New Member- Sarah (human) and Ray (cat)

srod4893

Member Since 2026
My name is Sarah and my cat's name is Ray. He is 13 years old, weighs 10 pounds, and was diagnosed on March 6th of this year. I initially took him in for hindleg weakness, excessive drinking/urinating, and diarrhea. The vet said there was no evidence of DKA. He was started on 2 units of glargine/lantus twice a day and by the time we took him back 3 days later to have a sensor placed his BG was 100 even with the stress of the vet. Since then, we have reduced his insulin to 0.5 units twice a day regardless of how much he eats. He eats fancy feast chicken pate twice a day.

Just for this first few weeks, we are using the FreeStyle Libre 3+. I'm hoping to not use it forever because being able to see the numbers all the time makes me extremely anxious and obsessive, and Ray hates the thing. I am working on getting the spreadsheet up and running, but am confused about how to go about analyzing the Libre's measurements compared to the handheld meter. I have a ReliOn glucometer but have mostly been relying on (ha) the Libre right now as I get used to all this.

I don't know if I'm allowed to, but I attached the current data from the sensor. The vet has now told us to only shoot insulin if he's reading over 300 pre-meal when I spoke to her yesterday. Now I just feel like I'm not doing enough and I just am so scared to mess this up.

Any input would be greatly appreciated!

image0 (1).jpeg
 

Attachments

Last edited:
@Staci & Ivy can help you with the Libre. We also have this: Getting Started With Continuous Glucose Monitors (CGMs) for Diabetic Cats

The Libre tends to read lower than a handheld meter. The Libre is expensive and needs to be replaced every 2 weeks or sooner if it malfunctions or falls off. If your cat doesn't like the Libre, just use the handheld meter.

2 units of insulin to start with is too much for most cats. Insulin can pack a punch. 0.5 units is a much safer dose. We generally recommend adjusting doses by no more than 0.25 units at time.

Fancy Feast pates are fine. There are lots of other brands you can feed.

Links to FOOD CHARTS
Cat Food As-Fed Chart

Most diabetics need to be fed multiple small snacks daily. Two meals a day doesn't keep the tummy happy or blood glucose levels stable. A programmable timed feeder works great.
 
Hi Sarah and Ray,
Welcome! It’s good you’re here and asking questions.

As for the Libre, the only way to know how they read against each other is experience.
And it’s not a hard and fast rule anyway.
If you can just use the handheld meter, that’s great!

For some cats the Libre reads lower when under 100 on a handheld meter.

Some cats tend to read within about 20 points of each other.
So you’ll only know if you test them.
So the hard rule is if the Libre reads under 100, take an ear prick with your Relion meter to make sure he’s not too low!
Be sure to read the document linked above about using a Libre, it will help a lot.
If you have questions, please ask.
Give Ray some chin scratches from me, he’s very adorable 🥰 😻
 
Hi Sarah and Ray,
Welcome! It’s good you’re here and asking questions.

As for the Libre, the only way to know how they read against each other is experience.
And it’s not a hard and fast rule anyway.
If you can just use the handheld meter, that’s great!

For some cats the Libre reads lower when under 100 on a handheld meter.

Some cats tend to read within about 20 points of each other.
So you’ll only know if you test them.
So the hard rule is if the Libre reads under 100, take an ear prick with your Relion meter to make sure he’s not too low!
Be sure to read the document linked above about using a Libre, it will help a lot.
If you have questions, please ask.
Give Ray some chin scratches from me, he’s very adorable 🥰 😻
Thank you! Does the bit about not giving insulin if he’s under 300 sound normal? I’m just afraid of him being high all night long and feeling yucky.
 
Newbies are generally advised to not give insulin if the cat is at 150 or lower. Normal cat levels are roughly 60 to 150. 200 and up are diabetic numbers and needs insulin.

Many newbies end up switching vets because the former vet wasn't giving good information or advice on how to manage the diabetes. It's totally ok to find a new vet who is more experienced with diabetes or at least is willingly to listen to your concerns and questions and get you the correct answers if they don't know.

The hind leg weakness is likely neuropathy. It's when the cat walks completely on the hind leg hocks. It's treatable with methycobalamin. Zobaline is one brand but there are others that aren't as expensive.
 
Hi Sarah and welcome to the FDMB. Hi Ray! Pspspsps. You are a gorgeous boy aren't you! What eyes you have, I'm smitten.


Sarah, I have to congratulate you on how well you're doing with your kitty, I can tell you are committed to doing whatever is needed, regardless of the challenges. The ReliOn is a good meter. You're way way ahead of where I was when my boy Hendrick got diagnosed, just the mere thought of trying to poke him and get a blood droplet for a test sounded downright impossible to me. Just a non-starter. Little did I know how easy it would become and how strong a bond I would develop with my boy from all the testing.

...dammit, where's that tissue box. Stupid onion factory next door! @Diane Tyler's Mom GA ;) :bighug:


1774528613784.png



Ok, back at it. When I first joined the group, I found that what my vet was telling me to do was not quite in line with what many people here are doing, and have done --- and many cats have gone into complete diabetic remission following the advice and methods used here at the FDMB! Despite it not always being exactly what their vet recommended.

For example, the dosing methods here are amazing. SLGS (Start Low, Go Slow) and the more aggressive method that has resulted in literally hundreds of remissions: TR (Tight Regulation). These methods help guide dosing, help you understand when to make an adjustment and when to still give insulin SAFELY even if the BG number is on the lower side. A lot of vets tell their patients to just skip insulin if the number is lower than a certain point because they don't want to be liable if kitty has a hypoglycemic event. But with home testing and monitoring, and advice and methodology, you can safely and confidently still give kitty the insulin they need.

Has the vet mentioned the risk of DKA? Your cat's BG numbers sound pretty good so the risk might not be as high as others, but a condition that can occur in diabetic cats, and seems to hit newly diagnosed cats in particular, is Diabetic Keto-Acidosis, and it can be very serious and require hospitalization. A lot of people monitor the presence and level of Ketones in their cat's system with Ketostix or a blood ketone monitor, to make sure they don't get surprised by a high Ketone level out of nowhere.

Here are some links that cover some of what I mentioned above:

Sticky - How to treat HYPOS - THEY CAN KILL! Print this Out!!

Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)


Ketones, Ketoacidosis, and Diabetic Cats: A Primer on Ketones
 
Back
Top