Amy and Owl
Member Since 2026
I don't know where to start this. My cat, Owl (10yrs old domestic shorthair) was diagnosed with diabetes on 12/31/26 after I had noticed him guzzling water, peeing a lot, and being generally not himself. He had, one week prior, begun treatment for hyperthyroidism (methimazole) when I noticed something seemed off and brought him in for more testing. The methimazole was discontinued temporarily while we worked to get his diabetes under control. We began injections of 1unit of Lantus 12/31/26 at 6:30pm.
On 1/2/26 we got a Freestyle Libre 3 installed on him and I was able to see his BG numbers for myself. For a few days things seemed to be progressing well enough, but on 1/8/26 his BG dropped quite low at midday, just before I would normally feed him lunch. I fed him, monitored, and it went back up. That night, after administering his shot, his BG dropped quickly and ended up bouncing between 50-70 for hours, all night long. The vet had told me if his BG went below 70 she wanted me to feed him and keep an eye on him and use Karo syrup if necessary, so that is what I did. All night long. The Freestyle app alarms went off constantly saying he was too low, and despite feeding him two Churus, a handful of Temptations, and about .3ml of Karo, his blood sugar hovered around 60 until 3:30am when it finally started to climb. He vomited around 3:30am, but I am uncertain if that was BG related or if he was just given way too much food, or if the Karo made him sick. The pamphlet I was given with his Libre instructed me that if his BG went this low I was to skip his next Lantus dose and contact the vet, so I did. I called as soon as they opened that morning to tell them what had happened. My vet called me back at 9:30am (she can see his BG remotely thanks to the app) and said that I did the right things, confirmed that I should skip his morning dose of Lantus. She called me again later that afternoon as Owl's BG had risen over 400 again and said he should have 1unit that night. This was last night.
I gave him 1unit last night 1/9/26 and his BG hit the 50s again sometime after midnight. It came back up again on its own shortly thereafter. Unfortunately Owl refused to be contained in my bedroom last night, so he was out of signal range for the app, and I was not alerted. This morning, due to the lows the last few days, I decided to decrease his insulin dose to .5units, which I just have to eyeball as my syringe doesn't have half unit measures. I fed him breakfast at 6:30am and gave him a half dose, but his BG has been climbing all day and hovering around 400, as if he didn't get any insulin at all. His vet called this morning and I told her I had given him a half unit and she said that was the right call. But seeing his numbers go high again is disconcerting and I feel like I am fighting a losing battle with his BG swinging wildly to both extremes.
I haven't slept more than an hour at a time in two nights, I'm exhausted, I'm worried, and I hope someone here can steer me in the right direction.
On 1/2/26 we got a Freestyle Libre 3 installed on him and I was able to see his BG numbers for myself. For a few days things seemed to be progressing well enough, but on 1/8/26 his BG dropped quite low at midday, just before I would normally feed him lunch. I fed him, monitored, and it went back up. That night, after administering his shot, his BG dropped quickly and ended up bouncing between 50-70 for hours, all night long. The vet had told me if his BG went below 70 she wanted me to feed him and keep an eye on him and use Karo syrup if necessary, so that is what I did. All night long. The Freestyle app alarms went off constantly saying he was too low, and despite feeding him two Churus, a handful of Temptations, and about .3ml of Karo, his blood sugar hovered around 60 until 3:30am when it finally started to climb. He vomited around 3:30am, but I am uncertain if that was BG related or if he was just given way too much food, or if the Karo made him sick. The pamphlet I was given with his Libre instructed me that if his BG went this low I was to skip his next Lantus dose and contact the vet, so I did. I called as soon as they opened that morning to tell them what had happened. My vet called me back at 9:30am (she can see his BG remotely thanks to the app) and said that I did the right things, confirmed that I should skip his morning dose of Lantus. She called me again later that afternoon as Owl's BG had risen over 400 again and said he should have 1unit that night. This was last night.
I gave him 1unit last night 1/9/26 and his BG hit the 50s again sometime after midnight. It came back up again on its own shortly thereafter. Unfortunately Owl refused to be contained in my bedroom last night, so he was out of signal range for the app, and I was not alerted. This morning, due to the lows the last few days, I decided to decrease his insulin dose to .5units, which I just have to eyeball as my syringe doesn't have half unit measures. I fed him breakfast at 6:30am and gave him a half dose, but his BG has been climbing all day and hovering around 400, as if he didn't get any insulin at all. His vet called this morning and I told her I had given him a half unit and she said that was the right call. But seeing his numbers go high again is disconcerting and I feel like I am fighting a losing battle with his BG swinging wildly to both extremes.
I haven't slept more than an hour at a time in two nights, I'm exhausted, I'm worried, and I hope someone here can steer me in the right direction.