Hi Shantel,
Welcome to yourself and Pepe. You're doing just fine with the posting!
Here is my question: since it is a human meter and not calibrated to cats, how do I figure out what her numbers are and if she is in the best range? What are the ranges when tested on a human meter (my vet said the goal is to have the blood sugar between 80-250 mg/dL (is an Alpha trak number?) for most of the day - we are a long way from that though)?
The feline blood glucose reference range for human meters used at FDMB is 50-120mg/dL. These would be 'non-diabetic' numbers. The upper bound of the reference range given by your vet for use with your Alphatrak is around the approximate level of the renal threshold (where glucose starts spilling over into the urine). A cat reading at 120 on a human meter would be well below the renal threshold.
There's no direct relationship between the readings taken on the different meter types, you simply apply the appropriate reference range for the meter type you're using.
Also, what is the actual process for testing?
Here are some useful resources to help you learn how to test:
Home testing links and tips
Testing and injection tips
If there's any particular aspect of testing you find tricky you can post for additional help.
I think I saw someone in the Facebook group say check their blood, feed them, wait 30 minutes and then give the shot? Is this correct?
That would apply for a cat on Caninsulin/Vetsulin, not Lantus. The former insulin typically hits quite hard and fast early in the cycle so it's advised to wait half an hour before giving insulin to give the body a chance to digest the food and the carbs to hit the bloodstream before onset of the dose. Lantus has a gentler mode of action and typically kicks in later so there's no need to wait after feeding before administering the dose as long as Pepe has eaten enough and his appetite is normal.
How often a day should I check her levels?
For Lantus, test before giving each dose (preshot tests), and test in the period between doses (mid-cycle tests) at least once a day, preferably one or more during the AM cycle and a 'before bed' test in the PM cycle to see whether you might need to set an alarm to check again later. The preshot tests tell you whether BG is high enough to give the next dose. The mid-cycle tests give you information on when the current dose typically kicks in (onset), how low it is taking your kitty (nadir) and also its general efficacy (duration). The general drill for each 12-hour cycle goes as follows:
* Withhold food for 2 hours prior to each preshot to check fasting BG level (assuming cat is safe numbers and you're not feeding to keep numbers up).
* Do the preshot BG test.
* If BG >200, feed and give the Lantus dose.
* If under 200, stall without feeding, and test again in 20-30 minutes to see whether BG has come up high enough. (You can post for advice while you're waiting.)
* If still under 200 and your cat has no history of testing positive for ketones or episodes of diabetic ketoacidosis you have the option to skip the dose. If your cat does have issues with ketones, post for advice about a reduced or token dose.
* During the cycle, typically the nadir will be around +4 to +6 hours after the dose was administered. Testing at other times will give you info about onset and duration of the dose.
* A test at +2 hours after any dose may give you some advance indication of how the cycle will run.
I am VERY overwhelmed and stressed out and am having hard time coping.
It is very overwhelming in the early days, Shantel, but as you learn more and develop a routine that's right for yourself and Pepe, things will get better (and sooner than you might think right now). In particular, when you start home testing it may help you feel much more empowered and that you've got more control of things. We're here to support the two of you all the way - practically and emotionally!
Mogs
.