New member seeking help/advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ms. Extra Life

Member Since 2022
Hello, my name is Enn, and my 9-year-old cat’s name is 1-Up.

1-Up was diagnosed a diabetic on 12/28/21 and is currently taking 2 units Prozinc. She’s a tiny cat who was originally between 7-8 lbs and now is at 6.6 lbs (last I weighed her yesterday). It’s been a hectic few months since her diagnosis, and she’s currently seeing another vet (long story short, my old vet who took care of 1-Up for years had their clinic closed at the end of 2021 and all staff moved to their sister location. The vet who owns the sister location became her new doctor, and I wasn’t pleased with the experience whenever I interacted with them so I switched).

My cat was fed Wellness for years (dry during the day, wet food at night), and the old vet had prescribed Purina Pro DM (dry and wet), and I’ve tried that for a while before learning that dry food is the cause of cats being diabetic. I switched to Tiki Cat After Dark/Luau since I heard this food has zero carbs and is good for a diabetic cat, but it didn’t seem like she was improving even with insulin treatment.

A few weeks ago, new vet has prescribed that I fed her Royal Canin or Hill’s W/D to treat her diabetes. I could only get the dry for RC and bought W/D canned food at a PetSmart. I was hesitant to get the dry food, but decided to try it doing the same routine of dry during the day and wet food at night. I gave her just a little amount of RC in her Tiki Cat food to gradually get her used to it, it looked like things were looking up. Whenever I’m able to test her before her morning meal, it looked like it was down in the 100s, stools looked solid and a healthy brown color, her fur felt soft and her belly is growing fur again (when previously it was totally bare after she was diagnosed), so I thought we were on the right track. But the moment I switched to both RC and W/D full time, numbers were in the 300s-400s, so I stopped RC while feeding with a small amount of W/D combined with Tiki Cat (as I later learned from the cat info chart that even prescription canned foods have high carbs). W/D isn’t helping much for 1-Up, other than making her stools look more solid.

Also, because of my new job, I feed her/give shot at 4 AM, and come home at almost and feed her the rest of her food/give shot at 5:30 PM (work from 5 AM-5PM every Sun-Tues and e/o Wed, with family members giving a meal at around 11 AM and a portion of her dinner right at 5 PM), so trying to be consistent with insulin and feeding is very difficult (despite still living with my fam, I’m the only one who could give the shots).

Currently, I’ve been gradually feeding 1-Up Weruva Paw Lickin’ Chicken to see if she’ll improve with a new food with just a small percentage of carbs. I’ve also tried to do a BG curve at home, and the vet told me I shouldn’t feed 1-Up more than twice during that time because it’ll affect the curve, but I end up feeding her a little after 6 hours anyway since I’m worried about her losing more weight and she was so used to that routine ever since she was diagnosed. I’ve read about stories when people found that right food for their diabetic cat, their BG numbers drop and end up going on remission, yet even with the low-carb foods I’ve picked, it doesn’t seem like there was much improvement and I’m worried that 1-Up will be on insulin treatment for the rest of her life.

So a few questions I have:

Does it take time for a cat to get used to their new low-carb canned food diet to show results? Am I perhaps just too hasty to see the results right away?

When doing a BG curve at home, do you refrain from feeding your cat during the day so it wouldn’t affect their numbers?

I want my cat to gain more weight, what would be a good feeding routine for her and how much food should I give her throughout the day?

I really hope that it’s not too late for 1-Up’s diabetes to go on remission, and I’m doing my best to earn the money needed for her treatment, while trying to keep a job with a new work schedule (though I have considered looking for another one with a M-F, 8 hour schedule so I can monitor my cat better especially on weekends), and most importantly, trying not to stress out with everything happening since I know my cat will feel my stress, too. I’ve held off on joining this forum and lurking for info from time to time because of bad experiences with social media, but I’m here now because I feel like I’m losing all hope. Any help/advice is greatly appreciated.

Thank you all for your time, and I hope you guys have a great day!
 
Hi Enn, and welcome to the club. I am pretty new here myself, my boy Hendrick was diagnosed in early January. I love your kittah's name! Very unique.

My vet also said to only feed every 12 hours -- it turns out this is old and outdated thinking. In fact, cats do much better on multiple small meals throughout the day, and it is easier on the pancreas. With cats getting insulin, many members feed 3-4 meals a day, two larger meals with the shot and smaller ones later on, but not too much food after about 6 hours or so as the insulin is waning.

Yes you can feed when during the curve

It can take some time for a switch to a lower carb diet has any effect, and it depends on the cat. ECID! *every cat is different

Unregulated kitties pretty much cannot gain weight, their bodies can't make use of the food. We need to get 1up regulated so she can pack on a few lbs. This forum is very numbers driven, I LOVE IT. But in order for the experts here to help you and 1-up, you are going to have to do some work yourself...see this link

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
 
Click on the link that Kyle gave you @Hendrick's mom and dad so we can find out note information about 1-up
If you notice the signature is at the end of everyone's post in
gray
The link will also give you instructions on how to set up our spreadsheet and understanding how it works
If you want help setting it up just ask, we have a member who will be glad to do it for you , her name is Bhooma @Bandit's Mom

The only time we don't want to feed our kitty's is 2 hours before your first test in the AM and PM so it's not food influenced



Once you give us the information about 1-up and get the spreadsheet up I will tag a prozinc user for you

Here is our food chart
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/

Most of us feed fancy feast pates or friskies pate try to stay with 5 % carbs or under
Like Kyle said we feed our cats multiple times during each 12 hour cycle

There is nothing special about prescription foods
I found this posted by one of our members about the Hills W/D wet

The canned W/D is about 25% carbs as well as having some pretty lousy ingredients, including my personal pet peeve ingredient they laugh
 
Last edited:
Welcome
When doing a BG curve at home, do you refrain from feeding your cat during the day so it wouldn’t affect their numbers?
You want to feed during the curve the same ans you feed normally.
Regarding how much to feed, I wouod weight the cat say weekly at about the same time each time and adjust amount accordingly. I weigh my ca't food so I can feed constantly and adjust the amount based on weighting
 
Hi and welcome to the forum.
Are you able to leave food out for 1-Up while you are at work? Sounds as if she has lost weight and extra snacks during all cycles would help. Please do feed more than twice a day.
Dry food is much higher in carbs than the wet food but you need to be careful removing it as the BGs can drop up to 100 points with the removal of the dry food so you really need to be closely monitoring it while you do it and you may need to be reducing the dose of insulin. But only close monitoring will tell you that. You maybe able to do that on your days off.

If you could set up your spreadsheet and signature that would be a great help for us to help you. The link had been posted in post two for you by Hendricks dad. I will ask @Bandit's Mom if she can help you with the SS.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA) Yes, please, I’ll definitely need some help with how the SS works (downloaded the US template for Pet meters because I use AlphaTrak). I did her numbers today, so I’m wondering how I can enter those in.

Since her diagnosis, I started prepping a meal at 11AM (one of my family members gives her the food), but I’m thinking that I’ll also feed her a bit of food at night at around 8 PM, or even add another tiny portion of food at 1 or 2 PM.

I decided that I’ll try Fancy Feast like a lot of you guys do, and got 3 cans of classic pate tender beef and chicken to start. I had taken her BG about 30 minutes before meal time, and I added just a little bit of it with her Tiki Cat at 5 this evening along with her usual insulin.

I had forgotten to ask: Anyone have advice on how to keep a cat calm during the BG curve? 1-Up would be all right in the beginning, but past 6 hours, she seems like she’s getting annoyed, and I feel that the stress may be affecting her levels. I have to hold her to prick her paw pads (the only way I can draw blood from her), and she’s not the type that likes to be held, so having to be held every two hours is definitely beyond her comfort zone. The only other person in my family that 1-Up tolerates the most is one of my younger sisters, but unfortunately, she’s the very squeamish type, and I know she wouldn’t be very calm holding my cat while I try to prick 1-Up’s paws, so having someone holding her is a no-go.

Thanks for all the welcomes and replies, and I’ll do my best to make use of the spreadsheet.
 
@Bandit's Mom should come online soon to give a hold with the SS.
I’ve never used the paw pad to get blood so am not sure I can help there. Normally you can give a small low carb snack when taking the blood to distract them. Do you do the back or front oW. If it was the back paw would she let you lift the paw and get the blood while she was eating? Just a thought.
Have you thought of getting an automatic timed feeder to feed her while you are at work? I love timed feeders.
 
I’ve rotated on all four paws, and I give Purebite treats as a reward. I never tried to distract her while taking her BG. I have trouble getting her to sit still while she eats when I give her insulin shots (compared to when I first started, it’s gotten better, and I’ve had more hits than misses), so I don’t think I can do that to her. I could try to have her get used to it a little at a time so she’ll be a bit more comfortable.

I have a Petlibro that I used to use for her dry food before. I don’t believe this one could be used for wet food. But since I still live with my family, they’ve helped me feed her while I’m at work (I prep food every night during the work week) and have set a timer on Alexa to remind them to feed her.
 
Yes, please, I’ll definitely need some help with how the SS works (downloaded the US template for Pet meters because I use AlphaTrak). I did her numbers today, so I’m wondering how I can enter those in.
Hi Enn, welcome to FDMB! :-)

These are the instructions for how to input data into it.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-use-the-spreadsheet.241653/
  • Basically, each day is divided into two 12-hour cycles - the AM one and the PM one.
  • AMPS is AM preshot test.
  • U is the number of units of insulin given
  • +1, +2 etc are the tests taken after the shot so +1 is 1 hour after the shot, +2 is 2 hours after etc.
  • Similarly for the PM cycle.

Have you been able to set up the spreadsheet or would you like help with that? It will only take me a minute to set one up for you. Let me know :-)
 
Hi again, everyone, just wanted to let you know 1-Up’s spreadsheet is all set up. I’ve taken her numbers this morning, but I’m trying to go a little slow with 1-Up to not stress her out so much and affect her BG levels (and I’ll have a couple of appointments that may have me out for most of the day until I can test her levels before feeding/insulin time at 5 PM). I’m currently feeding her a Tiki Cat/Fancy Feast combo, but if all goes well, I may switch to FF full time.
 
Yeah, I gave her food after getting that reading. I took another one a few minutes ago, but unfortunately, the excitement of getting fed right at 10, plus trying to take another test (twice), ended up spiking it pretty high again.
 
Yes early on you will see that a lot where she'll start out high, drop down a lot, briefly, when the insulin hits -- and then spike right back up again quickly

as time goes on and the dose is increased you should start to see the low numbers have more duration, and the high numbers be not-as-high
 
Last edited:
Ah, okay, I always freaked out that I might’ve done something wrong, so I’m glad to know that it’s a normal thing that’ll change over time.

I gave 1-Up half a can of FF and half of Tiki this morning (before during my work week, I’ve been giving smaller amounts of FF to help her get used to the new food), so that may explain the low number earlier this morning. I plan to do the same amount tonight.
 
Ah, okay, I always freaked out that I might’ve done something wrong, so I’m glad to know that it’s a normal thing that’ll change over time.

I gave 1-Up half a can of FF and half of Tiki this morning (before during my work week, I’ve been giving smaller amounts of FF to help her get used to the new food), so that may explain the low number earlier this morning. I plan to do the same amount tonight.

one thing that might be good if you can arrange it somehow, if leaving for work maybe use a timed feeder (Petsafe5 is popular around here) would be for more food at about 1 hour after shot, to help offset that steep drop

for Hendrick, @FrostD suggested we actually split the shot-time-meal in two, feeding half at shot-time and half at +1 as Hendrick would tend to have these steep drops. A more gentle slide down from the pre-shot BG to nadir (the low point) is better for kitty.
 
Are you only shooting once a day?

I'm not entirely sure that 53 was real, whenever you get an unexpected number (low or high) it's always a good idea to retest. Sometimes its a bad strip, but sometimes when there's not quite enough blood the meter will throw a random number instead of an error code
 
Are you only shooting once a day?

I'm not entirely sure that 53 was real, whenever you get an unexpected number (low or high) it's always a good idea to retest. Sometimes its a bad strip, but sometimes when there's not quite enough blood the meter will throw a random number instead of an error code

ohhhhh that is a new one for me. I bet you're right, that would also explain the 303 just 2 hours later which is a helluva climb from 53....
 
Are you only shooting once a day?

I'm not entirely sure that 53 was real, whenever you get an unexpected number (low or high) it's always a good idea to retest. Sometimes its a bad strip, but sometimes when there's not quite enough blood the meter will throw a random number instead of an error code

Oh, okay. I use the test solution to make sure the monitor works, but I never knew that could also happen. I guess that makes sense because 1-Up probably would’ve been too lethargic to play with me earlier if the 53 was accurate (and the evening test after the shot is giving me a higher number).

I guess that means I bought that PetSafe 5 for nothing if that was the case? I still live with my fam, so they’ve been helpful enough to feed 1-Up the food I’ve prepared for her during my work days… Then again, they’ve started complaining I’ve taken up space in the fridge with all of her extra bowls, so maybe it’ll come in handy after all. XD
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top