carbs.

Does anyone use a non-intrusive BG test? At the hospital they had a patch on him or something, no need for lancet prick. I'm going to guess that's not an option at home.

Yes, you can use this system at home. It is called the FreeStyle Libre. The sensor lasts 2 weeks (unless your cat pulls it off beforehand – it happens, a lot but it is a good way to start off with).

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...stration-explanations-tips-discussion.221630/


Does anyone understand why on God's green Earth the hospital said we don't need to check BG at home? As I learn more and more about this condition that seems flat out insane.

Still debating doing the curve at home next week -- the cost is not really an issue. On one hand, I trust the specialists to do it right and I am nervous about doing it at home. On the other, from everything I am reading doing it at home makes sense. Much more accurate.
Every vet has a different approach to feline diabetes based on their knowledge (basic training at vet school in diabetes can be measured in hours).

Home testing is the only way to keep your cat safe. Curves can be done at home. Home testing with a testing kit is easier than you think and you will get the hang of it in no time. So will the cat. This is where treats come in handy.

I've bombarded you with lots of information. Sorry. Feline diabetes is a steep learning curve, especially with the start your Hendrick has had (thank you for being proactive with his care – you saved his life). Sort through it and ask more questions.
 
That massive wall of text, multiple edits when I realized I forgot some detail and yet -- never once mentioned the Lanus 1u 2x/day after meal. D'oh!

Don't worry about all the info I am soaking it up.

No other sings of the pancreatitis returning, if anything he has seemed to slightly improve each day post-discharge other than the day immediately after discharge....and the evening dose of Lantus was not given because I wasn't sure if I screwed it up or not and didn't want to double-dose. In hindsight, I definitely screwed it up and shot it into his skin instead of beneath. Now I know to feel that little bit of resistance, needle breaks through other side, then push plunger. But that was my first dose ever administering and I blew it -- but anyway, I suspect that led to a not-great-day-after. Now here we are on Thursday and he has received his 1u of Lantus regularly every 12 hours since 6pm on Tuesday. My wife and I are swapping back and forth so we each get the hang of it. No BG testing yet although we have an Alphatrak and another one that is for people.

Need to get on the ketone checking. Haven't done that.

It seems we should be testing his BG already and I'm just learning when that should happen. AMPS and PMPS and all that. Lots to learn.

Your comment at the end got me about saving his life got me all choked up....again. Man my tear ducts are getting a workout lately.

Thanks so much for the response I was starting to think I did something wrong with my intro post/questions, but also trying to be patient and realize many people cannot just browse forums all day.
 
Also, please feel free to feed more than twice a day!! Almost all members here feed at least 4x a day so go ahead and feed him!

as I am learning, eating causes blood sugar to rise. By the vet's rule, you only feed at insulin dose time and this kind of makes sense in my brain. How is it we are able to feed during the day without a dose following? Is it because the insulin is long-acting and still in cycle? Also, I'm guessing that people doing 4x a day are checking BG and I am not....yet
 
as I am learning, eating causes blood sugar to rise. By the vet's rule, you only feed at insulin dose time and this kind of makes sense in my brain. How is it we are able to feed during the day without a dose following? Is it because the insulin is long-acting and still in cycle? Also, I'm guessing that people doing 4x a day are checking BG and I am not....yet

I'll let someone else answer that because I am unfamiliar with how it all works but I do know that feeding only twice a day is "old school" thinking. Especially if your cat is hungry!!! But yes, I'll let someone else answer your question! Good luck!
 
as I am learning, eating causes blood sugar to rise. By the vet's rule, you only feed at insulin dose time and this kind of makes sense in my brain. How is it we are able to feed during the day without a dose following? Is it because the insulin is long-acting and still in cycle? Also, I'm guessing that people doing 4x a day are checking BG and I am not....yet
Yes - with Lantus, the insulin continues to be active for about 6-ish hours in most cats, then after that effectiveness begins to decline. So nearly all of us feed in that first part of the cycle - larger meal at shot time because the insulin will kick in within 2 hours usually and start to offset that. Then usually a snack around +3 or +4 he's after shot - insulin still working here!

You don't want to feed after that low point (nadir) because then the insulin can't offset it as much and BG will rise. But some cats nadir early, or just are obnoxious about going that long without food :rolleyes: so a very small snack (tsp or two) is sometimes done

Once you get more data you'll be able to see when to feed. If the insulin hits him really strong around the 3 hour mark, then you'd want to feed a little before that to help slow that dive. But that's secondary - first you need data, then find a good dose, then worry about moving feeding times for max effectiveness/flattest cycles
 
I swear there's a post about feeding the curve I just can't quickly locate it right now

Edit: found it but it would be information overload lol
 
Need to get on the ketone checking. Haven't done that.
You can get ketodiastix behind the counter at any pharmacy.

You can also ask for half-unit syringes. (Dosing usually occurs in 0.25 units intervals so that you don't go right past the best dose.)

How is it we are able to feed during the day without a dose following? Is it because the insulin is long-acting and still in cycle?
Lantus is a long-acting insulin.
What is the Insulin Depot?
The short answer to your question (and someone will correct me if I'm wrong) is that the low carb food smoothes out the insulin. Sometimes there can be a harsh drop in numbers and feeding helps that.

With Lantus, you –
1. test to make sure the cat's number are high enough to shoot
2. feed to make sure the cat will eat
3. shoot (some people shoot while the cat's head is in the food bowl

I screwed it up or not and didn't want to double-dose.

Never ever ever give a second shot. You don't know how much insulin did go into the cat. There have been plenty of times when people here were sure they gave a bad shot and by testing, they realized that they didn't.
 
You can get ketodiastix behind the counter at any pharmacy.

You can also ask for half-unit syringes. (Dosing usually occurs in 0.25 units intervals so that you don't go right past the best dose.)


Lantus is a long-acting insulin.
What is the Insulin Depot?
The short answer to your question (and someone will correct me if I'm wrong) is that the low carb food smoothes out the insulin. Sometimes there can be a harsh drop in numbers and feeding helps that.

With Lantus, you –
1. test to make sure the cat's number are high enough to shoot
2. feed to make sure the cat will eat
3. shoot (some people shoot while the cat's head is in the food bowl



Never ever ever give a second shot. You don't know how much insulin did go into the cat. There have been plenty of times when people here were sure they gave a bad shot and by testing, they realized that they didn't.

I was aware of that risk at the time so didn't try and correct my bad shot, as much as I wanted to. Sounds like that was the right call
 
With Lantus, you –
1. test to make sure the cat's number are high enough to shoot
2. feed to make sure the cat will eat
3. shoot (some people shoot while the cat's head is in the food bowl

This part in particular kinda boggles my mind because neither my regular vet nor the hospital internal med people gave us this instruction. The vet hospital internal medicine doctor said just give 1u of Lantus ever 12 hours as long as the cat eats a decent amount. No testing. And my regular vet said to do the curve testing at home, like next week. But didnt mention any other BG checks.

Maybe because we currently only giving 1u they are not concerned about PS BG? Or maybe based on what they saw when he was hospitalized for the KA and on a BG monitor. One thing that I wonder is why the hell they couldnt just do the curve then, why send him home for a week of 1u 2x/day, THEN bring him back and leave him for the day to curve
 
This part in particular kinda boggles my mind because neither my regular vet nor the hospital internal med people gave us this instruction. The vet hospital internal medicine doctor said just give 1u of Lantus ever 12 hours as long as the cat eats a decent amount. No testing. And my regular vet said to do the curve testing at home, like next week. But didnt mention any other BG checks.

Maybe because we currently only giving 1u they are not concerned about PS BG? Or maybe based on what they saw when he was hospitalized for the KA and on a BG monitor. One thing that I wonder is why the hell they couldnt just do the curve then, why send him home for a week of 1u 2x/day, THEN bring him back and leave him for the day to curve
So the way the majority of vets choose to manage FD is to just keep them in "better" numbers. Better meaning...better than they were at diagnosis. On one hand it's understandable because this is A LOT for caregivers to take on, and many choose to euthanize already with the diagnosis. Problem with this is twofold - one, higher numbers are often over renal threshold, and over time do damage to kidneys, and sometimes even neuropathy. Two, basing dose on fructosamine (average of BG over past two weeks ish) or a single curve (done in vets office where stress is affecting BG, or even on a day they may be bouncing) does not accurately tell you how low the dose is taking them - that's the really dangerous part. And I suppose #3 - in cats like yours with a history of ketones/DKA, the absolutely critical thing is getting them to a good dose with normal numbers, or the ketones will form again..add in any sort of illness and infection, boom another DKA hospitalization
 
thanks for the response, I am just wired in a way where I have this need to understand things. I don't do well with medical instruction or direction unless I get the background and can harbor at least a basic understanding.

Regarding the DKA hospitalization, I'm sure lots of people wouldn't have taken him. He was still eating, albeit very little. No vomiting. No drunk walking. But I could see he was trending in the wrong direction and our vet couldn't see him for another 48 hours -- that was really what drove us to call the emergency vet. So basically even though it was expensive, I am glad we took him and it wasn't allowed to worsen. Hopefully this means less chance of additional DKA.
 
One thing that I wonder is why the hell they couldnt just do the curve then, why send him home for a week of 1u 2x/day, THEN bring him back and leave him for the day to curve

It can take up to a week for the Lantus depot to fill.

This part in particular kinda boggles my mind because neither my regular vet nor the hospital internal med people gave us this instruction. The vet hospital internal medicine doctor said just give 1u of Lantus ever 12 hours as long as the cat eats a decent amount. No testing. And my regular vet said to do the curve testing at home, like next week. But didnt mention any other BG checks.

This forum has been around for a long time. The people here have done the research (and continue to do so), and they live or have lived with feline diabetes 24/7. Like I said in my first post, welcome to the best place you never thought you would be. Waving from Canada.
 
It can take up to a week for the Lantus depot to fill.



This forum has been around for a long time. The people here have done the research (and continue to do so), and they live or have lived with feline diabetes 24/7. Like I said in my first post, welcome to the best place you never thought you would be. Waving from Canada.

Ah ok ty for the explanation on the delay in doing a curve. I am across Lake Ontario from the Great White North, in WNY. Hello up there, United State's hat. :)

I love my Canadian neighbors (you can keep the geese) and my wife loves your chip flavours. We just got an order from Canadian Munch this week -- Spicy Dill Pickle, Loaded, etc etc. And some maple cookies that look amazing, haven't tried 'em yet.
 
thanks for the response, I am just wired in a way where I have this need to understand things. I don't do well with medical instruction or direction unless I get the background and can harbor at least a basic understanding.

Regarding the DKA hospitalization, I'm sure lots of people wouldn't have taken him. He was still eating, albeit very little. No vomiting. No drunk walking. But I could see he was trending in the wrong direction and our vet couldn't see him for another 48 hours -- that was really what drove us to call the emergency vet. So basically even though it was expensive, I am glad we took him and it wasn't allowed to worsen. Hopefully this means less chance of additional DKA.
Makes sense! It's a lot of reading and re-reading. I actually free fed my cat (no weight/gluttony issues) and he pretty naturally feeds his own curve - eats more early on, a lot when he's seeing bigger drops, and basically nothing after nadir - and stayed pretty flat.
 
Ok I just set up the AlphaTrak 2 and did the control. One thing I'm not clear on -- after using lancet device...do you take a test stip and touch it to the blood drop on the ear, then place in monitor? Or does the lancet device capture a drop which you then place on the strip which is already inserted into the monitor.
 
Ok I just set up the AlphaTrak 2 and did the control. One thing I'm not clear on -- after using lancet device...do you take a test stip and touch it to the blood drop on the ear, then place in monitor? Or does the lancet device capture a drop which you then place on the strip which is already inserted into the monitor.
You insert the test strip in the Alpha Trak and touch it to the blood on the ear
If you ever have trouble using the lancet device, most of us just freehand, we just hold the lancet and poke the ear, 26 or 28 gauge lancet

I see you said you also have a human meter (which one ) that's what most of us use , our numbers are based on human meters, but the Alpha Trak is also fine to use.
I know the test strips are more expensive for the Alpha Trak than the human meters

Great you already set up your signature if you are interested since you will begin home testing
which I highly suggest
We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.:cat:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
It also explains how the spreadsheet works
If you have trouble setting it up just ask , we have a member that will set it up for you in a couple of minutes

Hendrick's is a handsome boy :cat:
 
Last edited:
Hi and welcome to the forum.
If your kitty Hendrick was diagnosed with DKA…diabetic ketoacidosis you should be offering as much food as possible at the moment. Definitely don’t just feed twice a day. Cats recovering from DKA need 1 and a half times as many calories as they normally eat. So you need to be feeding him every couple of hours to ensure he gets enough food.

The second thing you need to be doing is making sure he is getting enough insulin. If you can get the Spreadsheet set up …I think Diane gave you the link and start putting in the BG data we will be able to help you with dosing. It’s important you don’t skip any doses of insulin as cats recovering from DKA need insulin. So hometesting is the way to go if you can. Just giving insulin blind is dangerous.

You also need to be checking every day at the moment that there are no ketones in the urine. To do this you need a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy, collect a urine sample and test it as per the instructions on the bottle. Any ketones at all means the insulin and or food needs to be adjusted.

Also adding a teaspoon of warm water to the food if he will allow will help increase the amount of fluids he is having which is also important.
 
You insert the test strip in the Alpha Trak and touch it to the blood on the ear
If you ever have trouble using the lancet device, most of us just freehand, we just hold the lancet and poke the ear, 26 or 28 gauge lancet

Ahh ok thank you, I feel silly asking now. D'oh, so obvious.

Hendrick's is a handsome boy :cat:

I am such an emotional wreck from all this, I actually burst into tears when I read your sweet comment, lol. Thanks for the kind words, he sure is.

Also, in a post above you linked information about the two dosing methods. I started to read about Strict Dosing and its high success rate in newly diagnosed cats with good glycemic control and I was like OK this sounds good lets do this.

So then I read:
Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir. Initially, blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9. More monitoring may be needed.


Son. of. A. Biscuit. Had no idea. Havent started testing yet and he's been on Lantus since Monday 6pm. Dammit.

Well that ends now. We'll do the first BG check tonight at +3. Not sure we can pull off the +6 and +9 tonight, that would be....midnight and 3am. We both work early. But tomorrow I can do 9am, noon, and 3pm as I work from home...well, assuming I can do it without my wife's help.
 
Just reading your last post……with DKA we recommend strongly that you follow the tight regulation method, especially in the beginning as the dose of insulin may need to be changed more often than the SLGS method allows.
The insulin dose is so important when looking after post DKA kitties. That’s why we don’t like you to skip a dose. If the BG is too low to shoot…..stall, dont feed and post and ask for help…and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising. So initially I’d the BG is below 200…….stall.

We really need to get your SS up and running asap so I am going to ask @Bandit's Mom to help you. She’s great at it and so quick. She will be around in a couple of hours, so look out for a post from her. We can’t really help you with dosing until we have the SS and some data.
Let us know when you have a ketone urine test done and the result please.



 
Hi and welcome to the forum.
If your kitty Hendrick was diagnosed with DKA…diabetic ketoacidosis you should be offering as much food as possible at the moment. Definitely don’t just feed twice a day. Cats recovering from DKA need 1 and a half times as many calories as they normally eat. So you need to be feeding him every couple of hours to ensure he gets enough food.

The second thing you need to be doing is making sure he is getting enough insulin. If you can get the Spreadsheet set up …I think Diane gave you the link and start putting in the BG data we will be able to help you with dosing. It’s important you don’t skip any doses of insulin as cats recovering from DKA need insulin. So hometesting is the way to go if you can. Just giving insulin blind is dangerous.

You also need to be checking every day at the moment that there are no ketones in the urine. To do this you need a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy, collect a urine sample and test it as per the instructions on the bottle. Any ketones at all means the insulin and or food needs to be adjusted.

Also adding a teaspoon of warm water to the food if he will allow will help increase the amount of fluids he is having which is also important.

Thank you for the warm water suggestion and the information about his DKA, and making sure it doesn't return. For his sake and the sake of my savings account I wholeheartedly agree. I had no idea how expensive such treatment could be, that blew me away.

Will get ketostix and learn how to get sample. And definitely will get a spreadsheet going and linked. Ty again
 
Just reading your last post……with DKA we recommend strongly that you follow the tight regulation method, especially in the beginning as the dose of insulin may need to be changed more often than the SLGS method allows.
The insulin dose is so important when looking after post DKA kitties. That’s why we don’t like you to skip a dose. If the BG is too low to shoot…..stall, dont feed and post and ask for help…and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising. So initially I’d the BG is below 200…….stall.

very interesting info, and I can't tell you how much I appreciate it. I was reading a post above about testing before shot to ensure BG isn't so low a shot should not be given and I looked at my wife and said "what's too low??"

so new to this. Your post above mentioning 200 is the first time I've had any idea what "too low for shot" looks like. Man I need to learn so much.
 
As for Ketone testing: After my cat had DKA and was hospitalized for a week, I didn't want to mess around with those little urine dip sticks (or stalking him to the litter box.) I went for the big guns. I bought a blood ketone meter which tests for ketones in the blood and gives you a numerical value for the ketones. You test exactly the same as you test blood glucose and, in fact, can use the same drop of blood to put on the test strip. I bought the NovaMax Plus blood ketone meter (which can also be used to test BG but that requires a different strip and I never used it for that because I used a ReliOn Premiere). The strips for this are kind of expensive, but it's quite accurate and a lot cheaper than another week in the hospital recovering from DKA.
 
Your post above mentioning 200 is the first time I've had any idea what "too low for shot" looks like. Man I need to learn so much.
200 is for new members with no data. As you gather data you will start to shoot lower. We can help you with that. We were all new once so don’t worry. It’s a steep learning curve in the beginning then it gets much easier.
 
thanks for the response, I am just wired in a way where I have this need to understand things. I don't do well with medical instruction or direction unless I get the background and can harbor at least a basic understanding.

Regarding the DKA hospitalization, I'm sure lots of people wouldn't have taken him. He was still eating, albeit very little. No vomiting. No drunk walking. But I could see he was trending in the wrong direction and our vet couldn't see him for another 48 hours -- that was really what drove us to call the emergency vet. So basically even though it was expensive, I am glad we took him and it wasn't allowed to worsen. Hopefully this means less chance of additional DKA.
It is a good thing you caught it early! Well done!
 
T-minus 31 minutes to the first ever home BG test for me, my wife or any of our cats in the history of both of our extended families. It's weird, the vet said FD is common. But nobody I've ever known has ever had a cat with it.

Anyway, what sort of BG number should we expect when we test at 9pm? 1u Lantus was given at 6pm. Sub-200 right? I mean, if the Lantus is working like maybe 90 would be good right
 
As for Ketone testing: After my cat had DKA and was hospitalized for a week, I didn't want to mess around with those little urine dip sticks (or stalking him to the litter box.) I went for the big guns. I bought a blood ketone meter which tests for ketones in the blood and gives you a numerical value for the ketones. You test exactly the same as you test blood glucose and, in fact, can use the same drop of blood to put on the test strip. I bought the NovaMax Plus blood ketone meter

holy cow I love this idea, gonna check that device out tyvm
 
Hello and welcome. Good to hear your vet got you on a good insulin for cats to start, and a reasonable starting dose. Whether this was a good dose for Hendrick, and what sort of number to expect at your first, really depends on more data. We've seen it range all over the place. Our saying here is "Each Cat is Different" and it's really true. Each cat has different insulin needs that range all over the place.

Since it sounds like you like to dive into learning, check out this post: What is Feline Diabetes?
 
holy cow I love this idea, gonna check that device out tyvm
I also have one. ADW usually runs a promo where the meter is free if you buy some strips. Suzanne is right they are a bit expensive, BUT my guy is shy about litterbox and when there's a problem...you don't want to be waiting around for hours trying to catch a sample. Or if they're dehydrated.
 
T-minus 31 minutes to the first ever home BG test for me, my wife or any of our cats in the history of both of our extended families. It's weird, the vet said FD is common. But nobody I've ever known has ever had a cat with it.

Anyway, what sort of BG number should we expect when we test at 9pm? 1u Lantus was given at 6pm. Sub-200 right? I mean, if the Lantus is working like maybe 90 would be good right
Won't know til we see it, that's part of the fun! At first, yes nadirs around 90 are good. It would be a little unusual for you to see that right when starting out, but it can/does happen. It may take a few weeks to get to a good doses but hopefully you're one of the lucky ones who land on a good dose quickly (quite a slog to get up to 14U over here...)
 
Hi Hendrick’s mom and dad! Really happy you found us, and if you are looking for information to understand, you are in with the right crowd. Many of us are very science based and experienced crazy cat people, and we love explaining things!

I would not venture to guess what number you would be getting. I’ve seen cats be really low and so high that the meter can’t register it. Hendrick will be whatever he will be and you will have to respond by either increasing or decreasing the dose. Good luck!
 
well poop

first attempt at home BG failed. Wife was holding him, we tried a non-weight-bearing paw pad like the instructions in the alphatrak said...not a drop. Tried an ear...I got him, he jolted, and there was just the tiniest freaking drop of blood there..nowhere near enough. massaged and squeezed a bit no luck. Wife said we're done, attempt over, try again another time
 
well poop

first attempt at home BG failed. Wife was holding him, we tried a non-weight-bearing paw pad like the instructions in the alphatrak said...not a drop. Tried an ear...I got him, he jolted, and there was just the tiniest freaking drop of blood there..nowhere near enough. massaged and squeezed a bit no luck. Wife said we're done, attempt over, try again another time
Testing was the hardest thing for me to learn. I cried and fretted more than the cat did. You will get it, the cat will get used to it, and it will become part of your daily routine. Try again in a bit or maybe tomorrow. We find that treats after even a failed attempt helps. I recommend doing the edge of the ear rather than the paw pad, and warming an old sock filled with rice to rub on the ear beforehand to get the blood flowing. Once you poke his ear enough, it will bleed more easily.
 
well poop

first attempt at home BG failed. Wife was holding him, we tried a non-weight-bearing paw pad like the instructions in the alphatrak said...not a drop. Tried an ear...I got him, he jolted, and there was just the tiniest freaking drop of blood there..nowhere near enough. massaged and squeezed a bit no luck. Wife said we're done, attempt over, try again another time
Are you using the lancet device or free handing it? Do you know where sweet spot is on the ear? You may need to burrito wrap him at first, kneel on the floor with heels together and slide him between your legs. That way only one way to go.

Also, Vaseline on the ear. Helps it bead up vs running down and through fur

It's a learning curve but you'll get it!
 
oh heck yeah he got treats hehe, wife insisted

and I just watched the video at https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

I think we'll freehand and ditch this lancing device with its loud click

we did warm up his ear before prick with our hands -- i like the bag of rice idea ty. Another video I had watched earlier they shown a light through to see where to lance and we struggled to do that, then when I thought I got him in the right spot -- nope. I did not do the edge/rim of the ear as shown in the YT video at the link above -- next time!!
 
Yeah I am not a fan of the device, the click is like anti-clicker training or whatever you want to call it. You'll get it! Over time more capillaries form and they bleed a little easier.

Aim for a drop of blood the size of a ball on a ballpoint pen - it's bigger than you need for AT but will save you from wasted strips with error codes about not enough blood. If you get a ketone meter, they do actually need that much blood
 
well poop

first attempt at home BG failed. Wife was holding him, we tried a non-weight-bearing paw pad like the instructions in the alphatrak said...not a drop. Tried an ear...I got him, he jolted, and there was just the tiniest freaking drop of blood there..nowhere near enough. massaged and squeezed a bit no luck. Wife said we're done, attempt over, try again another time
If you get a tiny drop of blood try scraping it onto your finger or thumbnail and just stick the test strip on the drop from there.
 
And try to learn how to do it free hand by holding the lancet in your hand when you do it. The lancing device can scare a lot of cats.
 
I use the lancet. Realize it's not for everyone but it was a game changer for us as I couldn't manage poking her with the needle alone and getting the right pressure without going straight through her ear.
 
I used a very small glass bottle filled with warm water to put on my furbaby’s ear at first. Just a small one that fit right under the tip of his ear. The warming was very helpful in the beginning.
 
I used a very small glass bottle filled with warm water to put on my furbaby’s ear at first. Just a small one that fit right under the tip of his ear. The warming was very helpful in the beginning.
I still use the warm sock. It's part of our routine for me to give Ruby a full body and head massage with the sock to relax her a bit (I love hot stone massages!) before I poke her ear.
 
If you shine a torch behind the ear, you will see the vein running around the ear. You need to aim for between the vein and the edge of the ear.
Most people fail the first few times., so don’t give up. I always used the lancet device…..couldn’t bring myself to just poke it…..
 
Here's a good picture @Bron and Sheba (GA)!
laur_danny_famoussweetspot.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top