taffysmom
Member Since 2013
Hello...my name is Scarlett and my 9yr old female dsh - Taffy - diagnosed diabetic about 6 weeks ago. I took her in to get a panel done b/c she was acting like she was starving and I noticed some weight loss. While there were some other results that probably need to be looked into the biggest one was her BG was 411 at the time she was tested. She was started on 2u of Lantus 2 weeks later, we moved to a new city and had to change vets. Her insulin dosage keeps getting increased every week (Lantus) her BG readings were going down but now they are back up in the 500s, she is continuing to lose weight, and still acts ravenous but not as bad as before. There have been a lot of changes recently and now I am just confused at these readings and would like to get some advice. I have not started home testing yet but our new vet and I have discussed. This is not the most cooperative cat and it's not that I'm scared to do it but I am pretty sure she will not let me do it. She does not like to feel trapped (she was found as a feral kitten and I adopted her when she was about 1 yr old after living in a cage at Petsmart for 9 months). She hides when she hears voices other than mine or my husbands and just to give you an example of her anxiety level I had to take her to the e-vet the day after we moved b/c the cable guy came into the house and she was still so paniced even after 3 hrs of him leaving I was afraid she was going to have a heart attack- panting drooling overall freaked out. $400 and a shot of kitty xanax later she was back to normal. I will list her background and what I have been trying to monitor the last few weeks. Any advice is greatly appreciated.
2005 - 20099 fed 1/2 can fancy feast classics bid and free fed dry food (don't remember 1st brand for 1st few years I had her but eventually switched to Royal Canin Persian b/c of other cat's allergies). In 2009 she weighed 14 lbs - no mention from any vets that she was overweight as she is tall and long - twice the size of my little petite persian
2010 - same feeding regiment 14.9 lbs
2012 - diet switch to hills k/d 1/4 can of wet bid (although she didn't really like it) and free fed hills k/d dry - my other cat was diagnosed w/ crd - vet said ok for both cats to eat.
2/2013 - my other kitty passed and I went back to feeding Taffy 1 can FF classics bid and free fed dry - went thru a few brands b/c she didn't like and settled on a grain free Earthborn Holistic
4/23/2013 - 14.7 lbs routine vet visit - took in to get rabies shot - asked vet again of effects of switching off of k/d and was told not to be concerned
7/6/2013 - 12.6 lbs asked to run blood panel b/c she was acting like she was starving and I had noticed some weight loss. BG came back at 411. Other readings that were high and low were:
Alk Phosphatese 65 (high)
CK - 51 (low)
BUN 42 (high)
Cholesterol 399 (high)
Chloride 102 (low)
Anion Gap 32 (high)
My old vet in Pittsburgh did not discuss any of the readings with me other than BG and Taffy needed to be put on insulin. (I didn't see all of these until I moved and requested her vet records)
7/10/2013 12.4 lbs - vet visit to learn how to give shots - no mention of home testing - didn't even know that was possible - started on 2u (Lantus) - told not to change diet
7/22/2013 - took in to vet (still PGH) to get readings at 12pm (370) and again at 6pm (376). Instructed to increase to 2.5u
7/25/2013 - 12.12 lbs - trip to e-vet (Philadelphia) b/c of panic attack. BG read 328. got shot of seditive to calm her down. Was back to eating normally by evening (and she did eat and received shot that morning as well)
8/2/2013 - 12.23 lbs NEW VET (this is when things started to confuse me) BG 549 was recommended switching to Hills m/d 1/2 can bid and no more dry food. told to increase Lantus to 3u
8/9/2013 - 11.86 lbs BG 411 - after 1 week of being fed hills m/d and no dry - cat is driving me nuts b/c she wants food ALL THE TIME and I am sticking to 12 hr feedings and shots. told to increase Lantus to 3.5u
8/16/2013 - 11.25 lbs BG 532 - on this day I was hopeful we had hit a sweet spot. Taffy wasn't begging as much and she is urinating 2 or 3 times a day vs the 6 and 7 when she was first diagnosed. Needless to say my heart broke a little when I saw the reading and her loss of more weight. Dr said to increase to 4u
After reading many other discussions I've come to the conclusion she isn't eating enough and went and bought more FF classics. Morning feeding (6:45am) 1/2 can m/d + 1/2 FF. Mid day if she is acting hungry 1/2 can FF. Night feeding (6:45pm) 1/2 can m/d, 1/2 can FF. Also found venison jerky treats to give to her (about 5/6 pieces a day)
My confusion - her weekly weight loss, the jump in BG when we went to a new vet, but temperment and urine looking better
I am in the Northern Liberties area of Philadelphia if anyone has any suggestions.
thank you so much!
Scarlett
2005 - 20099 fed 1/2 can fancy feast classics bid and free fed dry food (don't remember 1st brand for 1st few years I had her but eventually switched to Royal Canin Persian b/c of other cat's allergies). In 2009 she weighed 14 lbs - no mention from any vets that she was overweight as she is tall and long - twice the size of my little petite persian
2010 - same feeding regiment 14.9 lbs
2012 - diet switch to hills k/d 1/4 can of wet bid (although she didn't really like it) and free fed hills k/d dry - my other cat was diagnosed w/ crd - vet said ok for both cats to eat.
2/2013 - my other kitty passed and I went back to feeding Taffy 1 can FF classics bid and free fed dry - went thru a few brands b/c she didn't like and settled on a grain free Earthborn Holistic
4/23/2013 - 14.7 lbs routine vet visit - took in to get rabies shot - asked vet again of effects of switching off of k/d and was told not to be concerned
7/6/2013 - 12.6 lbs asked to run blood panel b/c she was acting like she was starving and I had noticed some weight loss. BG came back at 411. Other readings that were high and low were:
Alk Phosphatese 65 (high)
CK - 51 (low)
BUN 42 (high)
Cholesterol 399 (high)
Chloride 102 (low)
Anion Gap 32 (high)
My old vet in Pittsburgh did not discuss any of the readings with me other than BG and Taffy needed to be put on insulin. (I didn't see all of these until I moved and requested her vet records)
7/10/2013 12.4 lbs - vet visit to learn how to give shots - no mention of home testing - didn't even know that was possible - started on 2u (Lantus) - told not to change diet
7/22/2013 - took in to vet (still PGH) to get readings at 12pm (370) and again at 6pm (376). Instructed to increase to 2.5u
7/25/2013 - 12.12 lbs - trip to e-vet (Philadelphia) b/c of panic attack. BG read 328. got shot of seditive to calm her down. Was back to eating normally by evening (and she did eat and received shot that morning as well)
8/2/2013 - 12.23 lbs NEW VET (this is when things started to confuse me) BG 549 was recommended switching to Hills m/d 1/2 can bid and no more dry food. told to increase Lantus to 3u
8/9/2013 - 11.86 lbs BG 411 - after 1 week of being fed hills m/d and no dry - cat is driving me nuts b/c she wants food ALL THE TIME and I am sticking to 12 hr feedings and shots. told to increase Lantus to 3.5u
8/16/2013 - 11.25 lbs BG 532 - on this day I was hopeful we had hit a sweet spot. Taffy wasn't begging as much and she is urinating 2 or 3 times a day vs the 6 and 7 when she was first diagnosed. Needless to say my heart broke a little when I saw the reading and her loss of more weight. Dr said to increase to 4u
After reading many other discussions I've come to the conclusion she isn't eating enough and went and bought more FF classics. Morning feeding (6:45am) 1/2 can m/d + 1/2 FF. Mid day if she is acting hungry 1/2 can FF. Night feeding (6:45pm) 1/2 can m/d, 1/2 can FF. Also found venison jerky treats to give to her (about 5/6 pieces a day)
My confusion - her weekly weight loss, the jump in BG when we went to a new vet, but temperment and urine looking better
I am in the Northern Liberties area of Philadelphia if anyone has any suggestions.
thank you so much!
Scarlett