New member Nov 2, 2023 for our sugarcat Sputnik

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Jill and Darwin,
Just looked at your SS…Arrr…. I see Bhooma has just answered.
I would like to see some tests done in the PM cycle to see what is happening there…
Are you able to get any tests done then ? Even a before bed test each night would be helpful. Cats often drop lower at night.
Also if you can get some tests done during the am cycle sometimes apart from the curve days…that will tell us a lot.
 
Also, we checked into a drug called Phenylpropanolamin for the urinary incontinence, but they said that the risk of high blood pressure in a cat with so many issues already rules that out as a good option. T
You are right about this , I googled it
Phenylpropanolamine should not be used in pets than are allergic to it or in pregnant pets. It should be used cautiously in pets with glaucoma, seizures, enlarged prostate, elevated thyroid hormone, diabetes mellitus, heart or vessel disorders, kidney disease, or high blood pressure.

Also googled
Why is my cat suddenly incontinent?
There are several possible reasons why a cat may suddenly start peeing and pooping outside the litter box. Cats who are experiencing pain or discomfort due to a medical condition, such as a urinary tract infection, bladder stones, or constipation, may start to avoid the litter box because they associate it with pain.
 
Last edited:
Looks like it wasn't a great day for a curve. He was probably bouncing, as he has gotten lower on this dose. It'd really be helpful if you can get the odd spot check during other day's and nights. Many cats go lower at night, so getting a quick test before you go to bed can give useful information. With the weekend coming up, can you get any tests mid cycle?
 
Hi experts! We are having very weird numbers. I'm wondering if I should skip this morning (9:30am) dose. I tested again and it was 4.0, but that was after some food.
 
Yes, skip. When following SLGS you do not shoot if below 90 (5.0). And he's earned a reduction back to 1.25 units. 1.5 unit is too much insulin and is taking him too low. Which is probably why he's bouncing and you are seeing those high numbers.

On SLGS, you are supposed to be doing a curve at least once a week. It can also be helpful to do spot checks during the day when you are home, or just before going to bed at night. We determine how to change the insulin dose based on how low it is taking the kitty, but you are only testing at preshot when the blood sugar numbers are typically at their highest.

Good luck with the new dose.
 
Hi Jill can you put NS (No Shot) in the cell for today the AM cycle in the Unit cell.
I also agree with Wendy you need to spot checks during the day when you're home or if you work get one when you get home. Also spot checks during the PM cycle
Congrats on the reduction :cat:
 
I did it 2 hours before, so it is in the end of the previous row. Kitty was so hungry I wanted to feed him, so I tested him first. It was very high again.
So you tested two hours before injecting the insulin? That's your +10 then right? It can be really helpful to have +10 information, so it's great that you took the reading before feeding.

Just note that you still need an AMPS. The AMPS and PMPS are for immediately before you feed and shoot. Like within a few minutes. The reason for this is that a cat's blood glucose can change rapidly. Some cats even dip lower toward the end of their cycle. So they might go lower at +11 or even +12.

While this may not seem as important when your cat is in the 400s or 500s, it really is. I think someone else could explain it better than me, but mostly you need to understand how your cat's BG is changing according to their insulin dose. And you want to know their patterns.

Just for an example, when my Snickers was first diagnosed her BG was in the 400s. After less than a week on one unit of Lantus it dropped to the 150s, and a few days later the 60s! She went into remission unexpectedly fast, so you just never know. You're cat could be 500 one hour, but half that the next.

Anyways, you're doing great! Sputnik should be very proud. Keep up the good work!
 
So you tested two hours before injecting the insulin? That's your +10 then right? It can be really helpful to have +10 information, so it's great that you took the reading before feeding.

Just note that you still need an AMPS. The AMPS and PMPS are for immediately before you feed and shoot. Like within a few minutes. The reason for this is that a cat's blood glucose can change rapidly. Some cats even dip lower toward the end of their cycle. So they might go lower at +11 or even +12.

While this may not seem as important when your cat is in the 400s or 500s, it really is. I think someone else could explain it better than me, but mostly you need to understand how your cat's BG is changing according to their insulin dose. And you want to know their patterns.

Just for an example, when my Snickers was first diagnosed her BG was in the 400s. After less than a week on one unit of Lantus it dropped to the 150s, and a few days later the 60s! She went into remission unexpectedly fast, so you just never know. You're cat could be 500 one hour, but half that the next.

Anyways, you're doing great! Sputnik should be very proud. Keep up the good work!

Thank you! I think your explanation is very clear. Makes sense to shoot almost right away after the test since that test is meant to ensure the safety of giving that shot.

But I am a little confused on one thing: I thought the AMPS and PMPS tests were supposed to be ~30 minutes before shots so that the kitty is sure to have a good meal in their system. I remember it as: test, feed, wait 30 min, shoot. That's what we've been doing since the beginning. It would be easier *not* to wait that 30 minutes, so this could be easier. Have I misunderstood this aspect? [Today, I know was wrong because I tested a full 2-hours beforehand.]
 
Thank you! I think your explanation is very clear. Makes sense to shoot almost right away after the test since that test is meant to ensure the safety of giving that shot.

But I am a little confused on one thing: I thought the AMPS and PMPS tests were supposed to be ~30 minutes before shots so that the kitty is sure to have a good meal in their system. I remember it as: test, feed, wait 30 min, shoot. That's what we've been doing since the beginning. It would be easier *not* to wait that 30 minutes, so this could be easier. Have I misunderstood this aspect? [Today, I know was wrong because I tested a full 2-hours beforehand.]
Hi, please correct me if I'm wrong. You started on Vetsulin but have transitioned to Lantus now right? With Vetsulin you need to wait about 30 minutes after feeding to shoot, because Vetsulin causes a fast, steep drop in blood sugar.

But Lantus works differently. So with Lantus you can test, feed, and shoot one right after the other, all in like 5 minutes if you want. No need to wait. Does that clarify?
 
Thank you! I think your explanation is very clear. Makes sense to shoot almost right away after the test since that test is meant to ensure the safety of giving that shot.

But I am a little confused on one thing: I thought the AMPS and PMPS tests were supposed to be ~30 minutes before shots so that the kitty is sure to have a good meal in their system. I remember it as: test, feed, wait 30 min, shoot. That's what we've been doing since the beginning. It would be easier *not* to wait that 30 minutes, so this could be easier. Have I misunderstood this aspect? [Today, I know was wrong because I tested a full 2-hours beforehand.]
So just to make super sure it's clear. If I misunderstood and you're still giving Vetsulin, then test, feed, wait 30 min, and shoot just like you've been doing. Don't change that. But if you've switched to Lantus like I thought, then you don't have to wait the thirty minutes. I hope I didn't confuse you :)
 
So just to make super sure it's clear. If I misunderstood and you're still giving Vetsulin, then test, feed, wait 30 min, and shoot just like you've been doing. Don't change that. But if you've switched to Lantus like I thought, then you don't have to wait the thirty minutes. I hope I didn't confuse you :)
Yes, we're on Lantus now. Good to know we don't need to wait! Thank you!!!
 
Hi I was looking at your spreadsheet and see that Sputnik's BG dropped to 56 on 12-24-2023 during the day cycle. Following the SLGS method you should have reduced his dose to 1.25 units

From the SLGS sticky
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
Do you think you can start getting some tests in after his PMPS test, you are missing half the picture what's happening during the night cycle :cat:
@Sputnik & Jill & Darwin
You might want to start posting on the Lantus forum
 
Hi Jill and Sputnik! I followed you over from the FB page.

A couple of things. Spreadsheet is not showing insulin doses. Is kitty still on insulin? Is Sputnik still on 1 unit Lantus 2x a day?

If kitty is still on 1 unit Lantus 2x a day, then it's possible you might go up to 1.25 2x a day. You had a blue reading yesterday (day before yesterday?) , but it's been a while since you've seen a green. It's also a little hard to talk about your spreadsheet with no dates filled in. The sudden black numbers are a little surprising, though they could be a bounce from that blue. Has kitty had any food they shouldn't? Any dry food or high carb treats? Is kitty being fed many small meals a day, or only 2x a day?

It would also be very helpful to get any night time readings. Even if it's just a quick test before bed.
 
Hi Jill and Sputnik! I followed you over from the FB page.

A couple of things. Spreadsheet is not showing insulin doses. Is kitty still on insulin? Is Sputnik still on 1 unit Lantus 2x a day?

If kitty is still on 1 unit Lantus 2x a day, then it's possible you might go up to 1.25 2x a day. You had a blue reading yesterday (day before yesterday?) , but it's been a while since you've seen a green. It's also a little hard to talk about your spreadsheet with no dates filled in. The sudden black numbers are a little surprising, though they could be a bounce from that blue. Has kitty had any food they shouldn't? Any dry food or high carb treats? Is kitty being fed many small meals a day, or only 2x a day?

It would also be very helpful to get any night time readings. Even if it's just a quick test before bed.


I'm seeing all of that info on the spreadsheet. Can you please try the US tab?
 
It feels like the way I'm posting these messages isn't really working. I'm new to message boards, so I think I might start a new thread when I shouldn't and don't start one when I should. I've been following your advice every time we change the dose (and in between dose changes). Not making any dosage decisions on my own. Not nearly enough knowledge/confidence. It might not be easy for you guys to follow all these various messages. Sorry and please just let me know what is a better way to do things, if you see any issues. I really appreciate your attention to the details. I'm shocked and happy this is all available. You guys are the best!
 
I'm seeing all of that info on the spreadsheet. Can you please try the US tab?
Tagging @Bandit's Mom to fix the world sheet.

so I think I might start a new thread
Yes, this thread is getting rather long.
Take a look at some of the threads in the Lantus forum. Over in Lantus, you start a new thread each day.
If you don't feel ready for the Lantus forum, you can start a new thread here in Health.
Go the the main Health forum page. In the upper righthand corner you should see a blue "Post New Thread" box.
When you have a new thread set up, copy and paste the link to this thread so people will be able to find it if necessary.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top